We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Khao Mai Kaew Cave

Khao Mai Kaew Cave
Ranked #15 of 46 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Don't miss out on the extraordinary experience of climbing through this huge cave. It's scary and hot and so exciting.

Be ware though, that you must be in ok physical shape to complete to tour. It's not for small kids, and you need to wear good shoes and clothing that you don't mind getting dirty!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DummeDitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    67
    18
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun if you are fit and like to get muddy!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We made a trip to the cave in January, not really knowing what to expect. To our surprise it ended up being pretty fun!

We had a somewhat difficult trek (kindof steep at points) into the jungle until we arrived at the cave. We were given headset flashlights and escorted down a ladder into a dark hole. At this point we were thinking "what the hell have we gotten ourselves into... you want me to go IN THERE?!" but luckily it wasnt scary at all, just really dusty and muddy (you will be covered in mud from head to toe... guaranteed). Definitely worth checking out if you have an extra day to spare in Ko Lanta.

If you are afraid of being inside of a dark cave, climbing steep ladders and crawling on your hands and feet... then this is not for you. :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lobna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Crap its another Scam”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Two hour trip which is very boring. Locals trying to milk the tourists for as much as possible, don't bother

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandaCatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hot, expensive and worth it”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

300 THB fee. Steep climb up dried out waterfall to cave. Cave with some nice limestone formations, but not that many compared to other caves. Sometimes narrow, sometimes big rooms. Several climbs on ladders. Would have gotten lost without guide. Warm inside the cave. Would not recommend to children under 12 years, claustrophobics or very big people. Watch your head and your step! Tour took about 2 hours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Real Adventure!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was truly brilliant- the caves are magical. However, you need to be prepared for a 2 hour adventure, climbing through rabbit holes and a guide that might just disaapear, making it feel almost scary at moments

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khao Mai Kaew Cave also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Khao Mai Kaew Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing