We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with a unforgettable view!”

Caoutchouc Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 297 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Description: Caoutchouc, built on stilt, on the other side of old town Koh Lanta, is a very relaxing place, to enjoy fresh drinks and food, and stunning views ...There is no menu there, so just ask what i'm cooking today ...I made delicious lunch salads, and pasta daily ...For fresh fish let me know in advance, and i will prepare it for you ...You welcome to ask for prices before sitting ...Prices are standard for this type of establishment ...Expect to pay 80 bahts for a drink, and a minimum of 200 baht for food, 280 bahts maximum ...This is what it takes to keep this wonderful place going on ... Close at night, Buffet evry full moon night Available for private parties Enjoy
Restaurant details
Description: Caoutchouc, built on stilt, on the other side of old town Koh Lanta, is a very relaxing place, to enjoy fresh drinks and food, and stunning views ...There is no menu there, so just ask what i'm cooking today ...I made delicious lunch salads, and pasta daily ...For fresh fish let me know in advance, and i will prepare it for you ...You welcome to ask for prices before sitting ...Prices are standard for this type of establishment ...Expect to pay 80 bahts for a drink, and a minimum of 200 baht for food, 280 bahts maximum ...This is what it takes to keep this wonderful place going on ... Close at night, Buffet evry full moon night Available for private parties Enjoy
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with a unforgettable view!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in "caoutchouc" when zipping with a hired motorbike around the Ko Lanta and wanted to visit the old town Lanta, a very nice place also.
"caoutchouc" is a wonderful place, very very nice with a unforgettable view !The owner was very nice and polite, he did for us a cold banana shake and we really enjoyed everything at that place.
Everything there is made with love and it is really very relaxing, the time stops...there:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntoanetaPlamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location and very accomodating owner”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant. We arrived late afternoon and there was a storm brewing. We were the only people in the restaurant but the owner couldn't have been more accomodating. As there was an impending storm, the electricity was off, but he made us welcome and got us drinks. He and his chef also knocked up some salads and fantastic curries for us even though there was no electricity. The Sea Gypsy curry was a personal favorite.

The views from the platform are absolutely stunning. An absolute must for all visitors to Koh Lanta

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YMS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice view, strange stressed owner, not child friendly”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Certainly agree with other reviewers that the view of the East Islands and Old Lanta is fantastic.

At low tide, their is a nice high drop off to the sea bed, so anyone with children need to be aware.
The owner was very stressed and did everything himself, so the service was temperamental and he certainly lost lot's of revenue.

The Mango shakes were very good and unfortunately after doing ours his machine broke and other customers were disappoined with only being offerred sodas.

We definately got the impression that this was an establishement where children were seen and not heard and whilst our children, aged 11 and 8, were playing chess very quietly, the French owner was more concerned about loosing some pieces.

due to the feeling of children not being welcome we went elsewhere for food.

The view was great and the fun of travelling is meeting some very strange or different people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank comeholidaywithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exceptional location”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The place is spotless and despite a lack of menu we were happy with the choices available. Great views and timeless atmosphere. Most expensive soda on the island but overall good value. Deserves a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorwichHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amost don't want to share this ...”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Take your scooter and ride to old town. Go all the way through town past the pier and keep going til you get to the very end of the road. Here you'll find Caoutchoac. Beautifully built in a modern yet natural style overlooking the water, we escaped the heat with a scooter ride here nearly every day of our stay on Lanta. Patou is an amazing frenchman who has travelled the world with fabulous stories and stunning photography to prove it and he epitomizes the word hospitality. His menu changes daily and is super unique and fresh. It might be a few bhat more than you're used to paying but it's a nice change from a lot of the other food you'll get when travelling and so so worth it. There's books and board games, coffee and booze, hammocks inside and deck chairs on the water outside. And the whole time a soundtrack is playing that makes you ask "who is this?" an annoying amount of times. Sigh. Writing this makes me want to click my heels and go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katipai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caoutchouc Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Caoutchouc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing