We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

What a gem.This is a great hotel in a fabulous location. It is five minutes from the ferry terminal and is situated right in the middle of Klong Dao beach which is subline. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a great bathroom. The pools are fantastic as are the beautiful gardens which are to die for!..truly beautifull with great details hidden aw ay. The staff are curtious and friendly and you are always greeted with a warm smile and nothing is too much trouble. It is a great stay for all, whether a family a couple or friends having a relaxing time after the rigours of travelling. The breakfast sets you up for the day and the view is something else. I have stayed in many hotels from no star to five and have thoroughly enjoyed this one, infact doubled the length of stay and will be sorry to leave. The manager is friendly and is about the hotel which is good...a jolly nice chap who runs a tight ship! The atmosphere here is great and the staff take pride in their work and it shows! I will be back as soon as posible..love the place! Lanta is lucky to have this place. It has been a high point in my travels..how lucky was I to pick this one!! If you like a happy hotel this is the one to choose. Thanks everyone at Royal Lanta!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review for all readers, and we are happy to hear that our resort facilitated all of your needs. Indeed, we are near all what you want from dawn till dark. Our rooms are modern Thai style with a real teak wood furniture, all bathrooms were newly renovated. Two pools; one is by the beach and another one is at the back of the resort which is more quiet to relax. We always provide a good rotation breakfast buffet for our guests who stay at the average of 10 days. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the place and double the length of your stay. I hope you enjoyed our happy hour from 3-6 at the beach bar too.
Our morning omelet with the view at breakfast and friendly smile at the beach bar awaits you.

On behalf of the resort, I would like to thank you very much once again for taking the time to post a positive review, and we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 357 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Strange bathrooms, a lot of mosquitos (comes from all the pots filled with fresh water) think I got bitten like ten times at the reception during check in.


On the positive side: two big pools and the locations is very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

In tropical countries like Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand etc. you will find more mosquitoes around before dark that would be around 6:30-7:30 p.m. If you do not leave your doors open during that particular timing, you should not have mosquito in your room. You must have a warmer blood than the others so mosquitor love to bite you in our open air reception where guests sit around to enjoy Wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Royal Lanta for the second leg of our honeymoon, having read on its website that it is a luxury resort, a sanctuary and an oasis, staffed by people with a fun, can do attitude. The reality was quite the opposite.

It went badly from the start. We booked a Deluxe Villa, but were initially put in an inferior room. We only realised this when I was reading the in-room bumph and learnt that only Deluxe and Superior rooms had hairdryers and tea making facilities (luxury indeed) Our room did not, so we went to the front desk to point out the error. Unfortunately the front desk couldn't, or wouldn't, understand us and kept on telling us we must pay to upgrade to a Deluxe Villa. We showed them our booking confirmation but they still insisted we were in the right room and must pay. After a frustrating 10 minutes, they finally ceded to put us in a Deluxe Villa "for free" as it was our honeymoon. Which made us feel like bullies on the make, rather than guests who quite rightly expected to get what we'd paid for.

The room itself looked the part: large and airy, traditional wooden furniture, huge bed etc. But it was lacking in those small details that define luxury. The bathroom towels were threadbare, sometimes holey, and frequently smelt bad. There was no full length mirror, and the one mirror in the room was in the darkest corner. And the mossie net had several big holes. We may have asked them to replace it if we thought there was a chance they'd understand; I sewed it up myself instead.

The word luxury suggests that every effort is made to ensure the guests' comfort, but at RL guests appear to be nothing more than an inconvenience. The bar next to the sun loungers blasts out 80s power ballads ("how am I supposed to live without you" being a favourite) all day long. This is not my idea of a "sanctuary" or "oasis". On two occasions, when the music was literally unbearably loud at 11am, I asked for it to be turned down. On both I received an icy stare and the barmaid stomped off and turned the music down by perhaps a tiny fraction.

Breakfast was a bit of a nightmare. The woman at the egg station is literally the rudest person in customer service. A request for eggs is met with a petulant "wha?" and a hard glower, even when its a child ordering from her. The only time I saw her smile was when I came to breakfast with a swollen eye from a reaction to a mossie bite, which amused her so much she had to call a colleague over to point and laugh behind their hands. But it wasn't just the eggs: my husband had ants in his muesli, all the food was left uncovered so flies were inevitably on whatever you wanted, and the ham was kept in tepid water and, at least once, was on the turn. It was a major disappointment – needless to say we didn't eat in the restaurant at night.

And another warning for couples: Royal Lanta is predominantly a family resort. Not that we have a problem with children per se, but we wouldn't have booked this resort for our honeymoon had we have known that. With more children than adults, at least one child will be crying, rowing with a sibling, or being told off, throughout the day – hardly an oasis of calm.

Finally, in case you think we are fussy or hard to please, we have travelled across Asia and always been delighted and found something to love about cheaper resorts, hostels, homestays and even hill tribe huts. But this was the worst place we've stayed and a major disappointment. On our final night, we met a Danish couple who were also staying at RL, who felt exactly the same way and were looking for an alternative for the rest of their trip. We hope they found one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We regret immensely that your stay was a disappointment. Usually we strive to keep a close contact with our guests and address any shortfalls immediately. In your case we missed badly and sincerely apologize.

This is the first time I have come across such a review stating that the girl behind egg station was rude and also that our breakfast buffet has no cover. You may not be able to view our breakfast buffet clearly when you had a swollen eye from a reaction to a mossie bite. The song “How am I supposed to live without you” may be a favourite song of the DJ’s at the satellite station, that’s way he play it all day long. In-room coffee maker and hair dryers are available in the Premium Deluxe and suites only, but we always provide to our guests staying in Superior and Deluxe free of charge if requested.

I fully agreed with you that Koh Lanta is a good place for family but there are also may honeymooners who like it here. I would recommend Layana, the adult only resort for your next anniversary if you want to stay away from children.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1night on new years eve in a pool view suite. Hotel room was of a good standard with an impressive bathroom.
Hotel itself was very good and staff were helpful.
For us as a couple this resort was more suited to families and there were lots of kids running andsplashing around in the pool. If I had come to this hotel with kids I would have given them 5 stars, however noot ideal for couples.
Checking in on new years eve meant we had to pay a compulsory £50 per person for new years eve buffet and celebration. To be honest this was all abit of a con as the food provided would have cost no more than £5 to £10 each and the entertainment really only catered for kids.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a pool view suite, these rooms are twice the size of aall the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rsmit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just spent 7 nights here in a family room which was just perfect for 2 adults and 2 children. Location is fantastic, right on the beach. Breakfast was simple but very good. Beach was easy access for restaurants, massages, mini-mart etc. It is a great place to have a relaxing holiday. Absolutely loved Ko Lanta - cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
222moo3, General Manager at Royal Lanta Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are also very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and happy to hear that our resort have all of what you need inside and outside during your stay. Please choose the large Pool View Suite for your next holiday.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

All what you need for a nice Lanta stay. 2 pools, fairly small resort, easy walk to the main street and night food stalls and plenty of restaurants and bars. If possible, take the large pool view suits as the are larger than the standard rooms. Will choose this hotel when next time in Lanta.

Room Tip: Pool view suits, worth the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNK666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Generally a nice resort in a good location with a nice safe sandy beach on one side and a road with various restaurants and bars at the back. Accommodation is in individual bungalows in a tropical setting with lots of vegatation that makes them feel private. It is best suited to families and 80% of the customers are scandinavian families. Unfortunately it lets itself down with a number of small faults that could easily be fixed e.g. the bathroom in the bungalow needed a good clean and redecoration. The breakfast was generally poor with no variety, also there were not enough sun loungers so you had the usual ritual of towels going out at 7am. It is also quite expensive and there are better resorts on the island but you need to book early, especially at xmas.

Room Tip: Don't pay for 'premium' deluxe rooms they are the same size as the standard deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesSteveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.7 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 85 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
446 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 85 in Ko Lanta
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $69 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish modern bungalows, each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing