We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and over-designed. Awful food.”
Review of Costa Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Lanta
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive and over-designed. Awful food.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed one week at Costa Lanta. This was our last week in Thailand and our third resort in 4 weeks. After reading all the good reviews we had very high expectations. The resort is placed on beautiful grounds and on the best part of the beach which is absolutely the best on Lanta. But, there are some things missing here. First, this resort is expensive. Let me clearyify this: I don't mind paying a lot of money for a good resort; but I do mind when the resort give you little value for the money payed.

For example, the food in the restaurant is awful. One day we ordered some chicken nuggets for the kids and you couldn't eat the meat, it smelled really bad. When we told them they didn't bother at all and didn't bring us new meals! For the price we payed for staying at this resort and for the money we gave for the food, the least you expect is the staff to give you something else when the food is uneatable! Bad service!

The rooms are small and you can hardly turn around. For the price we payed for our rooms we expected a tv and a dvd-player, but there is none.

Overall I think this resort has really good potential, but they need to improve some things. First thing is the food in the restaurant. The other is the missing tv and dvd-player.

This resort is not very suitable for families with younger children. It is a quiet couple-oriented resort.

Room Tip: Choose the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    92
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
23
164
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel. Amazing design, great staff, good location on a quiet section of the beach, fantastic food. Was there with friends and we were so sad to leave.

The hotel is designed as an "open" resort to be at one with nature. Ko lanta itself is a beautiful island that is mostly covered in lush green jungle. If bugs/Mosquitos really bother you, don't come to Thailand. Otherwise bring some insect repellent and enjoy everything this island has to offer, you won't be sorry.

Stayed in a superior room, which I would recommend over the cabanas due to the better size. The food in the restaurant was the best we had on the island, it's seriously underrated. The staff and the owners were lovely, very attentive and helpful with our excursions.

Tip: if you're coming in peak season, don't bother with the phi phi islands tour you will be disappointed. As beautiful as they are, it was an absolute zoo everywhere with dozens of tour boats crowded on to the beaches and in the lagoons. Take a long tail boat around ko lanta itself, just as beautiful and a lot more secluded.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderingnomad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The most important thing about Costa Lanta is that it is on such a beautiful island. If you want a chilled out island with fantastic beaches and some very cool dives sites then Koh Lanta is the perfect place. The rooms aren't huge but your not going to be spending a huge amount of time in them. For privacy the superior beach view rooms are the best option. The food is REALLY good. Breakfast note quite so amazing but great the rest of the time. We were there in January - no problems with mosquitoes which some of the other reviews claimed to be a problem.

Room Tip: Go for the beach view superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The concept and design of this place is wonderful. It has a sderene chill out vibe that was wonderful. A couple of things that annoye3d slightly.... atgtention to detail... the lighting is not strong enough to read in bed and to turn off the lights you have to getr out of bed and out from onder the mosquito net - a bit silly really. For the price I thought the wifi reception in hte rooms should have been better. It was not poss to use skype video link without going to the bar area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DunaH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed there for one week and we really loved it: the hotel is small, so you get the attention of the staff and you always get nice spots on the beautiful beach and around the great infinity pool. Very design hotel and the common parts (restaurant, bar, parc) are fantastic. The staff is well trained and very nice and helpful. Everything is made to take you out of the bedroom and enjoy the Island and surroundings of the hotel: the normal rooms have a very nice design but are really small and simple. The bed is huge but you do not really know where to put your staff out of your luggage, and if you have a big suitcase you will have to let it in the bathroom. We switched to a superior room during the week and this one was really great. Still in the same spirit of simplicity and design but with much more space.
The food is nice but it is better to avoid hotel restaurants in Thailand which are quite expensive vs. others for the same quality of food. The breakfast at the hotel is not at the level of the standard.
We really loved the concept, but if you do not like birds singing early and even at night, or if you are looking for staying in your room as your main spot for holidays, this hotel is not suited for you. If you want to wake up in the middle of nature and enjoy an amazing location and can cope with less space in the room, you will love the place.

Great points:
- staff
- location
- beach
- common places of the hotel (pool, restaurant/ lounge area)
- sunset
- superior room

Weak points:
- normal room space
- breakfast

Room Tip: Definitely superior room, same price (200 bahts) for the garden superior than the sea view cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinemarie2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Costa Lanta is a nice place to relax (to be honest like a lot of place in the north of Lanta) and as an original concept... You really have to understand what the room will be as it is a part of the concept: 1 bed around which you will barely turn except if you open the wooden bifold door (that wil brings bugs!!!), no place to unpack in the room, just one small board in the bathroom which is open (so very humid). The breakfast is clearly not at the level for an hotel which is claiming such a standard. The staff is friendly, the beach is nice and well maintained. Although you may like it, the prices are high for this place (8600 bath per night).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirom250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon,
First impressions were wonderful - very helpful staff at reception.
Rooms - very small and lacked natural daylight.
There is no where to store your suitcases/bags and one small wardrobe in the bathroom for your clothes - we didn't bother unpacking!
The concept of the rooms are great but the practicality is not so good. In theory, you could have two sides of your room open to provide natural light when relaxing which would provide views of the lovely gardens or beach depending on the location of your room but in reality, there are a lot of flies that you do not want buzzing around in your room. I noticed that some rooms have had large glass windows put in them to replace the doors - this looked great as you get the views, natural light but no bugs!
The house keeping staff came into the room every date - late afternoon to put the mosquito net down around the bed - great way to stop any unwanted bites but a nuisance if you need to get up to the loo at ngiht!
Mosquito / insect repellent an absolute necessity at this resort.
Having said that - there's a lovely sound of birds and wildlife in the mornings on waking. A nice personal feel to the hotel with only 22 rooms. A fabulous lounge area with great chilled out music playing and free WiFi. Also some lovely cocktails - ? unique to Costa Lanta I think as I've never heard of some of them before.
Good selection at breakfast.
New Years Eve Party - wow! Costa Lanta really know how to throw a party. Canapes, three course meal on the beach, free flow of drinks, DJ, fireworks, lanterns to release on the beach after midnight - the full works! 4500 bahts sounded expensive initially for a NYE party in Thailand but it was worth every baht!
Very helpful and friendly staff throughout the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for lots of reasons but don't expect a spacious room and perhaps request a room with glass rather than the wooden doors.

Room Tip: See the review above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
2.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Lanta

Property: Costa Lanta
Address: M1.Saladan,Krabi, 22, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Costa Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing