We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok value and awful restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The food in the resturant is awful and the place feels very desolate and "cold".
Go to the restaurant in the hotel next to Royal Lanta.
Service and atmosphere is probably be better in high season.
Hotel itself is good value and it has a nice spot on the Klong Dao beach with it's pool overlooking the ocean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your short review.

I am glad that you found we are great value for money and convenient, being at the heart of Klong Dao beach. I am sorry to hear that you did not like our food in the restaurant. I will let our Chef knows about this.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 357 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lanta for a week with our kids (3 and 5 years old); we stayed in a family villa for 57 USD/night incl tax, service and breakfast for all.

As many of the reviews have stated - the resort is way past it's prime days. Everything from the sheets and towels to the sunloungers and other futniture as well as facilities, daily maintenance and service needs some kind of upgrade.

Does this make the stay not or less enjoyable? Funnily enough - no, not for us! And this shows the great potential of this place. We loved the location right on the beach, the pools are great fun, the family villa has a great size. This is pretty much all it takes to make out kids happy. And when they are happy and entertained it is a great holiday already ;)

Breakfast is basic but good; it would be better is served outdoors; out of the 6 breakfasts we had there it only rained one morning, anyway the breakfast was served indoors.

We did not think the staff were grumpy. Sure, you did not get the typical always-smiling-Thai but that is OK. They were helpful and did a good job. Front desk is attentive and well informed. Our 3-year old had to go to the doctor's, they immediately checked whether the internatinal clinic was open; it was not due to low season, so they called another English speaking doctor and arranged transportation.

We had initially booked 4 nights but then decided to stock up on mosquito repellent and stay the whole duration of our holiday ;)

We had a couple of meals at the resort restaurant, mostly lunch for kids. The food is good and should be marketed more by the management especially as low season does not leave much choice in walking distance; the restaurant is deserted in the evenings.

All in all it is a shame that a resort like this for some reason can't operate according to it's full potential. Whether it's the lack of investment or bad management - they really should consider how much value small improvements would add to the guests' stay. Just new sheets and towels, new covers for the sunloungers and new umbrellas would already give the place a totally different exterior and feel. Put some nice lighting in the restaurant, some nice music and set the tables for dinner - this should attract more people to eat in the hotel and create a resort feel.

We really hope to return to a more 'royal' place sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for choosing Royal Lanta for your stay in Koh Lanta with us. Green Season is always a challenge for us, as the guest numbers are greatly reduce and the weather can be anywhere from fabulous to very stormy. It is for this reason that we choose to always serve breakfast inside, as the weather can change very fast.

As you point out, we have an excellent location on the beautiful beach of Klong Dao, close to many bars, restaurants, shops and the main town of Saladan.
I am glad you were happy with our staff, during low season, we have to reduce our staff and we are always concerned that this can affect service, but as you say, our staff are pleasant and only too willing to help. As you pointed out, sometimes things (sheets, covers, umbrellas etc) need replacing and this is usually a main task during low season, but we tend to wait until the May rains have passed.

I really hope you visit us again in High Season, as I think you will find the resort you describe you are looking for, Green Season offers amazing value for money but the low volumes of guests is always a challenge.

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is important that we get feedback and we do act upon it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Grumpy breakfast staff - If you are the hotel and reading this please, please do something about your grumpy breakfast staff. No matter how friendly we were to them they would not smile or get off their web devises. A simple smile or hi how are you goes a long way.

We stayed here in low season and loved it. The room was big with bunk beds for our kids. Beds were firm but still comfortable. Wifi only works if you are in a room close to the front desk or the cafe. A bit of a negative if you are stuck in the middle. Rooms were clean and the cleaning staff was super friendly and awesome! The rooms were quiet. Our bathroom was clean and shower pressure was great.

The pools were great and being right on the beach was a huge bonus. The location is at Klong Dhao beach which is a beautiful, white sandy beach with shallow water and some waves to play in. Only downside is the trash that washes ashore. But not the resorts fault.

Breakfast was great with lots of western selections. They even had pancakes and bacon. Of course, the mornings they ran out they would special make them for us. So the breakfast staff was nice enough to do that. Still couldn't get them to smile.

The best part of this hotel and a huge bonus is they have a generator. Why is this important you ask??? Because when it storms hard the power in town goes out. With the generator we still had power and wifi. Very nice!

We loved our stay here and would stay again!

Plus if you love yoga, Oasis Yoga, is a few doors down the beach. Great way to wake up in the morning!

Room Tip: Stay in a room closer to front desk or cafe for wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 5_Around_The_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Our rooms are spacious and furnished with a real teak wood, our bunk bed for 2 children in the family room you stayed are very popular. We use 10 Mbps leased line for our Wife connection. We guarantee that it is available in the lobby, pools and restaurant only but not in the room.
You are correct that we have our own generator back up 100% when the power supply from government goes out.

I will review your feedback with our Food and Beverage manager to make our breakfast staff smile more.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed tree nights at the Royal Lanta in a deluxe villa for which we paid around €40 per night. Even keeping the quite low price in mind the Royal Lanta leaves me puzzled: It has a great location, right at Klong Dhao beach, a white sandy beach with shallow water and some waves to play in. The whole resort is actually quite thought through with little villas dotted around board walks with rainforest vegetation, opening up to a pool area at the bach with a bit of lawn, the restaurant and spa and another (mostly deserted) pool area near the reception.
But unfortunately the resort does not live up to the promise of the premises: the rooms are nice in their layout outdated and in a state of disrepair (speckled curtains, grimy handles a broken board here or there). The bathroom had new tiles (so it seemed) but was still in urgent need of an overhaul. The shower took ages for hot water and when it finally came it was only a trickle (it got a bit better after I told the front desk). The fitness room was a hazard in itself, with no working machine and a treadmill that was stuttering - great to run on...
The breakfast consisted of the basics and was - most annoyingly - always served indoors in the little cafe (in need of an overhaul as well) with the Tv running. Why they did not serve the breakfast outdoors, on the patio overlooking the sea, is beyond me. They said they only serve indoors, when it is raining. Which it wasn't on two of the three days. It even didn't look like rain, It just seemed to much hassle. The restaurant has a great location on a patio overlooking the sea but it is completely tiled and had only a few tables scattered around leaving the impression of an empty and uninviting place. So we did not eat there and in the lively restaurant next door that had great food for a good price.
The pool area is ok, but again in need ov an overhaul, The jets in the jacuzzi are not working.
The staff at the breakfast was grumpy and the front desk staff was beeing friendly enough and trying hard to help you (even though, especially the night shift) it was sometimes hard to communicate with them in English. The lack of service is astounding. I know it is green season and the resort was nowhere near fully booked but the service lacked even the basics: as others pointed out, there is now service what so ever at the pool or the beach. If you want a dring or a snack you are better off popping in to the 7/11 on the main road then waiting for someone to turn up. If you leave a plate somewhere at the pool it will stay there. Probably for ever. They do not turn down the cushions on the outdoor furniture, so the place always looks unwelcoming.
he location on Koh Lanta itself is good, with Koh Lanta beeing small enough to reach every corner with a scooter with ease. You can rent a scooter just outside the resort just tell them your room number and make sure you but a zero in the form to waive any excess liability anf off you go.
All in all it was a rather bleak experience in a resort at a great location but way past its prime and no one to change anything about it. Sad, really.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tj-exploringtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, we do read every review we receive and share them with our management team to ensure we can improve the experience for all our guests.

May is an unpredictable month for us, in terms of weather, and we have to take precautions because we know that rain and heavy winds can appear very quickly and hence we have taken the decision during this time to serve breakfast inside. We apologize if this ruined your meals for you but we feel that it is safer and more comfortable in the long run. During more predictably better months, in terms of weather, we always serve breakfast on our beautiful terrace.

I have asked my maintenance crew to review the standard of your room, as I am disappointed by your review of the room, every year we embark on a series of modifications to the rooms and clearly we need to attend to yours and I will ensure the fitness centre is running more smoothly than it was when you visited. I am most disappointed about your comments regarding our staff and will be feeding back your comments. We run a much lower volume of staff during May but this should not be an excuse and I will review with the managers the issues you have raised.

I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies if we ruined your experience at Royal Lanta Resort & Spa but we do hope to see you return so that you can see I have taken your words to heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Royal and we were in the Grand deluxe room. We also have a fairly spacious room with high ceiling. The equipments were pretty old and the wardrobe were so old that there were worms eating the wood. There were also holes on the doors that could allowed mosquitoes and lizards to get in. To have mosquitoes net were very helpful in that case. But we also realised that there were many lizards droplets fell down on our bed. After all, high ceiling with many woods weren't so good after all. But apart from all those, We were pretty happy with the spacious part.

The beach was not the greatest but we had a good time watching sunset by the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethKiss2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and for uploading your personal holiday photos of the resort that you have shared in Trip Advisor with others. I will review your feedback with our management team so that we can improve the areas you found unsatisfactory.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is set in a convenient location close to both ports. It is on the beachfront however the beach is covered in rubbish which spoils the setting. According to the locals this has come from Phi Phi island.
The staff here were very helpfull and upgraded us to a private bungalow on arrival. The room was very spacious but needed a bit of updating.
If you stay here I would recommend going to eat at Time for Lime restuarant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am very pleased that you liked our location on one of the main beaches of Koh Lanta, which still remains a great place to get away from it all.

Everything, including many great restaurant and bars and Saladan town itself, are all within a small walking distance for you to enjoy. Our country has a fantastic food culture. There are many options for all taste along the beach of Klong Dao including Time for Lime restaurant and down town of Saladan nearby

We always offer great deals during our Green Season (May to October) including room upgrade if possible.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here in April 2013 with my husband and 3 children and my parents. We had a family room with a bunkbed (so one child slept with us in the enormous bed). It was a really good size, very pleasant and clean. My parents had a standard room with King Bed, and they were delighted with it. It represents incredible value for money as it is a really nice resort, with two beautiful swimming pools and well located, close to shops and the pier. It has a restaurant on the beach (not well frequented at night.. maybe because everyone goes out to eat), and a coffee shop which if perfect for taking children to for snacks and lunches - although the staff there were a little grumpy. However staff at reception were excellent and very helpful. You can hire tuktuks very easily by just walking towards the road.
My favourite time was sitting on the loungers by the beachfront with a drink, watching the children playing in the sand and waiting for the sunset.

Room Tip: Family rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review your stay with us last month.

Our rooms are spacious and furnished with a real teak wood furniture, our bunk bed for 2 children in the family room you stayed are very popular. Our two pools; one is by the beach and another one is at the back of the resort which is more quiet to relax. We use 10 Mbps leased line for our Wifi connection in Sea Cow coffee shop covering public area including the beachfront where you were watching the children playing in the sand and waiting for sun set.

I am so pleased that you found that we are an incredible value for money, we always offer great deals during our Green Season (May to October). Our convenience to everything, beach, main town and the mainland makes us popular with guests.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lanta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $69 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing