We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerising”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Costa Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Lanta
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mesmerising”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed (and actually are still staying while writing this) 16 nights from 24 December 2013 until 9 January 2014 at this captivating resort - the best on Klong Dao Beach on Koh Lanta.

The architecture and design allows for just 22 bungalows, tastefully located with proximity to each other, but allowing each to have their own 'space' and privacy. The keyword is space because the functional design of this wooden/concrete gem allows for people to feel as co-habitants of a harmonious, private and yet social congregation of hedonistic and life enjoying visitors.

Kids are not welcome at the resort, which is shame for families but a luxuryfor those without children. Guests come to this place for true relaxation and vacation and having visited the majority of the hotels on the 2 km stretch of Klong Dao Beach, it is easily judged the best place. The neighbouring place, Twin Lotus, aspires to be the high end spot on the beach but is much less attractive and more the traditional spa compared to Costa Lanta.

We stayed, and still stay, in bungalow number 105 and should have a Garden View Type B. There's more view of the parking and reception than garden, but we're not fussy about that since we practically only use the space for sleep. At first we were surprised to learn that the mono-bedroom + large outdoor'ish bathroom had so little or no closet space. The only closet can be found in the bathroom next to the safety box and mini-fridge (small freezer for ice cubes is part of the fridge but don't expect a fully fledged mini bar known from big standard hotels). This means that you are forced to optimise space as the bedroom is taken up by one large bed. The zen design and functional philosophy of the place follows you to your room. After 2 nights you stop thinking about it and start to live minimalistically and use the outside space, the beach and the bar. Like you should on a vacation. There are no TV's in the rooms, but the sunsets, ocean view and waves provide the cinematography and soundtrack you need.

Service is attentive, personal, respectful, amicable. Fresh towels are delivered to your room twice each day and the sleeping section of your bungalow is prepared for an anti-mosquito nighttime every afternoon. Housekeeping stops by, turns on the candles in the bathroom, sweeps the floors, puts down the mosquito net, sprays the room and turns on the aircon. Your one bedroom cocoon is now ready for a peaceful night with the soundtrack of exotic birds and morning cicadas.

Fully rested, breakfast consists of 4 different options and additional toast coffee/tea, fruit. It's ok, but after 10 mornings you may find yourself fantasising about the variety found in many Bangkok hotels. Again, the limited and restricted range of choice emphasise the place's Zen philosophy and helps customer balance their vacation calorie intake.

The place is on the beach and much of the wood starts to show a need for care and attention. The polished concrete stands majestic and contrasts well with the garden surroundings.

One element which travellers must consider is price of food and services at the resort. A beer is around 120 bath, but only 70 bath at the beach bar located 40 metres to the ritght of sun beds. A meal around 230 versus 150 at the beach bar...you get the drift. That said, food and kitchen is clean and modern.

Why is this place so great? It all goes back to the design and functional layout. Beach beds are for example in pairs and about 2 metres apart. The same goes for dining and breakfast arrangements. You are part of a community but still private.

One last thing which is often forgotten and maybe is more a consequence of good places: the other guests are great people! Given the exclusivity and design the place attracts quality travellers and visitors. All we met were friendly, culturally sensitive and respectful - and we made some great friends.

How do we know this place is special? By the sheer number of people glaring in auge at the place when they walk along the beach.

Best
Sofia & Kasper

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZugResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    91
    26
    18
    8
See reviews for
23
162
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 8 nights (had originally booked 5 but extended) at Costa Lanta over Christmas. This is a beautifully designed hotel (though the bungalows could do with a tiny extra bit of space for your suitcase!) with epic views and a good feel. However, the staff there speak only very basic English and it often felt hard to communicate with them. Though the owners live there too (and speak great English) I think they should invest more in increasing their staff's language skills. The food at the restaurant is decent (sometimes really good) but over-priced and the service didn't match the amazing setting. With a few small changes this hotel could be epic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ssclep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

I don't really know why people sometimes travel. They should just stay home !
I read reviews of people saying that this hotel has no TV . Great !
That's exactly what you should look for when you are in vacation ! Haven't you got a smartphone for the news ? The hotel wifi covers reception, rooms and restaurant... And the pool area !!! What more you want?? Do you need to follow your Chelsea - Juventus match ??? Well, right: stay home. This is not the place for you. Having said this, people should choose this hotel... Because is this hotel! If you want 'international treatment' go to Pimalay... Or stay in Phuket or at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok... That's more you... And we won't regret not having you here.
Then again, yes... Hotel needs continuously of fixing and mantaining some iron and teak parts ( and maybe, due to the very nice and modern architectural structure , should do it more...) but you cannot say the hotel is not clean or the personnel is not smiling and gentle... Maybe you went to a different hotel. Improvement can be done in breakfast ( bigger fruit selection, for example) or in coffee quality ( but for an Italian as me... This is always a problem, so I don't complain) but in general terms our stay was simply fantastic. Thank you Konyarak, and grazie to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Costa Lanta for a week and we had a wonderful time: very attentive staff, beautiful designed rooms, restaurant, jaw-dropping infinity pool, lovely beach... It all made up a fantastic week there. There is only one 'but': make sure to book one of the large rooms, with glass windows. Although the other rooms are really beautiful, we requested a bigger room with glass, because we felt kind of enclosed in the smaller rooms with wooden doors/rooms. A small extra charge was applied, but really more than worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adriana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I wish I could have stayed longer at Costa Lanta. My visit coincided with the end of rainy season so I wasn't able to enjoy the pool, but everything about Costa Lanta is top notch! From the staff to hotel design to the food quality, the value matches the prices, which is hard to say about other Koh Lanta properties.

Located on the bay, the resort is quieter and set away from the Koh Lanta party atmosphere, which is perfect if you're looking for an elegant relaxing vacation. Visitors should keep in mind there are no TV's in the room (do you really need one?) and the rooms are very minimal with almost no space to walk around the bed. The bathrooms are indoor/outdoor, but have wonderful amenities. If I was there longer than 1 night I would have unpacked my suitcase and used the closet as I felt cramped with my luggage in the room with me.

I had dinner and breakfast on property and the food was amazing. Fresh, tasty and served in portions that did not leave me hungry. Plus a full bar is available.

The property provides bug spray and you'll need it. With stagnate water surrounding the property mosquitoes are everywhere, but if you come prepared it should not really be an issue. I will definitely return to Costa Lanta in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldHealthTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

After reading all the amazing reviews, all I can say is that they are all true. The service is impeccable and the property is very very nice without being glitzy. The service and the staff were superb. Our was lovely with an amazing bed. also the design was amazing. This place makes you not want to ever leave! The room service tops all. With the beauty and all the amenities of this fabulous hotel it is the most amazing experience and is each time we are here we always say it is the best vacation spot we have ever been. And we plan to return many more times. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Such a wonderful resort. The design, the service, the quiet private feel, all make for a great experience. I think I've stayed here at least 6 times, and while I don't want everyone to know about this secret, it's time to share. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: Bring as little as possible. The bungalows don't have a lot of room for furniture. A bikini, a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#31 of 84 in Ko Lanta
339 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
498 reviews
2.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Lanta

Property: Costa Lanta
Address: M1.Saladan,Krabi, 22, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Costa Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing