We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ko Lanta
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,862)
Filter reviews
2,863 results
Traveler rating
2,460
290
63
40
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,460
290
63
40
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seas restaurant pool villa rak talay krabi airport private jetty the banyan tree why not bar upper part upper pool spiced rice our honeymoon the upper level deluxe room thai restaurant koh haa boat transfer the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,863 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pimalai was hands down the best resort we have ever stayed at - this is of course due to the incredible location and beauty of the resort, the food, drinks, cleanliness etc. but more than anything the STAFF. I have never had the pleasure of staying at a resort with such incredible staff. Every person was so friendly and anticipated our every need and truly made this paradise. It was the little touches that mattered, including every staff person pausing whatever they were doing (even those just cleaning outside) to stop and smile and say good morning or good afternoon. Every waiter we had was so friendly and helpful and fun! We loved the restaurants and got to experience the surf and turf Saturday buffet our first night which was delicious. They also had a great live band and fire show. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've had with fresh fruit, meat, juice, eggs made to order and so many different pastries. We also had the pleasure of meeting the general manager during our stay who was so friendly and we also got to see his interactions with the staff, who he greeted by name and gave a hug every morning, which really showed what a wonderful group the staff are including their manager. The rooms were beautiful and clean and they had a nice fresh fruit basket and bottle of wine for the new year free of charge. Cannot say enough good things about our stay here, the only negative part was that we didn't stay longer! Will definitely be back someday and if you are in Koh Lanta and need some relaxing time, please stay here you will not regret it.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 175ashnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at Pimalai, arriving Xmas Day and staying in a Beachfront villa.

Pros
Villa clean, comfortable and spacious with plenty of drinking water and well maintained.
Set on beach, so stunning views
Overall, beach itself is quiet with bar staff providing drinking water periodically through the day
Breakfasts very good selection.
Beach bar - Rak Talay - good selection of food and drink but never ate there in the eves as disliked smoking area (see Cons)
Thai restaurant - Rice N Spice - our preferred restaurant in evening. Menu unchanged from last visit. Overall, pretty good, disliked buffet this visit (see Cons)
Diving well organised
Staff very friendly and helpful
Grounds well maintained

Cons
As drinking water abundant in room, why do you have to pay extra for water in the restaurants?
Thai buffet evenings not as good as before. Large selection of Appetisers, which were good but confusing re mains as not made clear you have to order what main you want from a few select options.
Thai buffet dance show lacked the detail and introduction that existed before. Some diners even left part way through show which we never saw happen before.
Rak Talay beach restaurant allows smokers to smoke around diners, including children and babies, having meals. Pretty odd when you consider you can't smoke on the beach.
Smoking on the beach happened with Pimalai guests, including people puffing away on cigars!
Lobby bar open from 3pm to midnight lacked a bar person that could make cocktails, so some guests waited 20 minutes for drinks?!?! The other beach bar, with happy hour at 9.30pm to 10.30pm, meant it was crammed so pretty hard to have a quiet after dinner drink.
Gym equipment needs steam clean.

Overall, a very nice resort where staff want to help and well laid out with good facilities.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mitch013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing stay, everything was perfect. Food, rooms, pools, drinks. Staff were really amazing, and always helpfull. Will definitely come back.

Also great boat trips, small shower and toilet are on boats, which is incredibly helpfull in this weather and conditions.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 859luk_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Heaven - this is it.

We had the fortune of having booked a one bedroomed hillside pool villa and loved it. The quality of the build, the services and the view is ridiculously good. Our experience was so good we desperately tried to extend out stay, but the resort was fully booked, and for good reason!

We are seriously considering coming back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Aberdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

This hotel is fantastic. Everything about it is great. It is really small luxury hotel.
The best part is the staff which is always smiling and willing to make your stay the best possible.
But the food … it is really like Michelin star restaurants. It is not good, it is more than perfect. And the food and beverage manager Mirko is definitely responsible for that.
He is a great person and the perfection about the menus and the food quality are amazing.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as one of the best in Thailand and maybe in whole Asia.
Everything is perfect in this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PETRA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews