We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and lovely staff ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don's

Don's
Ranked #169 of 288 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: European, Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and lovely staff ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here whilst staying at the andaman lanta resort. We went for dinner and lunch the next day we were so impressed. The cocktails are lovely, the food outstanding! It's not a huge menu but everything is cooked fresh to order and is fantastic quality. The iced coffee is gorgeous and to top it off the staff are so friendly and nice they make you feel very welcome. It has a lovely warm atmosphere and is right on the beach so a lovely view. Definitely go if your in the area! We found out that the chef had walked out a few days before and you would have never have known as the quality of the food was lovely.

Helpful?
Thank lauren2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don's (aka Asylum) restaurant on south end of Klong Dao Beach, Koh Lanta, Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I ate and drank at Don's (aka Asylum, I believe) 3 times in October 2013. The food was excellent, on my 3 visits, I had the burrito and salsa, fresh salad rolls with peanut sauce, and fajita's with salsa, and one of my friends was delighted with the granola and toasted coconut pancake. The drinks were very good from the local beer, to pina colada's and blender specials (fresh fruit of the day plus Thai rum I believe).

The best beach sunset I've seen in years was sitting at Asylum / Don's.

The hosts (Jimi, May, Melissa, and Michael) so thoughtful and super cool.

-Eddie from Indianapolis

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don's- Good food, great beachfront location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

i have eaten at Don's too often to count, and always the dishes are prepared fresh to order; the Western food is very good, the Thai food quite nice, if not hugely authentic (most travelers are not as much sticklers for authenticity as i am, having lived here for 3 yrs)
every dish comes out of the kitchen looking good & tasting great...
the host, Don, and his staff are genuinely friendly & greatly attentive to all aspects of service,
also provide a kiddie play area on the soft sands of Klong Dao beach where they are located-
presently, they are repairing the place after heavy storm damage from 3 months ago
(when 5 meter waves & wind & storm-driven astrological high tides swept their bridge & much of the kitchen back wall away); they were already closed as usual during "low season"
i was in the area yesterday, and talked w/his partner/chef "Eck", who assured me that, although the repairs are more extensive than first thought, they should be up and running again by end October- i hope so, because Klong Dao Beach would not be the same without this long-time restaurant & their smiling faces & helpful attitude
favorites: all good, have not ever tasted anything that i haven't liked here...
good chow, real coffee, creative libations & cold beer...
-all on a white sand beach w/beautiful clear, blue water- who could ask for more?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our preferred restaurant on Klong Dao Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Nice staff, pleasant place, we really enjoyed the fish of the day with mushroom sauce and other daily plates.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don's also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Don's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing