We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 5-star classic , dont miss it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is without a doubt the finest place I ever stayed at in Thailand ( and I stayed at quite a few places in my time). The location is just too much : absolutely by the beach, no streetnoise, no tour groups crowding the area. Beautiful resort layout, luxurious room. We'd also like to thank the team at Andaman Sky who recommended this resort – we had never heard of it. We wouldn’t have been able to stay at Pimalai if it wasn’t for their special deal on prices. We recommend the front row Pavillion Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,218 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

our -very recent!- second stay at Pimalai confirmed the good impressions we had after our previous visit (quite a while ago). And again our travel agent ( internet agency called Andaman Adventures ) came through with getting us the most impressively located pool villa at the resort.

This time my wife brought her parents along to see the island and the resort, so we went for the largest units they have : 3-bedroom beach villa ( we dont like putting the kids in the same room with us, we're trying to recharge our batteries when we go on holiday )

the 3-bedroom unit seemed even more luxurious than our previous 2-bedroom villa. it just keeps getting better ! We did some scuba diving this time round, however i can't really recommend it when we came (mid-June). Our travel agent warned that the visibility would be reduced when coming during June, we should have taken that more seriously i guess. Aside from that one (fairly minor) downer, the experience at Pimalai itself was again astounding. I can see us coming back here again.

Room Tip: we had unit 806. highly recommended !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godden_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had stay at pimalai for 2 weeks,and that was not enough!!!! Weather was very comfortable from rainy to sunny days. We were upgraded as SLH member from deluxe to beachfront deluxe room. It was separately stand villa without pool,above the beach with breathtaking view and large terrace. Amazing!!! Breakfast was fantastic,4 kind of fresh juices,smoothies. Grand pimalai egg!! Dim-sum and many other delicious,always very fresh. Girls from breakfast was really friendly and positive. The price in hotel was reasonable. Quality and fresh of food was very high . In overall- pimalai resort really best of the best. Hotel with a big view. Untouched nature with wild life in cover of luxury. Respect to general manager and all team .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday here at Pimalai where the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Banyan Tree restaurant staff were the best in all aspects and the food was even better. Outside excretions are a must for snorkelling and if you have the time try to go to the Five Islands which you can see from the hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ammar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. The service us fantastic the view is stunning the rooms are gorgeous. I would sooo recommend it to family, couples .. Anyone that enjoys great hotels. The staff are fantastic took great care of us with a smile

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is just magical!!!!! We were a little frighted by the length of time it took to get there and the surroundings along the way but it was worth every minute of the 2 hrs it takes to get there from Krabi airport. We stayed in the most amazing villa on the hillside. Dinner on your terrace is a must!!!! Frank, the Manager and the entire staff always came by to say hello and make sure that everything was perfect. They also arranged a magnificent customary Thai wedding for us that was beyond our expectations. We will be back. We HIGHLY recommend Pimalai!!!!! This is a 5 star++++ resort all the way!!!!

Room Tip: Get the pool villa!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinnellaNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had my family come over from Europe for holidays and as I was able to organize some time off, I wanted to stay somewhere special away from the tourist spots like Pattaya, Phuket or Samui.

Koh Lanta is definitely more quiet, specially during the rainy season end of May. As for the weather, I do not get why none of the travel agencies recommend this time as for our need it was just perfect. Sunny during the day, raining in the evening. And as a big extra, the hotel was almost empty because of the low season.

The great experience already begun at the airport, being picked up by their van and driven to their own boat. The scenic boat ride was just stunning and just made you more excited about what was to come.

We stayed in a two bed room beach villa which came with a private pool, two bedrooms with indoor and outdoor showers and a huge living/dining area which was open. This was great to enjoy the evenings after the superb meals or even have in room dining.

The staff overall was smiling and guest oriented, the only thing we have to fault is their SPA. While the massages have been superb, their beauty treatments like Manicure/Pedicure have not been good at all. It was more like trainees trying to do the work and it was just aweful.

Despite this incident we have had a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get either a pool villa with a fantastic view or a beach villa close to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Pascal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
618 reviews
9 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
491 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $184 - $1,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing