We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortably escape”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Never been such as this comfort while escaping away from city and especially my country. I am living in beach area as well, but this island and it's beach so so beautiful. Not many people were on the beach while we were there, so beach is mine, my son said! Pimalai has beautiful landscape even it's more than 10 years build. Breakfast not many choices but perfect for me. Try the mango!
Meet Khun Beatle at library if you don't know what you are going to do here. First class also for her who was processing my check in flawless. Can't complain, it's just beautiful and comfort place to escape

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Sawasdee Diah W - thank you for your nice review ; indeed nice to have a beach for your own, is it!
Resort is quite spread and even when busy , you can get your own place for your own. Cannot find that much nowadays in many beaches of Thailand. Thanks for praising Miss Beatle ; i am sure she will be happy to read about that. Thank you for staying with us and look forward having you back sometimes in the future . Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,703
    238
    52
    34
    7
See reviews for
357
1,280
37
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stopped at the pimalai for 9 days and had a great time. The speed boat and greeting upon arrival were excellent. We ordered drinks and food from our sun loungers and had dinner in the beach restaurant. The food was lovely and the grounds of the hotel are kept immaculate. We also visited the spa for a massage and scrub- very relaxing. I think that the staff should be commended for all being so friendly, smily and attentive - literally every single one of them were lovely.
We were sad to leave this slice of heaven and hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Sawasdee Donna H - thank you so much for your review. "Fautless" ...well we are trying to be ; can still do even better, i think...and will work on that. Thank you so much for praising the crew; well deserved for them. They will surely be happy to know that they/ We are on the right path. Will keep that slice of heaven as it is for your next return . Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited the Pimalai Resort and Spa in March this year and had an incredible time. From start to finish every aspect of the trip was wonderful. The speed boat journey and arrival at Pimalai makes an exciting fun start. Once at the resort we were instantly brought to our accommodation by the lovely and charmingly named Beatle (her dad is a big Beatles fan!). The rooms were really beautiful with a pool and a gorgeous view looking out to sea. Paradise.

You feel instantly relaxed and excited about your holiday time ahead. We rotated having dinner at one of the three restaurants at Pimalai (all are excellent) and some of the small local places along the beach which was always fun. Pimalai have trips to other islands, scuba diving etc but one of the things we really liked was they didn't try push these on you. Everything was extremely professional yet relaxed.

The star for us at Pimalai was Franck the manager. Every morning at Breakfast he would visit every table and say hello and ask how you were and if there was anything more he could do to make your stay more enjoyable. He's passionate about Pimalai and really cares about the guests.

We've been to some of the best hotels in the world and we can honestly say The Pimalai is up there with the best of them if not the best. We're already planning a trip back later in the year and are counting down the days.

Room Tip: Pop down the beach to The Why Not Bar. Our favourite watering hole in the world. Great music and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobCassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Sawasdee RobCass from London; thank you so much for your very nice review. credit to the crew , they make it happen. And yes we have "The Beatle" on board; and not many resorts in the world can claim that nowadays ! Beatle will be very happy to read your praise. Tkks again and look forward seeing you both back as to some stage/ and for a couple of cold beers late in the evening at the why not next door ! Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Having stayed at four 5 star hotels in Thailand on our trip the Pimalai was by far the beat all rounder. Set on an idyllic beach remote and vast yet still managed to maintain an atmosphere in the hotel. It was a perfect mix of stillness and the feeling of been peaceful yet the hotel provided great restaurants and various activities for families and couples. We will definitely return to the pimalai hopefully soon with our families. We regret we didn't stay here longer instead of commercial phuket and samui.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Sawasdee Sophie P from Leeds ; thank you for your very nice review; The name “Pimalai’ is a derivation of the ancient Indian language of Sanskrit and translates, appropriately, as “A little patch of Heaven”; this is a reflection of the stunning natural beauty and tranquility that are found both within the resort and also in its surroundings. So i am delighted to read that you found that little patch of heaven - happy to read also that we come on top the other resorts you stayed in. We are not yet where we want to be but i guess we are on the right tracks. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to see you back. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have just returned from 12 wonderful nights at Pimalai. This was our third visit and once again we had a fabulous time there. While it is a bit of a journey from Canada, it is well worth the trip. Other locations that North Americans typically go to in the Caribbean, Mexico or Hawaii just don't compare.

We highly recommend the resort's efficient minivan and boat transfer, which gives you a scenic water journey through the islands. There's no better way to arrive at Pimalai.

The property continues to be beautiful and very well maintained. The food, both at the resort and in the village, was great. The Koh Ha snorkeling trip was lots of fun and the boat crew were very helpful. The spa is not to be missed.

We rented a car for a day from the resort, at a price that was very competitive. It is far safer than renting a motorcycle and much more comfortable way to see the island.

The staff at Pimalai are wonderful and we would like in particular to thank the team that provided breakfast to us every morning at the Seven Seas restaurant.

Thanks Franck, we will be back soon, plus one!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
RM21 - Saswadee & thank you for the review . Thks for returning and for praising the staff ; will be happy to see you back at some stage with extended family . Best wishes to both and my blessings for a healthy arrival. Sunny rgds from Lanta to both. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My friend and I just spent 4 nights at the lovely Pimalai. We arrived by the resort transfer which was so well organised, I would recomend this transfer to everyone as it is so convenient and worth every penny. We really enjoyed the resort"s pools which have amazing service where you can order drinks from your lounger! We did a snorkeling trip to Koh Haa which was great and hired a car from the resort to drive around the island which was pretty resonable. Breakfasts were utterly incredible with a massive selection. The food at the lower pool cafe was wonderful as well. The resort has a wonderful relaxed natural feel bout it. The only downside was on our last night the couple in the room above us who had only just arrived decided to have a VERY loud and VERY violent fight, which was very disturbing and really ruined our final night as it continued for hours! We were to scared to do anything as all we could hear was swearing, screaming and the smashing of things We left early the next morning. So just letting you know the rooms are not very sound proof at all and this sort of thing, although totally out of your control, can really put a sour taste on an otherwise fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionacatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Sawasdee Indonesie - Viele Danke! Thank you for great review & happy to read you enjoy being with us. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We just arrived back from our trip to Thailand. Our stay at Pimalai was the highlight!! Beautiful! Everything was wonderful. The service was personal and excellent. The rooms are very nice, roomy, clean and quiet. The view was really lovely from the balcony. The grounds are beautiful with many nice touches and lots of flowers. While walking around, there was always something nice to see! We even saw monkeys!
The infinity pools are lovely. Watching the sun set while sitting above the upper pool was breathtaking! The beach is wonderful and not many people there at any one time. While sitting at the pool or beach, cold water was brought and kept filled by the friendly waiters. They would also walk by with fresh fruit!
The buffet breakfast was wonderful as was all the food we had there. Those waiting on tables are very friendly and helpful as was all the staff. The attention to details was noticeable everywhere.
All in all, a wonderful stay at a piece of Paradise!
Dan and Marilyn ( Alberta, Canada )

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan and Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Dan & Marylin - Canada! - thank you for great review and happy to read that you like about everything while here...including monkeys...Indeed for those who will read this reply , we are surrounding by tropical forrest and and we have quite nice wildlife on the resort ; including variety of bugs, buzzing cicadas, fireflies, various types of frogs, toads, bats, ants, spiders, & lizards - "chinchoks", "tu-kaaaes", "flying dragon", "monitor" - and squirrels, brahminy kite hawks, various tiny birds and of course occasional coconut rats, snakes and monkeys - the cheeky Macaques & the cute & polite Dusky Langur - So you got to return to see all that again! Thks for staying with us; i know it is a long way from home! - Sunny rods from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Property: Pimalai Resort and Spa
Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing