We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and stunning rooms, pool and bars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just arrived back from honeymoon, we booked into Crown Lanta up the road which was completely overpriced and overrated, please don't go there unless you get a sub $150 a night price, and after about 5 minutes we decided we needed to upgrade - Layana is the top rated resort on the island, and fortunately had a room spare. They picked us up in the air conditioned Mercedes van, the manager Stefan and his assistant greeted us on arrival and showed us the facility. We were blown away. Since then we have had great food, drinks, met some other lovely couples, been island hopping and elephant walking, spent time in the new spa and massage centre, out on a catamaran, all organised by the resort's array of private boats and excursions. In short, perfect for anyone wanting to both relax and also do some interesting activities.

The rooms are amazing, the breakfast buffet is fantastic, from all fresh juices (carrot to orange to watermelon, to tamarind and ginger. Make your own blend, awesome) to all English, Thai and continental food, the evening meals are great. The beach is beautiful, their sunloungers are good quality, and easily enough around for all residents. There are only 50 rooms, so the resort never feels crammed, great balance between full and relaxed. You can always get service within a minute.

And that's the best part. The service is out of this world. It's a clear USP they're aiming at, and achieving. There are 140 staff for the 100 guests apparently! Rooms cleaned twice a day, immaculate beach and table service, unintrusive but always there for a brief catch up, to solve a problem, or to just say hello.

Truly spectacular, couldn't recommend higher, my wife was almost in tears when we left - with the staff waving us off from the shore as we went in the Layana speedboat! Thank you Stefan, other Stefan, Jimmy and the team. It was an amazing experience.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Layana Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

685 - 691 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent place. We stayed for a week in the early half of December after two weeks travelling around South East Asia. We were ready for a break, and that is exactly what we got.

Right from the moment we were collected from Krabi airport in a very smart people carrier, got onto the speedboat, arrived on the beach to be greeted by the staff on the beach and handed a nice refreshing drink. 

Our room was not far from the pool area. The design was contemporary at the same time as looking quite welcoming and traditional. Very nice. The bathroom was good, the balcony also ideal to sit on during a small rain storm overlooking the very lush gardens. 

We always sat on the beach. The guys who serviced the beach and pool area were attentive and brought cold water and fruit kebabs during the day. There were plenty of beds, and bean bags. The beach is not private but, it isn't particularly busy either. 

Cocktail happy hour ran from 5 til 7 when most of the drinks on the menu were half price. Cocktails tended to cost around £5 at full price. There are options not far along the beach for food and drink, and there are a couple of small shops for any essentials. We ate each night in the Tides restaurant. The choice was fine for a week long stay, and there were also theme nights. One night there is a beach BBQ - foie gras, lobster, prawns, calamari, beef and 
lamb. Excellent. 

We would recommend using the spa. Very relaxing. Friday's are 2 for 1 but, book early. 

One of the reviews not far below this one talks about the managements approach to speaking to guests - we didn't think too much of it but, having thought of what you said we would agree. The schmoozing was not equal!

Also, you maybe do not get the wow factor of the scenery as you do in the Maldives but, the service is as good and the location is still very good. 

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank TravelBudz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and I have to say this is the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. Everything in our opinion was perfect; the grounds are beautiful, the room was spacious and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We initially booked this hotel for four nights and planned to move on to see more of Krabi, but we decided to stay on for an extra two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

v relaxing resort in a great location. the island is much more quiet than samui or phuket - however - there is still lots to do should you wish to leave the pool. great food and fantastic cocktails, the food at the buffet dinners is sublime (quite expensive but worth it). likewise the snorkeling trips - v well organized, great locations, good equipment and great staff. service in general was excellent. I I think they could probably advertise some of the local activities a bit more - however the wifi is excellent so easy to research yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ledasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We've stayed few days at Layana Resort and in overall we were pleased about the stay.
The property is cleaned, quiet with a nice location.
The beach is cleaned and the sea is not crowded so perfect to swim. The beach team is helpful.
The food and service is fine ! Complementary bottles of water in restaurant were appreciated
The F&B manager is very professional and polite so as all his team with always a nice word & greeting
Turn down service is too early :around 7.00pm always when you are preparing yourself to go out for dinner but just a single detail
But the only deception during our stay was the hotel's manager attitude: he welcome you on arrival which we find as a professional attitude
We then noticed that he also greeted " some" guests everyday at diner time. We thought they were guests he had not seen before or whatever as at first we did not pay that much attention to the fact that he did not come to our table because this is what make ur stay a great one. But when on our 4th diner we saw him greeting the 6 tables on 7 located on the same floor, passing near us and meet the table just in front of us, we find it weird for not having a single hello. As a guest you always want to feel special considering the fact that we were staying 6 days and dining almost every night.... but feeling the other way is just not acceptable in a five star hotel! Either you greet everyone or no one!! For sure this single detail left an unpleasant taste at the end of our stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cempaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layana_Resort, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your review & comments. Layana prides itself for its personal touch and close contact with guests by all of us, as part of the overall experience.

I am personally very sorry for your disappointment and there were certainly no bad intentions.

Thank you again for your instant & honest feedback and with best wishes for a Merry Christmas from all of us,

Stefan & Layana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Layana was the perfect place to enjoy our honeymoon!
We have both travelled to various parts of the world but no other resort comes close in terms of service, warmth/friendliness of staff and quality of facilities. The on site restaurant, especially the buffet breakfast, was more we could ask for.
We recommend signing up to Layana's leisure activities as the same service of third party providers, was of lower quality.
We stayed at Layana for 9 nights and could have easily stayed a few more days to take advantage of the many activities on offer. The ability to also hire a scooter on site made exploring the island a breeze. On the days we decided to stay on site, we lazed about on the beach chairs and the staff catered to all our requirements.
If pampering is what you seek, we also recommend purchasing a spa package as the relaxed and professional staff do an exceptional job in providing the many treatments on offer. We suggest you book your appointments early though!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeSophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had some "extra-time" to spend and a friend recommended the Layana, about one hour by minivan and speedboat from Krabi Airport. It was an excellent choice! Quiet, nice rooms, cosy restaurant, friendly staff and a GM who cares. The restaurant offers a selection of international and Thai food, not too big and rather expensive (local standard), but quality and ambiance is first class.Short walk from the hotel along the beach you find shops, bars and local restaurants. If you need a break, take it at Layana's!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grufty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,087 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $145 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing