We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A mini paradise”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I'm currently sitting in my amazing garden pavilion room which is huge with an incredible bathroom and terrace, with wonderful aircon keeping me cool while I relax after a day at the pool. This place does live up to the hype. My new wife recently wrote a review titled "not amazing" which pointed out a few improvements that could be made, for example the choice of food to cater to all dietary requirements. As mentioned in her review, I'm a Muslim and was told I was eating chicken when in fact it was pork, however, the staff were very quick to apologise for the mix up. Having written her review while we were still here, outlining a few concerns that she had, we were both surprised and delighted that the customer manager, Ned and general manager, Stefan, both came to talk to us to apologise for the mix ups and even thanking us for pointing out improvements. They even offered us a lovely table at dinner on them, a very nice touch which we both appreciated lots. This also shows that these guys are very much on the ball and like to make sure that all customers are completely satisfied. In fact upon arrival, Stefan came straight over to greet us, tell us where everything was and assure us that should we have any questions, he would always be on hand, a great touch for a general manager.
I have to say that the staff, everyone from the cleaners to the top management say hello and check how you are, one guy in particular whose name I need to find out (who brought us our room service each time with a great big smile and always asked how we were, what our plans were, even offering advice about weather), Wit the excursion guy, Ned the manager, one of the waitresses who knew exactly what we wanted when we sat down, in fact all of them have been so brilliant and will bend over backwards to make sure your stay is the best.
Oh and pop by the massage booth near the sundown bar for the best massage you will ever have for a very reasonable price too!
A lot of people worry about the weather but we only really had one day of rain and the sunshine has been fantastic! The hotel even offers a 1000 Baat refund per room for each day of rain, which we thought was brilliant but luckily we haven't had to take them up on!
Great hotel made better by great staff. All they need to do is put more options on the menu that cater to everyone but that's it! My missus can just be a bit picky sometimes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    98
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
69
1,147
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm here right now on my honeymoon so while its storming outside, I'm taking the chance to write a review. This is the third and final stop after bangkok and krabi after staying 5* all the way. Ill start with what's good about the resort-

The grounds are impressive, the staff to out of their way to say hello, chat with you, ask about your day. The welcome with a flower garland and cold towel is wonderful. The rooms are well proportioned with a lovely bathroom and great air con. The bar and restaurant are beautiful. The pool is clean and loungers are lovely. They bring you cold towels and fruit kebabs around the pool when it's hot. There is a library with a great range of DVDs to borrow.

Now the bad-
The breakfast is Ok but not amazing and all of the juices are artificial and none taste good. If you want service by the pool, it's a hard task. You have to go and get someone who will eventually come over to you, however when they do the service is great. Being in the bar or restaurant in the evening means inevitably getting eaten alive as they take no precautions for bug protection which I've found is odd as many other places do. There are limited options for veggies so if you are one, be prepared to live off margarita pizza! My husband is Muslim and was served a pork dish he was told was chicken so he then had to spit it out after I realised it was in fact pork. The staff apologised and confirmed it was pork but couldn't understand why it was a problem despite the area being extremely muslim centric so was a tad embarrassing. The next night i ordered a salad and asked for no bacon and it appeared with bacon bits covering it, trying to explain this was a nightmare as their english isnt great so i gave up. There are cockroaches that appear on your door step nightly. The pool has limited space and is quite small especially as there is just the one so be prepared to fight for a lounger! The excursions that are offered are VERY expensive for what they are compared to everywhere else we stayed as well as outside tour operators. The restaurant food is mediocre at best. The beach is not at all white sand and isn't amazing, we were surprised as we'd heard about how fabulous the beaches here are but this one has a huge hill so you need to walk down it to get to the sea and this makes lounging on the beach less awesome. We were told by hayes and Jarvis we would receive champagne, chocolates and flowers in our room on arrival, the hotel had not auctioned this so we had to query it with them and have the service a day late. This resort needs more options for food, better cocktails (they're quite awful) and another pool to be at 5* standard. They provide a bug spray complementary in your room but it doesn't contain feet so it actually attracts the bugs if anything.

We've spent most nights in our room watching films with room service thanks to the lack of atmosphere and abundance of bugs, which is a big shame as that's why we avoided the Maldives. We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kristinalouise_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layana_Resort, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you as well for your review and our laugh just now at the pool on a very sunny day today with a beautiful pristine beach and lovely views over to Phi Phi island.

I am also glad to see on your smiles that you have a great time at the resort and as I have explained to you, I am very sorry for the oversights at our front office and Tides Restaurant, which should not have happened in the first place.

Thank you again, as only with comments such as yours we can continue to strive for further excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

It's the best hotel I've stayed over the years that I've travelled and the most cost-effective one among luxury hotels.
Everything is perfect, from the first greeting, decoration and little details of rooms, service and friendliness, breakfast, beach, the library, spa, etc. I can find no fault with anything. And it costs around only 150 euros per night for all these.
However the pickup service is a bit expensive so we chose to rent a card drive by ourselves. A bit faraway but the ideal place for romantic holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Let me say first off that we had a wonderful stay at Layana. Our plan for our holiday this year was a quiet re-charge and Layana is a lovely spot for that.

A small hiccup on arrival when our booked transfer from the pier did not show up - it is a short ride to Layana and we got a tuk-tuk no problems. Hubby a bit grumpy about this (suffering from Indigo Pearl withdrawal, see our review of this hotel).

We arrived at the lobby which is...nice. I think they should do a bit more to to give this area a bit more personality. It is very nice but very pedestrian. A lovely welcome from staff and may I say the service in this hotel cannot be faulted.

We booked a garden room which was...nice. Super clean and everything in its place, but not stand-up-knock-down luxurious by 2013 standards, and not really contemporary. We were commenting to eachother that Layana is beautiful but it is straight out of 1994. It is slightly old fashioned.

We unpacked and went to the restaurant for lunch, which was...nice. The restaurant is smack bang on the beach front so you cannot grumble about the view, and the staff were really lovely and very good at their jobs. The food is good but not great. Not bad value for a resort restaurant. I know it must be hard for a small property to have a kitchen that produces excellent Thai and Western every time, so some of the meals were fab, others ordinary.

The four islands snorkelling trip was a highlight. The crew were great, the snorkelling was great fun and the lunch on the beach was really good! We recommend this trip to others staying here - and we thought it was excellent value too.

The happy hour is very well attended by guests and the hotel provided a Thai buffet night and a BBQ on the beach night (we did not attend but they looked lovely).

The hospitality bit they have got so right and our sincere thanks to all the staff for making our stay a warm and friendly experience. The grounds are immaculate, the rooms ultra clean. But there is something of a time warp feel for us that we just could not shake. The hotel has great bones and the owners maybe need to invest in an interior designer to bring this lovely spot in to the 21st century. I understand they have a new villa and from the promo shots it looks impressive - I thoroughly encourage Layana to continue this upgrade through the rest of the hotel.

If you are looking for a lovely, quiet stay at a place with a beautiful beach and great service then this is for you, but is not hip or groovy or 'now' or ultra luxurious...its just really...nice!

Room Tip: Beach front villa's looked darn nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layana_Resort, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and you will be pleased to learn that our resort will be closed during a period of 2 months this year for a Grand Renovation of the public areas (including the lobby), you may learn more on our website at www.layanaresort.com. Room wise we would like to add, that the concept of fhe guest room design at Layana is "Timeless Elegance", very spacious (49 sqm), a lot of natural light (from 3 sides), uncluttered, clean cut modern design and all equipped with the latest technology: Free 4MB wifi connection, 32'' Samsung Flat TV, Panasonic iDock station and DVD player. Thank you again and hopefully we will get an opportunity to welcome you back to enjoy the renovations with other guests. ... Your Layana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour round asia. This was the start or our relaxation week after being very busy the first part of the holiday. Everything was brilliant we were really impressed!
We paid for the transfer from the airport (roughly £100 for both of us, if not a bit more if I remember correctly) and this was 100% worth it! We managed to navigate our way to/ from places relatively easily in other locations but arriving at krabi airport (v small in the middle of nowhere) in the midday heat it is priceless having someone with a namecard and an air-conditioned minibus waiting for you!
The hotel was great, everything you would expect from a 5* resort- beautiful rooms (we stayed in a garden villa), helpful staff, location right on the beach, nice toiletries, turn down service etc etc. They give you free water everywhere too which was a perk, a pet peeve of mine is having to pay an extortinate amount for bottled water when you've already paid loads to stay in a hotel!
The hotel is pretty small so I wouldn't stay for too long, and the day trips/ events they offer are expensive so I would go to the town and sort this myself if I was going to do one. But koh lanta is all about the beaches so we just chilled out round the amazing pool/ beach areas.
We did half board which was more than enough (if you arrive at breakfast late enough!) and the food was really great. Tuna tartare is a must.
Only annoying thing was that the water didn't get very hot in the shower. Also we are both 27 and were the youngest there by quite a long way. Nothing going on in the evenings and a lot of people seemed to be regulars who all knew each other! But if you want to party there is plenty of stuff going on a the bars down the beach.
Apart from that 10/10.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden villa which was huge and very quiet. Some of the ocean/ pool villas seemed qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Layana has a lot of good things going for it (you can go through the other reviews if you need to know more), but it's far from being the best hotel on Koh Lanta.

A lot of people I met consider the Layana to be a competitor of the Pimalai but they are not.
I got the chance to stay at both and I must say that the Layana feels like a jumped up Club Med' for people with a bit more money (mostly German retirees who never leave the hotel) while the Pimalai is true top-notch luxury (even in the lowest rooms classes).

Also, vegetarians won't find anything to eat here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved every single thing about this amazing hotel. Can't believe it's taken me this long to write a review! Travelled with my boyfriend last year and stayed in a garden view room. From the second we landed at krabi airport, we were treated amazingly! Beautiful smelling flannels, cold bottled water, a private mini bus and speed boat transfer... Out of this world! We still talk about how amazing it was... Really hope we can go back one day.

Food wasn't cheap but always had great service and lovely food. Everyone was very polite, pool staff were very attentive even to the point where they would place our belongings somewhere dry when the afternoon 10 minute downpour occurred! Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,056 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing