We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel, amazing spa, who are the people who found faults with this hotel? :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, amazing spa, who are the people who found faults with this hotel? :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Seriously never been to such a beautiful location. The pool at the top of the resort looks down over the resort and right to the stunning sea. Half the time my friend and I were there by ourselves (we were there during the riots in Bangkok/ easter which might have put some people off though). It's the only place I've ever been where a waiter will wade into the pool to offer you some fruit. The spa was really amazing, you have your own private room, with private outside tub for a bath before your treatment. We'd spent a lot of our money on the accomodation so could only afford one treatment each (£50 for an hour treatment), but it was worth it for the experience. There is a little shack just down the beach though that does really good massages (and manicures/pedicures etc), with a view of the sea and the sound of the ocean for about £4 so we went there almost every day instead.

Similarly, the food in all restaurants was great, we really liked the restaurant on the beach which had a really great atmosphere and cocktails. It's not a resort for late night partying (pretty quite by 10:00), but the bars down the beach stay open later if you want something a bit more lively and we did love the relaxation. Similarly, there were a few restaurants down the beach that were much cheaper than the restaurants at the resort so we tended to have lunch there and save our money for the evening.

If I had to find a fault I'd say that you sometimes had to have a bit of a hunt for a waiter in some areas of the resort, particularly up by the top pool. But as half of of the time we were there by ourselves, it would have felt a bit OTT to us having a waiter standing there all day in case we felt like a snack. Staff were all really polite and lovely for beginning to end. I haven't stayed at hundreds of five star resorts, so perhaps there are things that we didn't notice that others would, but for us it was perfect. There was also plenty to do and staff would organise excursions, but it was such a nice place we mostly just wandered around the resort. I almost feel like its a shame I've already been as think it would make a great honeymoon resort.

The airport pick-up also makes you feel like a celebrity, the air conditioned car with drinks on ice for you, the speed boat ride past beautiful rocky outcrops to the island... wow!

I've never left a review before, but felt like a wanted to leave one for this hotel, particularly becase I was amazed anyone ever left a bad review!

If you can afford it, book it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhippy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    236
    52
    34
    7
See reviews for
354
1,273
37
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We ate at the Seven Seas restaurant and found the service very slow - having said that the staff were very kind. We were one of the first tables into the restaurant and the last to leave as we did not get our starters for over an hour. The food was very good.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlisonDykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

This trip report is based on Pool Villa.

Where do I start, absolutely everything about our stay was 5*.
On check-in flower necklace given, refreshing cool lime cocktails and cold towels. Room was not ready so had to wait for a bit. Went to pool bar where we had an amazing smoothie.
We were supposed to stay 2 nights in beach pavillion suite and 2 nights in private pool villa. When we got to our room we were extremly pleased, it was luxurious, very nicely decorated, everything you would expect from 5* resort. Then we noticed that one of the air-cons didn't work, mentioned it to turndown service and when we got back from our dinner, received call from the reception that they can't fix it so will have to change room. After only mentioning that in 2 days we are moving to pool villa, we were upgraded there straight away, with no extra charge.
When we got to the pool villa, we realised how amazing this resort is. If Beach Pavillions are luxurious that this is truly amazing.
Breakfast is out of this world, everything you could possibly think of, they've got it. Try Egg Pimalai, it is a must.
What makes this place even more amazing is the service, never in my life have I stayed in a hotel that made me feel more valued and special.

If you can afford it (it is very expensive if you pay the full price) definetely go there.
Hotel food is very price but down the beach there are 4-5 cheap restaurants. It is worth to order lunch delivered to your villa one day.
Hotel spa is pricey for Thailand but worth every single baht.

I am trying to think of one negative and seriously cannot find it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lehovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed at the Pimalai over New Year. From the moment we were picked up at our hotel in Krabi to the moment we left from Krabi airport we were treated like royalty. We had to keep pinching ourselves to make sure it was all real. The pools were beautiful, the beach location amazing and as for the staff, we could not praise them highly enough.
The rooms were spotlessly clean as were the grounds and all public rooms. We only had breakfast here and the choice was fantastic. We chose to eat at local restaurants, partly because of the price but also for the experience. Same, same but different was a beautiful location, food was good and it's only a couple of minutes walk down the beach. At the other end of the beach atr several other restaurants and a small 7/11 which was quite handy for the odd magnum and also fresh milk for my tea. Apparently, Pimalai is Thai for heaven, and it is.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186220Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed here for 13 nights in November

Pro's
- Beautiful location.
- Good rooms / Good gym.
- Good pool / free wifi

Con's
- Very expensive - water & alcohol.
- Staff not always the best trained - forgotten orders and some nights a complete mess.
- Management need to up their game given the cost per night.

This is a beautiful place and is defo 5 star but in danger of dropping to 4 star if management do not fix staffing problems in restaurants.

Great DVD collection, basketball court, gym & sea.

All restauarants were good - thai was the best - the twice weekly beach buffets were not nice and overpriced.

Thwere is a nice spot for lunch up in the 7 seas and the 7 seas itself is nice with good quality food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

It was all so perfect that's it's hard to pick out one thing about our stay at Pimalai to start off by praising. The staff were always lovely and the huge smiles seemed genuine. It took a bit of getting used to all the wais (when people put there hands together, palm to palm, in front of themselves to greet you - are they told to do this or do they do it naturally - does anybody know?)

The food was excellent, particularly the pizza (OK, I know it sounds ridiculous to come all the way to Thailand to eat pizza, but I happen to prefer pizza to spicy food), and our Deluxe room was always spotless. We got an upstairs room (they come in blocks of four, 2-up and 2-down) quite near the beach, which was one of the better ones, thanks to our travel agent Andaman Sky, with whom we also booked places in Ao Nang and Koh Yao Noi. Pimalai was the most luxurious part of our honeymoon, the other 2 places were more about doing adventurous stuff.

Maybe the best thing about Pimalai is the location, which is unbeatable - Kantiang beach is uncrowded and clean, and theer are a couple of fun beach bars at the other end of the beach - thankfully not too close though.

Had a great time, would book again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehobbs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed in Pimalai for 3 nights and were extremely disappointing overall with the hotel and level of service. This is at best an average 3 star resort with 5 star prices. In my opinion it is often the little personal touches that make a resort 5 star of which at Pimalai sadly there were none.
On the positive side, the beach and location are stunning and for this reason I would recommend going to Koh Lanta. The spa as well was wonderful and could not have been any better.
However, the rooms look very tired, the bathroom in particular is small with very worn tiles and a dingy feel.
The level of customer service definitely does not reflect that of a 5 star hotel. While we were willing to accept a level of language difficulty, it took an enormous amount of time to communicate simple instructions to the front desk reception and some members of staff really did struggle to understand very much english. Also aside from the language issues, the staff were not helpful and definitely need some formal training on customer relations.
The prices of the food were extremely expensive. We have not complained about this at other five star resorts as the quality usually matches the price and you expect to pay a premium at such resorts. However, the quality of the food at Pimalai was so bad, we really did feel that the prices could not be justified in any way. We also tried the room service menu and the burger we ordered was barely cooked and cold inside. In the end we went to "Same same but different" which is just next door on the beach for lunch. The prices are far cheaper and the food and drinks of a much better quality.
When we checked out we noticed other customers complaining about similar issues. Clearly management are aware of all the issues but as Pimalai is so widely marketed do not feel they need to do anything about it.
My advice- definitely go to Koh Lanta but do not stay at Pimalai as there must be far better resorts at a fraction of the price! From reading trip advisor, Layana looks like a much better option- we wish we had tried it instead!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Property: Pimalai Resort and Spa
Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing