We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay after Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Lovely big bungalow's which to be fair are a little tired. Pool lovely, beach great (great for running). Clear blue water. Take lots of insect repellent, use the mosquito nets, look out for snakes and be prepared cockroaches in your room (we had two). Don't eat at the hotel, beach restaurants are great and much cheaper, particularly Hans, next to the Hotel. We did the Koh Phi Phi tour which we booked on the beach and was great. Really liked the hotel and the vibe, just wished that our door fitted and that didn't have the cockroach experience.

Room Tip: close to the infinity pool is better
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review for positive and negative ones.

Our two pools; one is by the beach and another one is at the back of the resort which is more quiet to relax.

Thank you so much for this helpful review about our great location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta, which still remains a great place to get away from it all. Everything, including many great restaurant and bars besides Hans next door are all within a small walking distance for you to enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 347 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

rooms are big... but a bit old... smelled of old.... Good value for money. PErfect location in front of a nice sandy beach... 5 minutes away from the main village (short tuk tuk trip for 200 thai bats)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankieL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your stay in Koh Lanta and also for the review you have shared in Trip Advisor. We will definitely consider your comments during our property meeting in the future.

We hope that you will come to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here in Dec just before Christmas in a standard bungalow. Depends on what you're looking for in a room, if you just want somewhere to sleep but don't care about luxuries, then the basic room is fine. Our room backed onto the "road" which really was a lane that led from the main road to the beach. Apart from a couple of motorbikes we couldn't hear any traffic noise. Thought the shower could do with a revamp, and no shower gel. If you're in the basic room you don't get tea and coffee making facilities ( there is a cafe on site) or a hair dryer ( but it's so warm I don't think you need one). Not enough sun loungers around the pool area, and people reserving them. The hotel location is right on the beach and there are plenty of great restaurants .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were due to head to another island during an island-hopping adventure in south Thailand. However, my husband got sick with a tummy bug so we had to find somewhere to stay in peak season without a booking - no mean feat in Koh Lanta at Christmas.
We turned up at the Royal Lanta on spec and somewhat desperate and luckily for us they had room.
On the first night we had Superior bungalow (1128) which was lovely. Set amid lush gardens along a beautiful wooden walkway (about half way from reception and the beach front) it provided the perfect oasis for my husband to get back on his feet. The room is spacious, charming and beautifully laid out. The bed and pillows were a little firm for my taste.
The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of different breads, yogurts and cereals. Cooked food and freshly-prepared eggs were available.
Because it was peak season and we had turned up without a booking, we had to move to a different room on the second evening. The GM allowed us to stay in a Pool View Suite at a greatly reduced rate (thank you sir, for your kindness). These rooms whilst being fantastic on the inside are reached by walking along a rather ugly concrete walkway which has blue or yellow plumbing pipes sticking out everywhere. I think the resort really needs to sort out because it completely detracts from the beauty and elegance of the rooms which are set around a very attractive second swimming pool at the back of the resort.
Inside the very spacious ground-floor suite (Rompeur C) there is a small kitchen area with microwave oven, fridge, sink etc, a sizeable bathroom with Jacuzzi-style bathtub, separate rain-style shower and WC, and a very pretty balcony next to the pool.
The bed and pillows in this room are far superior to the other room we stayed in.
Note to management: The blinds in this room were in a bad state of repair and should be replaced.
Apart from one somewhat surly member of the reception team, the staff are attentive, caring and happy to help with anything you ask for.
I can see that there is still a little of training needed for the staff working at the restaurant and bar but the food and drink selection were good and of high quality.
I would definitely return to Royal Lanta.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bangkokmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for walking in to check Royal Lanta for your stay, we are glad that you decided to extend you stay for another night. Free upgrading during this time of the year is a really excellent offer you received from us.

I will review your feedback with our team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Royal Lanta during Xmas break. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Relaxed atmosphere, great environment for snorkeling, running bare feet, fishing trips, you name it. The Sea and the beach are clear and clean. Hotel met our expectations. We had two rooms in a bungalow close to the reception and street.in contrary to some earlier reviews, we felt it was not too far from the beach and pool. Bungalow location had a nice bonus, free WiFi around reception area worked in the rooms (#1135 and #1136) too.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ilma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you so much for this helpful review and I am very pleased that you liked our resort and its great location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta.

We use 10 Mbps leased line for our Wife connection, your rooms are closest to the lobby so the signal work in your room. Many thanks for your review to let other readers know that our guest rooms are not far from the beach as we are small size hotel.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.
Once again, Merry Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Acctually we where among the first guests at Royal Lanta when they opend 2001/2002. When we suddenly decide to visit Koh Lanta we checked in at Royal Lanta. Our room (2201) was stil in gos shape but the toilet was i need of renovation. Our Outdoor shower didnt work, ceramics started to fall down from walls but otherwise it was nice and well kept. Royal Lanta have a really nice garden with a great pool where you can take a bath and overlooking the sea.
But when we where her ten years ago we where suprised that the restaurant didnt work. nothing worked at it should and the cooking wasnt so god. Breakfast was terrible. It was still exactly the same. So its a great place to stay but dont eat at restaurant.Avoid the rooms closets to the road, its a long way from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your second stay in Koh Lanta and also for the review you have shared in Trip Advisor.

I am surprised that you found our breakfast was terrible. However we will be feeding back all your negative comments to all concerned as soon as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here in late November 2013. While we agree with some of the previous comments, the resort is tired and in need of some TLC in the rooms, we had no real issues other than a very hard bed! Spray the mosquito net with insect repellent before going to bed will help.(it is a tropical climate...) We found the staff all lovely if a little reserved, we didn't want to be fawned over as we were there to relax but it would have been nice to have been asked how our stay was going, if there was anything we needed and how we had enjoyed our stay when we checked out. They could be more proactive, this comes down from management. Things like maybe walking round to see if people wanted something to drink during the day? Breakfast is limited but plentiful though would suggest covers on the food.
As for Lanta this is a lovely island and think this resort is on one of the nicer beaches. It's not a snorkelling beach but great the swim in. There are plenty of places to eat and drink, this is not a party beach which is exactly what we wanted, it doesn't close up at 8pm either though.
We went on the Eco elephant trek and rain forest walk which was amazing and would highly recommend. We also hired a scooter which was an experience!
To get there Krabi Shuttles are brilliant they turned up when arranged and were completely professional, the cost worked out to be about the same as a taxi and a lot more pleasant than the vans that pile too many people in and the spend hours dropping everyone off at different resorts.
Over all we would stay here again but would hope to see a bit of attention spent on the details.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stupidscreenname95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, ผู้จัดการ at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the wealth recommendation and information that you have shared in Trip Advisor with others about transfer and tours on the island. We are sorry that you did not ask us to soften your bed when you found it very hard.

I will review your feedback with our concerned departments so that we can improve the areas you found them negative.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Lanta Resort
Southern Lanta Resort
#57 of 84 in Ko Lanta
191 reviews
7.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#21 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $27 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing