We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value to your very last penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value to your very last penny”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

When you usually visit a resort, you would have expect the normal things like, check-in, greetings, briefing about the amenities and your in room facilities. Here, at Layana - the superb friendly staff provides excellent 6 start resort service and they exceed our usual expectation when we compare with some other resorts in our own country - Malaysia.

Both me and my wife would like to tell you travelers/honeymoon-ers that this is THE place to be to get away from the busy city life.

About transportation, we would highly recommend to get the airport pick-up and transfer. Trust us, the trip from the Krabi Airport to Koh Lanta is about 2 hours journey and crosses 2 ferry terminals. Once you reach the resort, one could rent a motorcycle and go about the small town.

For dinner, SALADAN ( i think its spelled this way) restaurant provides wide range of seafood varieties. You could never go wrong picking this restaurant.

For visitors (not from ASIA), please try the real deal of local food and not those meals you have from your home - like burgers. Asian food are full of rich flavours. You could ask for a non-spicy version if thats what you guys a afraid off.

Nice place to be. We would go back to Layana in near future. P/S: We celebrated our anniversary there. The resort and staffs makes our anniversary a superb one.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. One should not worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,316
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,154
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Layana as a family with 2 adult 'kids'. There was not one thing we thought was a problem. Even though it was the rainy season it did not deter in any way from our stay. We went for a week of rest and relaxation and it doesn't rain all the time anyway and even then it can be quite spectacular in differen way. The food was outstanding, the staff were just lovely, the service was brilliant and very thoughtful. The price was amazingly good. They organise trips and activities such as Thai Cooking Classes at very good rates. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank margpark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon; it was the 'luxury part' of our trip through Asia. We've read the reviews on tripadvisor, and boy did it meet up to our expectations!!

The room (Garden Pavilion) is fantastic: great rooms with comfy bed.
The food in the restaurant world-class yet still affordable.
Our spa treatment (90 minutes Layana Signature massage) was amazing (still relaxing me by just thinking about it).
But the finishing touch was the helpful and kind staff, treating us really really well with a genuine smile. I was afraid of people being submissive to us, but no such thing, just helping out because they want to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We had a really really great time here, and will continue our traveling through Asia well rested, and relaxed! Thanks Layana!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThijsVdA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have never written a review before, but without doubt this hotel and the wonderful people who work there deserve a glowing review.

We spent two weeks at Layana in low season, and had the most fantastic time. I don't know what we can add that hasn't already been said about this wonderful hotel and the amazing people who work there, but we would just like to say a few things.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious, we stayed in a garden villa and this was lovely. The hotel is small so you never have far to walk to the pool, beach, spa or restaurant.

The food is spectacular, and always served with grace and a smile, nothing is too much trouble. They very soon got to know what you prefer to drink and what your favourie meals are and in the case of my husband who likes everything very spicy they spiced up everything he ordered and brought him the peanut satay sauce with everything!

The people are what makes this resort stand out, from Kanin, the assistant manager who located my missing case on arrival at Krabi airport and had it delivered to the hotel the next evening, to all the girls in the restaurant, especially Joy, Sue and Mojitoh, who are all increadible and such lovely genuine people who go out of their way to make everything perfect for you.

We did get out and about on rainy days, so we hired a car (which was inexpensive) and drove around the island, which is very easy to do, with there being hardly any traffic on the roads. We visited the animal welfare hospital to take the dogs for a walk and to cuddle the cats, which is a very worthwhile thing to do, and to leave a donation to this great charity which survives on the generosity of tourists and Time for Lime cooking classes, which we also did and would highly recommend.

We also went to Phi Phi island, and Bamboo island, which is simply the most stunning place I have ever seen and well worth a visit.

You can also do elephant trekking, but beware of the massive spiders in the trees (my husband found this hilarious as did the guy riding the elephant with us!)

Wit also has to have a mention, he knows the area very well and has great tips on what to do and where to go to get the best out of your stay. He is great to talk to and again does everything he can to make your stay the best it can be.

You can also borrow mountain bikes from the hotel for free and get about on those, which was great fun and easy to do with such light traffic.

The manager of the hotel is reguarly around and is a lovely guy who knows who each of his guests are and always stops for a chat with you.

I can't recommend this hotel enough, with it's fantastic people, the amazing food, the lovely rooms and it really does deliver what it promises, and that you feel everything revolves around you.

You should also try the spa, they have specials every week which makes the treatments affordable, we had the traditional Thai massage, which was amazing and the girls in the spa are lovely too.

If you want a truely relaxing holiday, with great things to do, amazing food and the best service you can find, then this is the hotel for you.

Sharon and Dean Millwood

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The layana resort was one of the best small resorts that we have ever been to. Costs were reasonable and the staff friendly and well trained with the resort being quite small it was a friendly atmosphere. We were there out of season (late June) but the weather was ok with rain on a couple of days, however the resort contributes 1000 baht to rain days for activities at the resort which is a token compensation, but certainly brightens a damp day. Spa treatments were reasonable and hire rates for scooters we also competitive. This is a couples only resort which meant that it was relaxed, private and no kids allowed so the pool area to be much more relaxing. We recommend the resort to you if you are in that part of Thailand.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Jakob in Defereggen, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were here in November 2010 and we booked this hotel over sheraton Krabi, due to the fantastic reviews.
We were 100% satisfied with the service from friendly personel, food was good, location and on site dive school where we completed our Open water dive course.

We were totally satisfied here and can only add to the positive ratings.
We were so happy we are returning here November 2012 with friends.
Thank you Layana staff for one of the best holidays we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bellafiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just as others have said this is an excellent resort and, at least in the low season, it is very good value for money. I really liked the garden settings room we had and glad that I did not pay for ocean front.

Perhaps by way of saying something slightly different I make a couple of comments on peripheral matters. Fristly I find there is no problem driving around rural Thailand so quite recommend it, this gives you lots of freedom to explore the island and in our case after a week on Ko Lanta we drove around to Phuket and continued the exploring. Car Pick up in Krabi airport and drop off at Phuket airport. I did this with Budget, not saying this is the cheapest but certainly no problems with car or service and they also have GPS available (in English or Thai) so finding most anything is a breeze.

I also went diving with the team at the resort - Phoenix Dive and was really impressed. While quite relaxed Dave is extremely professional and made the whole experience a pleasure. I have been diving on and off for 25 years and perhaps a bit more cautious as I get older, when I learnt that Dave was a navy and commercial diver prior to becoming a recreational dive instructor I felt very secure. I have a fair bit of experience in the aviation industry and know that there is nothing like standard operating procedure to keep things safe. Phoenix is a professional operation that I am happy to recommend.

Finally I looked and compared the weather/ocean details at Phuket and Ko Lanta for a month or so and note that in general the wave heights in Phuket are higher (and the beaches closed to swimming more often) on the other hand the water in Phuket is clearer (at least at Kata Noi where I did most of my swimming). BTW clearer does not mean less polluted, it is just there is a fine sandy silt in the water at Lanta. In the monsoon season lots of rubbish is washed up on the beaches in both places. Layana staff clean up the beach however.

No place is perfect, but Layana is very close and we loved it and will be going back.

Room Tip: If staying in the Moonsoon season with constant onshore wind and often choppy seas +/- a bit of rubb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapphire_beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,074 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing