We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

Booked 8 nights here after a friend went on her honeymoon and recommended it, and also because it had such glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. We travel to lots of lovely places and have pretty high standards, but luckily Layana lived up to them. Can only reiterate what everyone else has already said really - exceptional staff who can't do enough for you, fantastic food and cocktails (esp for just 2.50 each during happy hour!), gorgeous pool, excellent location right on beach, perfectly kept grounds, clean and quiet. We used to walk along the beach and go to the restaurants there for lunch and dinner as well as the hotel restaurant - all the beach restaurants had very good food at very good prices - Thai Cat, Funky Fish and Mr Wee's all recommended. Also hired a scooter one day (the hotel arranged for us and it arrived in less than 10 mins) and rode around the island - it's not big so can easily be done in a day - have a beer at View Point, take in the charismatic Old Lanta Town, have lunch along the coast, then finish with a glass of wine at Le Frogg in Saladan. We also went to Lanta Seafood in Saladan for dinner one night but we weren't impressed - the beach restaurants were much cheaper and offered much nicer food. Also took advantage of the 'buy one get one free' massage in the Linger Longer Spa - very nice. We rode past the Pimalai resort and whilst it looked nice, it's too far from the beach and from bars, restaurants, etc, and I've heard it's more expensive yet not as impressive as Layana anyway. So stay here instead!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    95
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,110
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We booked this on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews so were expecting something really good but this place completely exceeds expectations. Its probably all been said but i think what makes Layana so wonderful (apart from the setting, the weather, the staff, the food and the general feeling) is all the little things that Bob and Margy and their team do. For example, providing a mozzy spray and a plug in for your room, toiletries topped up twice a day, lots of iced water and fruit at the pool. At least 6 half litre bottles in your room daily, rooms are made up twice a day, water at dinner is free. They don't penny pinch and this makes such a difference. Trips are really good value - small numbers and personal service. Would recommend Phi Phi trip and Sundowners cruise.
All staff are genuinely friendly and will do whatever they can to help you. The food is AMAZING! We didn't bother to eat anywhere else as it was just so good. Were waved off by Bob and Margy when we left and it's touches like this that make it a wonderful holiday. Forgot to mention the spa - i booked a Dream package - 240 minutes for 4,900 THB. It was incredible! Hurry up and book it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise1000England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

This resort is clean, tropical with a great pool overlooking the beach and the hotel staff service is fantastic. We only stayed for 3 nights which suited us and had a great time. I would totally recommend the 90min Swedish massage and any other services they have. It was nice to have a drink by the bar each night overlooking the beach with a tom yum spice cocktail. They only thing I would have to say if you want a real Thai experience for food best to eat in town along the water as we found the restaurant food bland as they cater for Western palates'. But over all we had great time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

What a great resort!
We had our Thai wedding here back in September with 35 of our close friends and family. Although we took our chances with it being low season the day turned out fantastic and was everything we wanted it to be (and more). A huge thanks to Margie and her staff for organising the day and a number of the pre-/post-wedding venues and activities for our guests (including a dinner/drinks for guests at another site). Margie gave us brilliant service throughout and gave us confidence in our choice of Layana for our wedding. Nothing was a problem.
The accommodation was great. We stayed a few nights in the Garden pavilion and a further 3 nights in the Ocean deluxe. In hindsight the Beach deluxe would have been sufficient since it had a beach frontage that the deluxe rooms did not. Staff were friendly and attentive throughout our stay. Our non-resident guests wished they had stayed in the resort! The spa experience topped off the stay very well.
Anyone thinking about having a wedding here shouldn’t think twice. Feel free to send me a message should you have any questions.
We will be back – but maybe in the high season next time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Porkage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

We stayed for 11 nights in Layana as part of our honeymoon. The rooms are luxurious, the resort is paradise and the staff were exceptional - very welcoming and keen to ensure that everyone has a fantastic stay. We have never before stayed in such luxury. Can't fault any part of the resort and would absolutely recommend it to anyone travelling to Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
654 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

My wife and I spent 8 days at each of the hotels ranked 1st (Layana Resort) and 2nd (Lalaanta Hideaway) by Tripadvisor on Koh Lanta. The Layana Resort is about three times as expensive as Lalaanta, being a 4-star hotel, but both hotels are excellent in their own way. The bedrooms/bathrooms at Layana are delightfully constructed of high-quality hardwood, tiles and fabrics. The rooms are in two-storied buildings - two rooms upstairs and two downstairs. The balconies look out over trees and a beautifully maintained green lawn. The service is amazing. The beautiful white-sand beach, backed by a tranquil sea (am I sounding like a holiday brochure?) has 18 very comfortable pairs of padded loungers. Each pair is accompanied by a square sunshade that gives exactly the right amount of shade needed for the two loungers. The beach guys cover your lounger with two hotel towels. We once went into the sea for a swim. By the time we returned, a member of the hotel staff had shaken the sand off our towels and relaid them. Amazing. There is also a truly excellent infinity pool, surrounded by palm trees and further loungers. The hotel breakfasts (included) are great. Juices, smoothies, fruit, cereals, cheese, European hams and the usual eggs, bacon and Thai alternatives. Once a week there is a free winetasting with snacks. Lunch and dinner are good but perhaps more expensive than you might wish to pay. We usually ate along the beach, in one direction or other, or took a very cheap taxi to the fish restaurants in Sala Dan (the main town). When I changed money once at reception, I noted three glass Tripadvisor trophies for 2006, 2007 and 2009 were on display. 'Ah, were you given the highest Tripadvisor rating for Koh Lanta in those three years?' I enquired. 'No, sir,' replied the pretty receptionist. 'The highest for the whole of Thailand,' Wow! Quite an achievement for the Layana's South African owners. The hotel, which was built seven years ago, fully deserves its success. It offers a gym, a library and two free internet computers. I am happy to give it five stars in every category.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Layana Resort, Ko Lanta – FANTASTIC!
Booked 2 weeks in Thailand, Feb 09 through Gary at Destinology (great service from him by the way). First week of trip was in the Krabi, Grand Centara Resort which we enjoyed (see separate review).

The second week we had a boat-minibus-Layana speedboat transfer from Centara to the Layana hotel beach front. Our party of 4#/two couples had the very nice Layana boat to ourselves, making the final arrival a bit special in its self. As you step from the boat onto the nice beach you are warmly welcomed by the hotel manager and staff who take you up to the beachfront bar for a quick welcome drink / cool towels. From here a small golf buggy takes you and any luggage to your room. Some weeks before UK departure, I had e-mailed the Layana resort direct to ask that the two rooms that we booked be as close together as possible (I forgot to ask Destinology to do this for me earlier). The Layana quickly acknowledged this request and we were extremely pleased with the two lower floor rooms allocated to us on arrival. The rooms we stayed in are in blocks of 4, two at low level and two above.

Upon settling in we started to explore our surroundings...things just got better and better the more we saw and interacted with the Layana staff. The pool area is a very nice place to be indeed! The Sun lounger’s are well spaced from one another so you don’t feel crowded at all. Your poolside umbrella comes equipped with a coded radio-pager device to call a member of staff if you need anything at all. This pager thingy was however usually beaten hands down by the staff that were always watching closely for and responding anything you might need anyway. I never managed to adjust the position of my lounger more than an inch before polite assistance was on hand to do the job!

Rectangular pool was very nice, with a separate smaller square pool set a bit further back and equipped with spa blower on perimeter. The pool area is never crowded or noisy so you can relax and just enjoy your book. The beach was quiet, clean and good for a swim or a nice morning stroll along if you prefer.

Food in the hotel restaurant was great, and in real terms did not find it expensive given the high quality & service.
In our earlier week in the Krabi Centara we only ate in that hotel once in the evening due to the high cost for what’s offered..... In the Layana we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant every night which tells a story (and no, not just that we are lazy!).

Layana is a truly fantastic place to stay for a relaxed & pampered holiday. Surroundings, facilities given smaller scale operation exceeded our expectations in all respects. The Layana’s hotels biggest asset is however the management team, and all levels of staff we encountered...Outstanding service and attention to details that make you and the visit feel special!

Will we go back ?...you bet ! (Two-weeks next time though)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dizzy-Nelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing