We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Lanta
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was a very peaceful and quiet stay, perfect for relaxing.
This hotel has the mot gorgeous gardens and swimming pool. The design of this resort is breath-taking.

There are no children or big families which makes this place very very attractive.

The rooms are pretty basic, if you look at the design it is a concrete room/bungalow, with excellent bathroom. If you like nature but with a little more luxury than a bamboo hut, then this is perfect for you.

The service is wonderful and their iced coffees are delicious.

I recommend to stay at this place and have food and drinks at the Time for Lime restaurant and bar right at the end of the beach. The food at this hotel is great but can be a little expensive and it can be a little too quiet.

Room Tip: I think they are all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma23weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    25
    17
    8
See reviews for
23
160
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pretoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Costa Lanta is situated on the best and most beautiful beach on the island. It’s beautifully designed. It offers excellent value for money. It has a stunning pool. The activity centre is very well run and very helpful.

“First-timers” would love it.

Seasoned travellers would see through the cracks.

Sadly, I suspect their owners have fallen “out of love” with this little jewel and left it to its own devices. When I visited 11 years ago it was clearly loved, fresh, hip and happening and very well maintained.

It’s still hip…but no longer fresh and no longer happening. It’s indeed very neglected, and knowing Thailand and its amazing ever-smiling-people, we got the distinct impression that the staff unfortunately seemed not to be very happy or motivated and they were not having fun at all…although they did try very hard to serve and to be correct, but very serious, without that Thai signature x-factor when it comes to people.

We stayed in a luxury beach front cottage, which is in fact not beach front, but behind the pool, behind the little mosquito infested river. Lovely large room with two huge floor-to-ceiling windows on either side of the bed…only privatised by two blinds on the outside of the patio on either side…so, if you have a bit of a voyeurism deep inside you, you would love this as people walking past your room would be able to see right onto your bed through the outside blinds on either side…I think we did give a poor man and his wife the fright of their lives…or fulfilled a secret fantasy…when they wanted to have a peek into our room one afternoon and saw us taking an afternoon “nap” ….in our defence, we did close all available blinds for privacy, but our “audience” still had a full clear view of the bed through the open spaces between the blinds…!

If you are young – or even young at heart - and on a budget - this is your best bet!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koosjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

After 3 nights (too many) in Phi Phi, we were so relieved to arrive at Costa Lanta. The vibe is so relaxed and serene, and the property itself is just stunning. I can't understand these negative reviews. We had 3 people in 1 room (including an extra bed), and didn't mind the size. I appreciated the lack of TV, etc. because you're really encouraged to spend time outside both day and night. We did not find mosquitoes to be an issue at all. We enjoyed using the hotel's kayak--they're very nice in the shop. Recommend dinner at Hans', down to the left on the beach.Super fun staff. Genuinely one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed at. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Wow.. What a place! Costa Lanta is just beautiful. The architecture alone was stunning, then there was the gardens, then the restaurant, then the rooms.. This hotel was just everything and more than what we had expected. The food is really lovely and the drinks are top notch! We spent our time there in a garden room which we loved and unfortunately didn't get the chance to see any of the other rooms available but where very happy with ours. The staff where all very friendly and helpful and assisted us with everything we could ask for. The beach (a few metres from the pool) was just beautiful and after travelling all over Koh Lanta - we agreed that it was our favorite.
We will be returning to stay here again I am sure!

Room Tip: We had a Garden room - be sure to have bug spray to keep mosquitos from eating you. All of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 6 night in the hotel. The experience on the beginning was shocking, I didn't like the boxes were the rooms are for few reason: are tiny, you don't have any other space to walk inside, is just the bed, no tv (I know ... but I like to watch something at night), no chocolate on fridge, just chips but above all the most problematic thing on this hotel are mosquitos, and because the toilet is outside the box/room if you are planning to pee in the middle of the night you will literally be attack by an horde of them.

I know the minimalistic design is cool and looks good, but having stagnant water all around is not a good idea, is the perfect place for Mosquitos to be, and Thailand have dengue is not a joke.

The piscina on the other hand is great the best of the hotel, but ... they don't clean the sun beds, and there are a lot of birds around, so.. I come back to this hotel? No. I recommend it? I think is a very expensive hotel (VIP boxes are £236 normal £127) search for a better one.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I can't say enough about Costa Lanta. We originally booked for 2 nights but extended to 4 after hearing everyone telling us not to go to Phi Phi etc. It was the best decision ever, and one of the high-lights of our 3 week long vacation throughout SE Asia. It was the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of the island. I wish we could've stayed another 4 nights, but at least we have something to look forward to next time ;)

The layout and design of this place is stunning, from the fold out walls of our rooms to the infinity pool to the open restaurant. It's not a 5-star luxury hotel and I think the people who appreciate and love this place ultimately understand that. It's a certain minimalist aesthetic. Yes, I agree that the standard rooms are too small. 4 more feet of space would have been great for luggage etc, but like someone else said here, you just sort of adjust to the space, mainly because you're in the rooms to sleep in that amazing canopied bed and shower. There's no reason to be in there because there's so much beauty outside on the grounds and beach.

I loved that there was an amazing infinity pool and the beach nearby, with many different sitting and lounging options. Food in the restaurant was good, but slightly over-priced, but that's ok because it was well located between many other great eateries - Maladee down the driveway, the last restaurant to the right of the hotel beach (best pad thai and mango w sticky rice), and the casual island vibey place next door.

Kanyarak, one of the owners, was very accommodating and friendly. She played hotel proprietor, concierge and then recommended loads of things in Bangkok for us. If I had to say one thing negative, it's that I wish the restaurant/staff spoke better English but that's minor to everything else.

Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights after a short trip to Phi Phi... What a relief to arrive here! Wonderful staff, food, pool and rooms. Travelled here as a couple and we loved the relaxed atmosphere. There were a few Mosquitos, but that's to be expected when staying in Thailand. Each night they spray your room, light a mosquito coil and prepare the beautiful mosquito net over your bed for you at dusk, just make sure you bring jungle formula or off and you will be just fine!

Make sure you visit the lovely beach bar just to the right of the hotel if you are standing on the beach as well as 'vee vaw' restaurant further up the beach and 'maladee' just outside the gate.

We will be back! Thanks so much

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kellinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
12.2 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Lanta

Property: Costa Lanta
Address: M1.Saladan,Krabi, 22, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Costa Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing