We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Another part of our 3 stop Thailand visit. We felt it was a very nice and pleasant resort. But it is not 5 star and has 5 star prices.The staff were excellent and friendly but we felt it was too expensive for Thailand

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wardieviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2008

It is hard to add anything new in a review for this amazing place. Everything from location to staff is just perfect, possibly for the exception of the music in the resturant ;=) They keep up the same level of ambition wether there are sixteen guests (as it was when we arrived) or fully booked. Late depatarture was not a problem, when we arrived to Krabi airport going to BKK one Layana staff turn up out of the blue and assisted us in check-in.

Hope to be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nisse_persson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed at Layana for my honeymoon in Nov 2007. The resort is beautiful and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The beach area i very nice as is the pool and outdoor bar area. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The rooms are comfortable and I liked that we had a balcony and a bathroom with both a shower and a tub.

The snorkeling excursion I took was awesome...

Free internet service was a real plus.

The only real negative was the gym, which is kind of small and doesn't offer much equipment or weights...

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fburton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Layana has the best overall package on Koh lanta. The reservation was correct. The check in was very quick and we were escorted to the room. The resort has about 11 2 storey bungalows each with 4 rooms. The rooms are great. 5 star quality with TV, DVD, marble bath, great shower with the most powerfull shower head. Didn't like the chairs on the balcony. The pool is great and not busy. The SPA looks amazing and very relaxing. The beach is good but during the low season there are no sun lounges and it is different from the main pictures on their web address. The big led down is the restaurant. It is far too hot and the choice of the food is not great. Prices are reasonable for a 5 star resort. There is a free happy hour between 6-7 with half price of all cocktails.
If you staying at Koh Lanta, Layana is the best choice. Second choise is Langham Place. However Layana is not on the level of The Sarojin in Khao Lak.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

After spending 3 weeks travelling through China and Thailand we spent 5 nights at the Layana resort to recover. We could not have chosen a better place.

Because of a delayed flight and problems with the ferries/tides we did not arrive at the resort until 1.15 a.m. We were taken straight to our room and advised to check in the following morning.

Our room (garden pavillion) was spacious and beautifully furnished with an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was large and well equipped. Bed linen was changed daily and the bathroom was cleaned and towels replaced once again at the evening turn down. There was no shortage of bottled water.

The grounds were well maintained and the pool and dining areas were all very clean. Iced water was served to everyone round the pool and on the beach and replenished regularly and plates of fruit also appeared.

At breakfast the buffet was enjoyable especially when it was possible to sit outside overlooking the beach and sea. A new and improved dinner menu was in the process of being sampled and evaluated. There were also themed food evenings which were interesting and enjoyable. There was an all day menu of snacks or light meals and dinner was served from 7.00 p.m. Between 6 and 7 p.m. the drinks were half price.

Because of the weather in low season some of the on-site activities were not available but we hired bikes from the resort (A1 quality) and explored the island.

At all times the staff everywhere were pleasant, helpful and friendly and well supervised. There was constant attention to detail from Bob, Margie and Michael who were available and around the resort throughout the day. On our departure we were once again met by the resort rep. at Krabi airport who organised our check in.

The smooth running and excellent standard of the resort meant that we had a memorable stay at Layana.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cilgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

5 star resort, 6 star service! The staffs are friendly, attentive and cheerful. Sunset cruise is really nice. The rooms are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twilight83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

This was our second time at Layana and it is just such a wondeful, magical place! Our welcome back from Bob & Margie & Michael and all the beautiful staff was fabulous!

Bob & Margie have a real attention to detail, they are warm, professional and are very hands on.

The rooms, resort, restaurant etc are great as described in many of the reviews. I love the pool, a perfect temperature and size with beautiful views. Plus iced towels, water and fruit are brought round the pool & beach area just as you need them - wonderful! (note, beach towels are provided).

We did a few of the trips. Snorkling at Phi Phi was fantastic but the Island had gone very busy - we last stayed there 10 years ago and it had changed a lot. Koh Lanta is much nicer, as long as you like a peaceful, calm, friendly Island. We also did a great Eco trip through the mangroves in a long tailed boat and hired a car for a day and had a scoot round. The locals were all so friendly and we did not see any one begging or on the make.

I made the effort a couple of mornings and braved the aerobics at 7.30am - good fun but do ensure you book the day before.

The restaurant at the hotel is lovely and there is an excellent variety of food but we also got out to the beach shacks and to Lanta Seafood in Saladan (good food).

15 months ago we met 2 great couples, Steph & Ralph & Else & Ollo. This time we met another 2 great couples, Debbie & Don & Hilary & Sam. We are not normally ones for meeting people on holiday but Layana attracts lovely, like minded travellers from all over the globe!

We are missing Layana already and hope to be back in the future!

Diane and Bob

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bob+Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,099 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $160 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing