We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Complex Center

Butterfly Complex Center
Ranked #43 of 44 things to do in Ko Lanta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Butterfly Complex Center on Ko Lanta. We have Herb & Fruit Garden. You can see Pineapple Plantation, and some local animals. Like Eagle, Otter, Squirrel and Monkey. We also have some Colourful Butterflies.
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice little place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Visited Lanta Buttefly Garden while exploring the island with a scooter. Entry fee was 150 baht for butterflies and 50 baht for orchids. The entry fee included a printed guide in the visitors native language (they even had a Finnish version which was nice). The orchid nursery had lots of beautiful orchids, hybrids and indigenous. The butterfly garden part was nice but we were expecting more butterflies. The personnel were very nice, they even kept our scooter seat from getting too hot in the sun with a pillow and offered cold cloths since we were sweating like crazy it being a very hot day. We would recommend this place to anyone interested in beautiful flowers and butterflies.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hewepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    7
    7
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, wa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to see while we were there”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I can't say it was worth the price of 150 baht per person. There were some butterflies, but not what I expected. The Orchid Garden in the same complex was a little better and only cost 50 baht each.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhewDogAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Quite handy to get a quick overview of the agricultural scene, like rubber production, pineapple cultivation and so on, and pretty orchids and butterflies. I'm not too impressed with the chained up monkeys and eagles in cages, it would be a better experience if the animals were kept in better conditions, or not at all. And unfortunately the owners are not proficient in English, they try very hard but do not expect to get your questions answered unless it is very basic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

a wide range of beautiful creatures in a lovely setting, the colour and variety of the butterflies was amazing

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ferretcroucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice butterflies and orchids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just to be clear, the only creatures locked up here are butterflies - the reviews about tortured animals must be referring to somewhere else. Nice orchid garden - but depends on your timing regarding what orchid flowers you'll actually see. Similarly with the butterflies, though we saw quite a few nice ones. Overpriced for what it is, but much better for your karma than the awful looking elephant ride place across the road.
Will try to add a map location for it as we struggled to find it...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TurfMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Complex Center also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Butterfly Complex Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing