We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent take away breads and pastries”

Nang Sabai German Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent take away breads and pastries”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Since we stayed for three days where we had a kitchen, we stopped at this German bakery on the main road in Ko Lanta. The three different breads were fresh and delicious. I don't know much about their sit down menu, so no comment. However, if you want a good loaf of bread...I would stop by this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    85
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost chocked”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We visited the German bakery on 2 occasions during our stay in koh lanta. The coffee is pretty decent. The service is very good and the place is clean. However, we read reviews about the delicious brownie, well I almost choked trying to swollen it because it was so dry! I wouldn't even call it a brownie, I'd call it chocolate "dry" cake. Seriously, thanks to the complimentary water they give you otherwise I would not have been able to swollow, very disappinting for 50 bht. cheese cake is ok. Better yet, just have coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDrabyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stopped off on our way back to our guesthouse and it turned out to be a real treat. We got a ham salad baguette which was served with the freshest of bread. It was by far the best bread we encountered in Thailand. We then had a brownie with ice cream and again was the best confectionary we have had in thailand washed down with a beautiful freshly ground cup of coffee. If you want wonderful food for a very reasonable price don't miss this great little find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nang Sabai- Nice spot, sincere smiling service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

i will state 1st off that i am NOT a big fan of German pastries; find them a bit dry
(but Viennese pastries? now THAT's another story!!!)-
i do, however enjoy German food (&drink!!!)

i have met here w/friends several times, each time the experience has been
more than merely satisfactory- the ambiance is clean & uncluttered if underwhelming-
the place itself is comfy & lends itself to hanging out & chatting w/old friends or making new;
the food is quite fresh & tasty, the prices reasonable-
and always the owner & her staff are gregarious, helpful, knowledgeable,
and sincerely smiling, effusive yet efficient...
all in all, a good bet for good Western food
even a bit of jungle & palm tree vistas across the road

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great cakes, decent coffee, well-trained staff and pleasant interior, one of the best places in Koh Lanta

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nang Sabai German Bakery also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Nang Sabai German Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing