We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited Pimalai with my parents in July 2013 for 4 days. This was my first trip to Thailand, and Pimalai was the highlight of the trip. The resort was incredibly beautiful, our room was perfection itself. But what blew us away was the amazing hospitality of the staff. from the General manager, to the executive chef and the staff who attended us during meals and drove us around - every one went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and cared for.

Transfer: the transfer to and from Krabi airport was seamless. although the transfer price is a little steep (about 1900 baht per person each way), it was very well executed and I would recommend.

Check in and room: We were taken directly to our pool villa. A member of the staff was there to greet us with garlands, complete check-in formality and offer us welcome drinks. the villa sits high on the hills, with a magnificent view of the sea and the forest. the rooms were impeccable. a small pool separates the bedroom and living room. We spent most of our afternoons in the pool.

Breakfast and dining: we had breakfast at seven seas every day. the food was fresh and had a lot of variety. Specially enjoyed the Congee rice. the dinner at Rak Talai was amazing. We also had dinner at the seven seas restaurant - but it left us a little underwhelmed.

Staff: I cannot say enough about the amazing hospitality we experienced during our stay. the General manager was usually around during breakfast to chat with the guests. My mother had sore throat and I asked for hot water for her on the first day during breakfast. the next few days, even before sitting down, we were asked if we needed hot water - they also made a concoction of mint and ginger with hot water for my mother. the executive chef - Mr. Pook - asked after her several times, and even left cough drops for her at the restaurant. i fell down and scraped my knee. the driver drove us to our villa and came back a few minutes later with a first-aid kit - voluntarily.

Room Tip: Pool Villa.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudeyna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,087)
There are newer reviews for Pimalai Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 2,087 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Pimalai in one of the Pool Villas with my wife and daughter end July 2013. It was an incredibly pleasant experience. The location is stunning and the accommodation excellent, but perhaps the best thing about Pimalai is the fantastic staff. From the General Manager, the Executive Chef to the staff who drove us around in the carts, every single person went much beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome and ensure our well being and comfort. Every step of our stay, from landing at Krabi for transfer to the resort, our stay itself and the transfer back to Krabi was seamless The buffet breakfast was something special. I have not seen such attention and service in a buffet breakfast anywhere else in the world. I must make special mention of the Executive Chef, who was always around to help us at meal times and who took the trouble of personally arranging medicines for my wife when she was a little unwell.

We visited Pimalai during what is called the lean season. I hope the same high standards are maintained during the busy season. Based on our own experience, Pimalai is a resort I recommend highly.

Room Tip: Pool Villas are perhaps best for families
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayub Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, and was the best hotel in our Thai trip by far! Great place to lay at the beach, excellent installations, location.. and of course, the best hotel staff ever, kind and respetfull. We have a great time here. We totally recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at pimalai with my wife and 2 teenage children beautiful beach fantastic staff and a phenomenal breakfast it is a truly special place we arrived from Singapore pick up from Krabi was seamless short hop on the boat to Koh Lanta then a short bus trip to the resort all ran smoothly cant recommend thus hotel highly enough

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Pimalai in Koh Lanta. This year we are staying in 6 different resorts around Thailand as we have done for the previous 2 years. We have travelled as a party of 5 with two teenagers aged 17 and 19.

We have stayed in many quality 5* hotels around the world. From arrival at the Pimalai jetty, we were met and greeted by the private speedboat transfer staff who all showed warm hospitality and gave service with a smile. The speedboat was a 35 minute luxurious transfer.

Pimalai is built on a hillside from standard rooms to cliff top pool villas and  beach villas. The rooms were extremely clean and felt very comfortable. The service received from arrival to departure was impeccable by every member of staff throughout the day and night. They were  genuine, sincere and showed courteous hospitality for the duration of our stay. 
The service was faultless unlike many of the other hotels we have stayed in. Nothing seemed to be a problem, every staff throughout the day and night greeted you. There was complimentary water and fresh fruit throughout the day on the beach and poolside given with a smile.
 In the evening restaurant, Kanna (our waitress) could not be more warm, caring  and helpful and this made my sons nut allergy so much less of a problem. She was professional, courteous and genuine with the service she provided.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed faultless vacation, service/standards - look no further as this hotel truly deserved it's title as "One of the small luxury hotels of the world" What more can I say but thank you to all the staff and especially Frank - the general manager, who was always floating around to ensure the guests are well looked after and welcomed. Only one disappointment, Frank could not provide a complimentary private jet we requested. Only joking! - he had a great sense of humour. (I hope)

All  hotels of the world - please take note and learn from Pimalai's leading footprint of the standards and customer service  all hotels should endeavour to attain, to achieve the ultimate goal " customer satisfaction" thank you all.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidaylover177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is without a doubt the finest place I ever stayed at in Thailand ( and I stayed at quite a few places in my time). The location is just too much : absolutely by the beach, no streetnoise, no tour groups crowding the area. Beautiful resort layout, luxurious room. We'd also like to thank the team at Andaman Sky who recommended this resort – we had never heard of it. We wouldn’t have been able to stay at Pimalai if it wasn’t for their special deal on prices. We recommend the front row Pavillion Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

our -very recent!- second stay at Pimalai confirmed the good impressions we had after our previous visit (quite a while ago). And again our travel agent ( internet agency called Andaman Adventures ) came through with getting us the most impressively located pool villa at the resort.

This time my wife brought her parents along to see the island and the resort, so we went for the largest units they have : 3-bedroom beach villa ( we dont like putting the kids in the same room with us, we're trying to recharge our batteries when we go on holiday )

the 3-bedroom unit seemed even more luxurious than our previous 2-bedroom villa. it just keeps getting better ! We did some scuba diving this time round, however i can't really recommend it when we came (mid-June). Our travel agent warned that the visibility would be reduced when coming during June, we should have taken that more seriously i guess. Aside from that one (fairly minor) downer, the experience at Pimalai itself was again astounding. I can see us coming back here again.

Room Tip: we had unit 806. highly recommended !
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godden_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,475 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $127 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing