We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can recommend this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Can recommend this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for two weeks, and had a great stay. The staff were ever present, cleaning and sweeping the grounds, making things feel clean and nice around us. They were also courteous and friendly to guests. Stayed in a Deluxe Villa in the A section. The room was showing a bit of wear&tear around the edges. The big bathroom and big outside area with a bathtub and shower was a nice touch. However, the water pressure was very bad, and getting hot water in the indoor shower was about as useful as selling sand in Sahara, so we used the outdoor shower, which was better, both when it came to water pressure and hot water. The day beds were a nice touch, both inside and outside in front of the room. If we had any complaints or requests, they were quickly tended to by the lovely people at reception.

The location is superb - so close to the amazing beach. I never used the pools, but one of them was closed for 2-3 days during our stay for cleaning. Beach towels were provided. There should be more sunbeds though, as one had to be an early bird in order to secure some.

The restaurant served an excellent breakfast. Good bread selection, egg station where they cooked to order, good selection of fresh fruits that changed daily, selection of thai foods that changed daily, salad ingredients, fresh juices. Expensive, but worth it. The staff is also excellent, courteous and friendly. I would not recommend the restaurant for other meals though. We had lunch there the day of our arrival, and the food was just average. The killer, however, was the fact that not one of us were served at the same time. One in our party waited more than an hour - and ours was one of a total of only three tables filled. There are so many great restaurants that serve better food, at better prices and with infinitely better service than the hotel restaurant. I can recommend Thai Cat and Suza Hut in particular, and the drinks at Second Home.

Also avoid the hotel spa. There are many great places that do better work for almost half the price along the beach. Can recommend Funky Fish massage, just a few minutes walk down the beach.

I would stay again, as the location is great - right on a beautiful stretch of Long Beach. The rooms could use some TLC, but housekeeping did a good job keeping it clean.

Room Tip: Do not eat in the hotel restaurant, except breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    122
    61
    24
    26
See reviews for
85
189
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is firstly the biggest rip off in terms of pricing, secondly our belongings (cell phones) were stolen out of our locked hotel room after the room had been cleaned. It was the night of Christmas eve and there was a compulsory hotel dinner- this is when one of the staff who had access into our room went inside and stole a cell phone.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

nice big rooms with a generous balcony (we were main building, 3rd floor so I can't comment on the bungalows). very clean rooms. big beach but not really overrun and almost no annoying boats zipping by all day. long beach great for a walk, lots of restaurants and bars and on the sunset side of the island. food was ok but is very pricey compared to the small(and good) places next door (check out Thai CAT on trip advisor, it's only 50m away). price likely why the restaurant is aleays empty. would for sure recommend the lanta sand resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissguy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We booked 4 nights here via agoda (well... actually 2 nights and then decided to book another 2 while there and they kept us in the same room). The grounds are well laid out and a really nice environment. We had a lovely welcome when we got there. Only cheeky thing was that we booked a villa but they put us in a pool room. We didn't quite click this until we'd spent the first night. They moved us to a villa but didn't offer any compensation or pay back for the difference... but then we felt we got a good deal on agoda and we couldn't be bothered to argue to didn't kick up a fuss. The new villa room was literally 30 seconds walk from the beach. The rooms were a good size and clean although starting to look a bit run down, and the water started to smell a bit by the time we left! There was a very exotic outside shower but we didn't actually use it (I was paranoid about mozzies!). The beach we were on was quiet and very chilled in vibe. A few bars and restaurants and a couple of fantastic ones. A really lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katekillabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

booked several nights here on a last minute deal and really enjoyed our stay. large, clean rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay, Big balconies with a large sun bed and outside tub (unfortunately only cold water), Loved the beach it is certainly one of the nicer beaches on the island, long sandy stretch, no rocks and clean. the hotel itself has 3 large pools which we enjoyed in the evenings. Beach and pool towels available, spa was average. We did not encounter any problems with the staff but made sure after reading other reviews to keep things locked up. From the beach you can easily access several restaurants and bars. All in all we were very pleased with our deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

we arrived around 8:30am, which at some hotel maybe you can had problem if you arrive before 11am. The room was bright and beautiful decorated. It was very clean and you could tell that it was always well serviced. During our stay, housekeeping was always there to help us in any way that would add to our comfort. We looking forward to visit this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaldannasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here during low season (Oct 2013) and got a very cheap ($50 per night) rate for a deluxe villa. The rooms are lovely - huge beds, plenty of room, interesting outdoor shower and bath tried to use but the water pressure is awful).
The day-beds both inside and out were really nice. The resort was almost deserted except for staff the whole time so we would often have the pools to ourselves. Both pools (front and back) are really nice but the beach is even better. The water was always warm and the sunsets are absolutely spectacular - we spent hours and hours there.
For the price the rooms and facilities were excellent - very luxurious and peaceful. Lanta is quiet at the best of times - in low season it is deserted.
The restaurant was okay but expensive for Lanta low-season. Their European food was surprisingly good. I would highly recommend going to Funky Fish restaurant a few doors down the beach though - much better Thai food and much, much cheaper than the resort restaurant (esp breakfast). The staff at Funky Fish were also fantastic - we ate there every single day and the owner was very kind to us.

The downside of the resort, as others have said was the staff. The woman on reception who speaks the most English (with the very short hair) was extremely unpleasant to deal with. She made us feel like a real inconvenience and there was never any smiles or pleasantries from her. Even when I said 'thank you for your help' she would just look at me blankly and not say anything.

We booked an all-day snorkelling trip through the front desk one day and all left together early. Several house-keeping staff actually asked us where we were going and we told them we would be out all day. That night when we returned, one of the housekeepers (the ladyboy who looks like a sumo wrestler) came by each of our rooms to ask us if everything was okay. We thought this was very odd as all the other housekeeping staff had finished for the day and this was the first time (and only time) we had been asked this.

When we woke up the next day and checked our personal belongings we realised why. Someone had gone through all of our belongings and stolen AUD money from 2 villas (mine included). I had (foolishly) kept this money in my bag and not in the safe, while a woman I was travelling with had hers in her locked safe (which was a key-lock not a pin code).The others had kept their money in their pin coded safe and their money was okay.

We confronted management about this who said they did not care and it was not their problem because they had handed us a non-liability flyer when we checked in saying that the resort is not responsible for money stolen from rooms (gee, I wonder why they had that printed up?). While the amounts of money taken were small amounts it really soured what was otherwise a fantastic stay. I recommend staying at this resort but be very careful to lock all your belongings in a PIN-CODED safe. If you are provided a room with a key-locked safe demand a pin-code safe room. If the staff try and tell you a key-lock is fine tell them you are worried about the housekeeping staff breaking into the key-lock safe and stealing your money - show them this review if they don't believe you. Based on other comments here, this was not an isolated incident.

Room Tip: Villas and much better than pool access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smit0847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
4.6 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
2.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Sand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Sand Resort and Spa

Property: Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Address: 279 Moo 3 | Long Beach, Tambon Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanta Sand Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Modern mix Classical in style. Lanta Sand Resort& Spa is a tropical paradise of relaxing garden, Surrounded by coconut trees, lotus lagoon and crystal clear water, white sand beaches. The resort offering an atmosphere to relax, nourish and revitalize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lanta Sand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta Sand Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing