We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home <3<3”
Review of Lanta Clayzy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanta Clayzy House
Ranked #49 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I lived at Clayzy house for 8 weeks and it was one of the best things I've done in my life! The people I met there our now part of my family forever! It is the sweetest little hippy commune! Lying in hammocks, listening to amazing beats and painting murals sounds like a dream to me! I miss them all everyday xxxx Clayzy House Koh Lanta is a MUST!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

The accomodation is VERY basic (you do get what you pay for) but the people there are fantastic. I was in a very serious motorbike accident on my second day in Koh Lanta and the team at Clayzy went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable, safe and happy.

I can't thank you enough for all of your help and I hope to be back one day - no more motorbikes though!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luchia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the second time we have back backed Thailand now, and have never stayed anywhere like this. We checked into our bamboo hut, which had holes in the wall and a swing door (no lock or security). The electricity was all linked to one switch, so it was all or nothing. In the day was fine, as soon as night comes, you can only use the fan or plugs if you have the light on- not ideal if you want to sleep. For the whole of the accommodation, there was only 1 West on toilet and 1 squat- which was ok if they had water. We stayed there for 2 nights, but had to check out early, as they run out of water for 24hrs. Unable to use the toilet or the shower, this was our sign to leave. The toilets where worse than Glastonbury, as well as the flies around it. Our poor friend had a stomach bug, he couldn't make the toilet and pooed on the floor and no one even noticed for 2 days.
Not to mention the clicky people who sat around the bar and didn't make you feel welcome.

Overall would not stay there again and would not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cloppi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were swayed by all the excellent reviews, but it was much more basic than we had expected. Our bamboo hut had lots of gaps so people could see in, and the doors just swing open with no locks, therefore no security, and some of the rooms don't even have doors, let alone locks. The huts are really small, with just a thin mattress on the floor with mosquito net around, but no bed sheets or towels.
The bathrooms are also pretty basic with gaps all around so again you can be overlooked.
The bar area is nice and socialable but you will hear all the noise so you can't have an early night if needed. They had an open-mic night followed by a party on the night we stayed and there was very loud music until 2:30am.
Easy walking distance to the beach, restaurants, shops etc.
Great if you are unconcerned about security or comfort and just want to meet people, but for a small amount more, you can find much better just down the main road.
We had booked for 4 nights, but left after one as we didn't feel safe leaving our bags there. First time we have ever checked out early from anywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

When you arrive at the Clayzy House, you'll notice you're not at a regular hostel. Here people interact with each other a lot, socialize a lot and welcome you immediately once you walk in the door.

This is a very special place where you'll feel at home, make great friends and have the best time of your life.

I've traveled through the SEA for 3 months, and the Clayzy House was the highlight of my whole trip, I planed to stay for a few days, but ended up staying about 18 days.. I'm dying to go back and enjoy the company of all the amazing people I know I will meet.

If you're traveling solo, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Clayzy house is like a travelers paradise on koh lanta. Its a little hostel/bar/farm down a dirt track off the main road on the best part of the island, Long Beach. The little strip itself has a few bars and restaurants with the same happy, hippy, traveller vibe but Clayzy out does them all in atmosphere, service and memorability. In 5 months travelling it was definitely the best hostel I stayed at. I'm not one for writing reviews normally but I really felt that this one was worth the write up. Neng is the nicest guy and he will make you feel really welcome and will go out of his way to help you. its like a little community in there and everyone is welcome to be part of it. This is all on top of the fact that Long Beach is a beauty of a beach with the best sunsets. Two weeks wasn't long enough I'm afraid! I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woollyhatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Loved both Koh Lanta and Lanta Clayzy House. Hand-built clay and bamboo jungle house just 3 mins walk to the Long beach. Neng-Neng the owner is super chilled and helpful; he obviously seems to cares about his guests and volunteers too - following up on late transfers, or getting good rates for tours, or ringing to check on you if you have been sick and are in hospital. He welcomes volunteers to help run and further develop the house when he has room, in exchange for board and often food. He is a fantastic cook too. I was not volunteering but did offer to do a painting and nearly completed it between diving and island tours during my 5 night stay. Creativity is everywhere and lovely people seem to stay here. Note rooms are basic on the whole, with the bamboo bungalows being the most "modern" but you come for the vibe, people and beautiful surroundings. The rooms met my needs, but it depends what you are after. Plenty of cute little bars and restaurants in walking distance. Recommend Mr Green on main road and Funky Fish on the beach. Little Pad Thai street stand but he minimart is awesome too! I felt safe and happy here - it is my new thai home and perhaps I'll be back one day! Note the Thai boxing arena is up the road, so if you struggle with noise try to avoid staying on Thai boxing nights as the show is super loud, or get earplugs! Spiny the dog and the two cats are lovely and affectionate too.

Room Tip: More expensive but still super cheap rooms have doors which you could padlock (but there is no need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashabagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,498 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Clayzy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Clayzy House

Address: 237 M.3 Baan Saladan, Long Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $3 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique backpacker hostel, 100 metres from Long Beach on Koh Lanta, close to all amenities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing