We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“more than met expectations”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

what a find this hotel/resort is.
Arriving by boat itself was an experience. Staff greet you almost before your feet hit the beach. a soft drink/cold towel and warm welcome with good introductions happened immediately and check in is done there and then . We had a ground floor room which suited us perfectly. spotlessly clean, everything provided, good airconditioning and nothing to disturb you.
the hotel organises various activities and we went on the sunset cruise. The sunsets certainly are absolutely amazing on a daily basis and can be viewed perfectly from the bar on the beach. the sunset cruise was a good way of socialising and the hotel manager was on board and was generally excellent at looking after all his guests at all times.
The swimming pool is 25 metres long which is a real treat to find at any time/place. and the pool temperature was perfect. There are plenty of pool loungers with umbrellas and staff on hand with towels/drinks/help.
The breakfast buffet was superb with a wide array of goodies to tempt the appetite. Each evening there is a different theme, although the a la carte menu is also always available.
We had to drag ourselves away as this is a place for total rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,154
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CapeTown
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

As the song goes - 'you don't know what you've got 'til it's gone', this resort just got better and better from the moment you set foot on it!
We arrived mid afternoon by boat transfer, having travelled for over 26 hours to get there. We were greeted by a welcoming party on the beach. A refreshing cocktail was waiting and the General Manager, Stefan and manager, Lion, introduced themselves. What a team they make! The resort runs with an amazing efficiency and high standard.
There are so many 'little touches' which you almost don't notice that sets the Layana apart from the rest. As you go to the pool or beach, an attendant sets up the chaise with a towel, a glass of ice-water and there is a bean-bag next to the umbrella. Need anything? - just press the remote button and the attendant comes running! After an hour, a fresh fruit skewer and cold towelette are offered to to as you lie there and soak up the peaceful surroundings.
The rooms are superbly appointed, quiet and well maintained. Our aircon packed up at 7pm; we phoned reception and within 10 minutes a maintenance man was there! by dinnertime, the problem was sorted out.
We were really impressed with the Layana and it made our next resort pale by comparison.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for New Year week and this place just got better the longer we stayed... We did not want to leave!

We were greeted with flower garlands, cold towels and a cold drink and taken to our large and well equipped room.

The restaurant was amazing- both the service and food to a very high standard! The spa is also a must- again service, surrounds and treatments were world class.

The whole resort feels very relaxed and the service is faultless. Special thank you to Ned and Solae who always went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. We didn't officially meet the general manager but this didn't really matter as the rest of the management team including Ned, Jimmy and Leon were all very helpful and charming.

The clientele whilst we were there were lovely and unpretentious, our only slight irritation was the reserving of beach sunbeds long before people actually ventured to the beach! We feel more could be done to prevent this from happening.

Definitely venture outside of the resort for snorkelling, great local food and the national park. The whole island is just charming and unspoilt.

The sunsets from the sands bar were idyllic- cocktails and swimming in the calm and clear Andamen sea was very special.

The NYE party they put on was fantastic- not tacky, classy and the music and food was incredible- we were dancing until 4am!

Would recommend this resort without any hesitation... One little gripe is the flys around the pool and restaurant, not horrendous but maybe some preventative measures could be out in place!

You must go here and take their private boat transfers too- wowwww!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshirebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I would like to start by saying that despite the weather not being too good when we visited and injuring myself. - this was up there with one of the best holidays we have been on.
The resort is small, intimate, spotless and quiet which is bliss when escaping from London. We found all the staff and managers exceptionally friendly and always willing to help. We had a garden room, top floor, block 4. I would opt for an upstairs room as you have an open bathroom view (from a sunken bath) and you don't hear furniture being dragged across the tile flooring. Room service and housekeeping was faultless. Bottled water, ice and a turndown service every night. Mosquito repellents are provided in the room. No need to take shampoo, conditioner or shower gel as provided. Beach bags are a nice touch too.
As it rained a fair bit of the time we were there, we didn't have a fight for any sun beds. One or two people 'reserved' a lounger but I'm not sure what it would be like if the sun was shining every day. Pool staff are attentive and friendly. Iced water is brought to you periodically as well as a fresh fruit skewer at lunch time.
The breakfast was good. We ate at 6.30am most mornings - no idea why as I can't get out of bed at home for work at that time. Anyway, we found a good variety of food and friendly staff. Wasn't too impressed with with the abundance of flies but its pretty much like that wherever you eat.
We only ate at the hotel 3 times. Room service when I had an accident in the hotel grounds and couldn't get about too well and an evening meal courtesy of the management to apologise for the accident. Hotel management provided an evening private beach dinner which was lovely. For lunch, we usually ate in one of the small beach bar restaurants dotted along the beach which charged peanuts and the food was excellent ( come out onto the beach, turn left and keep walking) The further from the hotel, the cheaper the food and drink
The beach itself was quite empty apart from people walking by and the beach dogs having a lot of fun in the morning. Great to watch.
In the evenings, we went out on our hired scooter (£4 per day and you can buy petrol by the roadside in whiskey bottles! ) and ate at the restaurants on the roadside. Krua Kritsana and Red Snapper were excellent. Going into Saladan by scooter was a bit like whacky races but well worth it for a slice of busy Thai life. We stopped off at a local market but passed on the fried insects. If you don't want to hire transport, you can hop into a tuk tuk for small money.
We booked excursions and the scooter outside of the hotel which was a much cheaper and a real bonus was having all our laundry done for about £5 at one of the many roadside launderettes.
The hotel spa is absolutely wonderful. I had a complimentary treatment and fell asleep as it was so relaxing. We used the beach massage huts every day. About £4-6 for 1 hours massage by the sea. Bliss.
If you fancy trying your hand at some Thai cooking, try the Lanta Thai cookery school. The cheapest on the island and you get to make the dishes from scratch.
There was just not enough time to do everything and recharge our batteries so we will be returning to Thailand.
If you want a quiet, 5 star experience then yes, this is the place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at Layana Resort for Christmas 2013 and had a great holiday.

Upon arrival we were greeted by several members of staff, offered cold towels and a welcome drink. The check-in was really swift and straight forward and we were taken by golf buggy to our room.

We stayed in a Garden Pavillion Room. The room was really modern, well appointed with a really nice high end bathroom with sunken bath and power shower. We had a flat screenTV with a good selection of channels.

The infinity pool looked amazing, the sun loungers were leather with suitable sized cushions and there were call buttons at every sun lounger by the pool and beach to get service.

The staff regularly come round with ice cold water and complimentary fruit sticks.

The main restaurant had a European feel to it,with stylish split level decking with tables that all overlook the beach.

We hired a moped and ate out in Saldan (6 min drive from the hotel), where you can get amazing meals and a great evening atmosphere if you, like us, don't like being confined to your hotel. In fact we drove, around the whole island and sampled a variety of cliff top restaurants further down the island. If you don't want to hire a moped it's 50 bht per person for a taxi to Saladan. Well worth the trip as the restaurants serve great food at a fraction of the cost and of the meals are of a very high standard.

We signed up for the Christmas dinner at the hotel which was absolutely amazing and well worth the money ( mind you it was the only dinner we had at the hotel). The food was great, the choir was amazing, the fire show was excellent and the arrival of Father Christmas was a highlight. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening and got into the Christmas spirit. The staff made a special effort to put on a great show and the management did a great job getting everyone to join in the celebrations.

Whilst this hotel is wonderful, you must see the rest of the island. The hotel is conveniently located close to the town, where there are shops, an abundance of tour operators should you wish to go on excursions ( much cheaper than the hotel),restaurants, and streetfood. The island is really safe, idyllic, with beautiful untouched bays.

Koh Lanta Old Town was lovely and quaint and be sure to go elephant trekking near the national park.

Whether you want to sit on a sun lounger all day or use the hotel as a base to see the island, I would highly recommend it.

If you are looking for a larger, more secluded hotel then the Pimalai would probably be more to your liking, but it's quite far from town and remote.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 10 days, before spending time in Bangkok. We travelled there from the UK, a long trip - flight to Bangkok then to Krabi. This was followed by a road transfer and finally a speed boat to the beach in from of the hotel. Very surreal wading through the surf to be met by staff with flower garlands and cold towels. The hotel was very elegant (no under 18's allowed), beautiful spacious rooms. The beach was wonderful, lovely sand and warm water. It faced west so there were stunning sunsets, made even better by the Happy Hour cocktails. A short walk along the beach there are a number of bars, restaurants, small shops so there is plenty of choice of places to eat and drink. When we left the weather was very windy and the sea rough so we had to go by road and then two car ferries to the mainland. However it was an easy journey and fun. The food in the hotel restaurant was very good, particularly the breakfasts. The pool was very big and ample sun loungers and umbrellas. Our only problem was trying to get sachets of decaf coffee for the room, we never did get any.

Room Tip: The rooms are in blocks of four. We had a ground floor room. There wasn't really a view but it o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Positives:
Lovely location, great rooms, very friendly staff, very nice layout, well maintained. Loved the unlimited free bottles of water, and the wireless (free, good quality service). Housekeeping was faultless. We booked a number of things via Reception (restaurants outside the resort, car hire, taxis etc) and it was very efficiently handled. Beach services were great. The snorkelling trip to Koh Rok was excellent. Breakfast was very good.

Negatives:
Food and beverage service was sloppy and slow. Our reservations were not dealt with well. Often had to go and find the staff, or wave at them frantically, to try and get attention. They were very friendly, but not attentive in the right way. This wasn't because they were busy - they were often standing around chatting to each other, particularly at Sands Bar. It is not acceptable to say that they have none of the house wine left at the bar (how can you run out of the house white wine?) when the alternative is 70% more expensive. When the food/drinks arrived, they were generally pretty good. (Though the Christmas Eve buffet wasn't great - I don't think they are geared up to do big buffets particularly well).

We would stay there again, but would probably have more of our meals outside the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank donstar086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,074 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing