We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach for the the whole family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khlong Dao Beach

Ranked #7 of 44 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice beach for the the whole family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited this beach pretty much every day during our stay at the Crown Lanta. The beach is lined with hotels, restaurants and mini-marts, so it was a great alternative for meals if we didn't want to eat in our hotel. The water is shallow, so it was perfect for my 2 year old and it's very clear so you can see what you're walking into.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chowfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    137
    49
    16
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“picture perfectoid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beach is long, not crowded and drops into the sea really slowly. It makes it a good family beach, but beware the waves.
The southern part of the beach felt neglected, which is a shame.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nigatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice beach if you like sweedes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great for families due to the shallow beach with calm waters. Bevare though, the place is basicly 90% people from Sweden, and if you like them it´s and easy 5/5. For me, not so much.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great beach for families with small children!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Really great beach if you have smaller children since it's shallow. It always felt very safe to swim and bathe here.

Great beach for long walks in the sunset also and we never had any problems walking here even with a stroller.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great beach for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I'm writing this as I sit in a beach restaurant on Khlong Dao beach. When the tide is out there is a walk out to the water as it is a very flat beach but even at high tide there are no steep points. It is perfect for children but enjoyed by people of all ages. The water is calm and warm, sand is soft and it is kept very clean. As there is no high rise the scenery is very green. There are no jet skis or long tailed fishing boats creating noise. All along the beach are scattered bars and restaurants but they do not intrude. Very popular with Scandinavians but then the whole island is. At the very south end there are some rocks in the water which would be unnoticed at high tide. There is also a small fishing community there. Ko Phi Phi can be easily seen from the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bachus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khlong Dao Beach also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Khlong Dao Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing