We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pimalai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I booked to stay at the Pimalai for just 3 nights, with my boyfriend at the end of two weeks touring around Thailand and we loved it so much that we changed our plans to return home so we could stay for longer. The hotel is the perfect place to get away from everything and totally relax. We stayed in a resort room, which is their most basic but it was spacious and beautifully done with a wonderful bathroom. The hotel is very in keeping with its environment which is half of its charm. It is set on a magnificent beach, one of the best on the island. The staff were excellent and very friendly and dinner at the seven seas restaurant is a must. A very romantic evening. The hotel is quite out on its own so not for those looking for lots of entertainment in the evenings as you are limited to whats in the hotel. There is a small village about a ten minutes away but with no street lights, a walk at night is only for the brave but an easy stroll during the day. However the hotel can organise car hire and the island is very easy to navigate. I have travelled quite extensively and stayed in hotels to suit all budgets but can quite honestly say this hotel is one of the best i have ever experienced, Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
There are newer reviews for Pimalai Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2008

The Pimalai does not feel as a chain hotel. It is a luxury resort, relaxed with excellent service that is not owned by a chain. This is what we are always aftr when we travel. Excellent spa and an amazing secluded location. The food is divine. What else can anyone ask for!!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GSfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My husband and myself just spent 7 nights in a 1 bedroom pool villa at Pimalai. We had great time. The villa is really big and pleasant. On one side you have a bedroom and a huge bathroom, and on the other side the living room, a kitchen and a shower room. In the middle, your own private swimming pool w/a view on the bay and the sea.

The pros
The manager is a french guy reallly great, who will help you for anything, always there checking that everything is fine. The staff is great, always smiling and trying to do its best, even if they do not speak very well English for most of them. Should you have any issue, just ask to talk w/Philippe, the manager.

In the villa, your fruit platter and biscuits are refilled every day.
The huge pool in the pool villas resort is really calm and pleasant.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic.

The cons
For sure the pool villas are far from everything but that's not such an issue as you have on-request shuttle available to transfer you. Anyway, in the whole resort, you have to walk quite a long way, going down and up to and from the beach, so if you have pb for walking, I will not recommend this place.

We were a bit dispointed by the restaurants, the food is not so good for the price.

Tips
- rent a car one day to drive all over the island, to go to Ben Saladen to do your shopping and to visit old ko lanta and to have diner to a restaurant on the road after the 7/11 shop, 2 or 3 kms from the hotel, called the jungle restaurant for a great view, great food and great service.
- go for diner to same same but different restaurant, next to the hotel, great food and less expensive than the hotel, 10 mn walk by the beach. Make reservation
-avoid any external tour to koh rok, really try to do it through the hotel. We miss the excursion organised by the hotel, so we had to do it by ourself, we booked w/ one of them but they are all the same, doing the same thing in the same time, we were 5 boats snorkelling in the same place, having lunch at the same time. When you see so many people and boat, you wonder how the fish can still be there. I understood that hotel do it in much better conditions.
-avoid the elephant trekking organised by the hotel, too far and too much people. Maybe try the one close to the hotel, before the national park when you rent the car.
- should you need to go to the 7/11 shop or to get cash from the ATM machine, it is much shorter to go by the beach (15 mns walk) than by the road.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Paris75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

This resort is truly remarkable. We staid 12 days in the resort and 2 days in another resort(Centara, Krabi).

The trip was our first to Thailand, but we will certainly visit the Pimalai next we go to Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikkelDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

The hotel amenities are great : for example the spa keeps up with the expected standard of this hotel. The major issue of Pimalai is a lack of service that you would expect in such hotel (member of the Small Luxury Hotel) - therefore the relatively high price of this hotel doen't correspond to what this hotel is advertising.

Stayed: January 2008
7  Thank JMBGENEVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We had one week there in a De lux room. Very smart Hotel considered to be the best on the island. Very good room but a lot of up and downhill to Beach and Restaurants. Good excercise but not for the elderly or unfit! Rumour amongst the guests the restaurants were a little disapointing. We tried the beach restaurant which we found poor considering this Hotels 5 star Rating. The top Restaurant was excellent and the setting first class. Try SameSame restaurant on the beach. Inexpensive with great Thai food and wonderfull atmosphere. Many of the Pimalai guests could be found there each night! A lot of Hotel Rules and advice which we felt a little over the top but that was our opinion. We hired motor bikes to make our escape each day. The Hotel boat trips will only go with a minimum number each day despite there cost .As a result ours was cancelled. We booked elsewhere. We would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AMEESBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

My wife and I spent 11 days travelling the Andaman coast with our last three nights spent at the Pimilai, I wish we could only have stayed longer! Having just spent previous days at The Centara Resort and Spa near Ao Nang it was the 'little' things that made the 'big' difference and truly marked it out as 5 star.
We were met at the Pimilai pier in the north of Koh Lanta and taken by boat down the Eastern coast of the island (great because your return journey is on the western side) with complimentary soft drinks and water on the way. The check in was a seamless process.After being met with flower garlands we were taken by golf buggy to the lobby ( another drink and cold towel) and taken swiftly to our room.
We had chosen a Garden View Deluxe Room (136) which remarkably had a view of the beach and sea just through the trees! It is worth making sure that you book a first floor room as the ones below had their balconies completely overgrown by foliage and greenery,great if your a botanist. The room itself was smaller than some other 5 star resorts that I have stayed in but well equipped with bath overlooking the bedroom, seperate shower, dvd player, mini bar etc. The balcony was perfect for watching the sun go down with a G&T, by the way if you like tipple bring your own as the mini bar fridge is big enough to cater for larger bottles, unlike other hotels which ensure enough space just for whats on offer.
Our days were spent lounging by the lower infinity pool or on the double bed style loungers under the trees on the beach. The attentive and smiling staff were always on hand to supply complimetary drinking water, fruit and chilled juices/sorbet at the hotter times of the day, which again sets the place apart. We had lunch at the poolside and beachside restaurants which had good quality Thai and Western fare on offer and again great service. On our last evening we decided to sample the delights of the Seven Seas restaurant in the Villa resort, which whilst being a fantastic setting and having an extensive choice of wine, had cuisine which could only be described as average.
After reading other reviews on T.A about the Same Same But Different Restaurant we ventured about 200 yards down the beach ( tip take the torch in your room) on our first night and proceeded to eat there on the next night and have our last lunch before leaving. If you enjoy Thai food you will love it, the red curry with fish was highly recommended and a good deal cheaper than the hotel.
My wife sampled the luxuries of the spa and at dusk had a mud bath in a private outdoor setting followed by a thai massage, perfect,i'm told, for the after beach windown. Whilst you can get cheaper massages all over the beaches in Thailand it was worth it for the truly extravagant surroundings and attention to detail.
All in all a fantastic place with a relaxing and serene environment that helps. I'm sure its the things that you don't immediately notice until you return that make it the place it is.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Samwise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,477 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $146 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing