We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanta Manda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanta Manda Resort
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent value”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lanta Manda for 4 nights in February. As others have mentioned, the room size is large and well furnished. Our biggest issue was the bathroom. It smelled AWFUL! We asked them about it because my husband thought it could be gas, and their solution was to spray a ton of air freshner all over it for when we returned. We still have no idea what it is - but it's one if the worst smells we have ever experienced. In addition, our shower didn't have hot water. It would give you some luke warm water in spurts if you're lucky!

Other than the bathroom, everything was fine. We liked the location on long beach and didn't mind that the beach was across the street. We rented motorbikes and went to other beaches on the island as well. We also didn't find the road between the bungalows distracting in the morning as some people have written.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jets99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
23
72
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room at this property was large and well furnished, there is a front patio with chairs and table opverlooking a garden. The rear patio however overlooks drainage pipes, electric cables and an earth bank,twelve feet high and four feet from the patio. Sadly the service and hygiene at the breakfast buffet was dreadful. The staff spent more time on their telephones than attending to the guests needs and all the food was uncovered and a magnet for flies. An additional problem with this resort is that it is bisected by a steep road leading up to further properties. The result is that there is a constant stream of service and residential vehicles which cause a lot of noise particularly first thing in the morning when most guests would still expect to be asleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just got back from a 5 days stay at Lanta Manda 9th - 14th Feb 2013 n we have been coming here for many years.

We consider this resort our 2nd home away from home for a number of reasons :

The staff are superbly friendly, honest n helpful especially the humble, hardworking resort manager Em (M) who also does the garden cleaning in between managing the office n resort guests.

We travel from Malaysia with our car n we are able to park our car at our chalet's lawn - super safe.

It may not be right in front of the beach which is just a 3-5 min walk across the main road to Phra Ae beach. Honestly to me we have the best of both worlds here, mother nature with lots of greens at our chalet n right across us is it's beach n activities.

Saladan town is just about 5-6 kms away from Lanta Manda n we rented motorbikes during our stay for easy access around island for THB 250 per day (reasonable) Across the resort, you will find plenty of food choices (be it for breakfast international choices or Muslim-Kosh (halal) it's all around n very reasonable priced. Laundrettes, pharmacies, international clinic, plenty of 7-11outlets, fresh seafood BBQ n pizzas / steakhouse , all conveniently around you without hassle.

The resort will recommend the island's activities of your choice n my advice is try it, it's worth the fun n adventure. My friends n nephew THOROUGHLY enjoyed their stay n fun, what more with 2 swimming pools after being to island hopping, that's certainly heavenly for kiddies to be dipping themselves at shady clear pools.

Everyday we had housekeeping, new beddings changed, bathroom is cleaned, 2 new towels provided for pool n personal use so no problem in that area. The chalet is big in my opinion, with a verandah to read, eat, wifi n having guest over. Indoor attached bathroom with hot water shower and a tap with strong water to hand wash your clothes. Toilet with water pipe, basin n large bottles of toiletries for your long stay. Another door that leads behind for drying your clothes. A/C is running strongly on 1.5-2 HP so you can imagine the large space. Coffee n kettle jug is provided, a fridge, safety box, 29 inch TV n many wall sockets to charge all your gadgets-yes we had many brought with us :-) We had a clean room, bathroom n good flushing system so no complains in that area.

We did have flies though outside at the restaurant n at our verandah this time around but not before, and I'm guessing it must be the dry season n we had food around - no food, no flies so that's still fine for us. We had nice strong wind during evenings so no mosquitoes when it's windy, but we definately had to use repellent at night when sitting outdoors.

I can't wait till May-June to be in Koh Lanta again if it's possible n stay over at Lanta Manda again :-) hearing the insects n birds sing in unison, peaceful n quiet environment, so laid back n no rush for anything n the friendly helpful faces everywhere.... I just can't wait to BBQ fresh seafood from market at the front of our chalet or having a steamboat over there * sighsss *

Thank you EM n thank you Lanta Manda for being so hospitable all these years < hugs>

Room Tip: Phone roaming excellent signal, resort wifi reliable, choose rooms nearer to entrance, so it won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjewel65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms aren't a bad size to start with but the bathroom was filthy when I arrived.The tiles in the shower had mould on them and door into the bathroom was filthy,with black mould at the base.The furniture in the room was falling apart also.
The buffet breakfast was a joke,with the food swarming with flies and barely hot enough and a very limited selection.Staff at the resort were very young and with a poor knowledge of English.
The most annoying part is the road that runs directly in front of your bungalow.Motorbikes can be heard from 6am onwards and the staff don't exactly keep their voices down either.My advice is to bring earplugs which I had thank god but was still woken up by the bikes.For what they charge per night and considering its not on the beach,I didn't think it was worth it and wouldn't come back.I received quite a few bites. To my neck and upper body and am almost certain they came from the bedding not being changed everyday,I doubt the mattresses are the newest in the world either.
Best advice would be to sty one night if you have to but there's better places nearby.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over New Year and it was a great little find. The bungalows are spacious and are just three minutes up the hill from the beach. The air con is cold, the TV works fine with loads of channels, free wifi and free smellies. Each bungalow has a little balcony from where you can listen to the sounds of the jungle. For the money charged its a bargain and right near all the restaurants and bars of the little resort. There isn't an on site restaurant, but on the corner of the resort there is a nice restaurant and bar which is lovely and its near to all the action. Well done to the team.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall we had an average experience here. But we got what we paid for, more or less. We asked for a twin room and got a twin room. The air conditioner was very quiet. The TV worked perfectly and the staff were very helpful and respectful of when we did/didn't want the room made up.

We were disappointed to find that our booking did not include breakfast (even though we booked a promotion directly through their own website that stated breakfast was included) and when this matter was brought up, the manager was unwilling to rectify the problem. We ended up eating across the road at the Coffee Cup Club where the coffee was actually very good.

The location was good for us - close to many cheap, family run thai food shops. There was one particular place across the road from the 7 Eleven that we went back to over and over again.

My biggest gripe with this place is that the windows are kind of venetian style - panels of glass that tilt open. They were basically useless at blocking noise out even when closed and this was particularly annoying at 10pm and 6:45am when tuk tuks and motorbikes would go up and down the driveway of the resort (presumably other guests, hotel workers) about 10 meters from the villa windows. This made it pretty hard to get a restful sleep. However there isn't much the hotel can do to solve this problem - it's just my warning to those of you, like me, always looking for quiet sleeping places.

That all being said, we got a very good price on the room and therefore I think the inconveniences were not so bad. In future I would only stay here again if I could have a room at the very top of the hill to avoid motorbike noise.

Room Tip: If you're not afraid of some exercise I believe rooms higher on the hill would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nibong Tepal, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Lanta manda is a great option if u r looking for a mind relaxing holiday..You can feel the warmth the moment you step into the resort . The staff always have that smile for you and they are really helpful and really committed in giving a perfect services. The room is comfortable, clean and everything works. This resort is very convenient to shops, pharmacy, clinic, bars and restaurants .You can choose a variety of restaurants located near this resort, and it is realy easy to find halal foods..which is really great. ( the hotel manager of this resort own a halal thai food restaurant ,n the steamed fish was perfect!) . My family and I had a great time there, and this is definitely wont be our last visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shafyra1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
431 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lanta Sea House Resort
Lanta Sea House Resort
#28 of 84 in Ko Lanta
149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Manda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Manda Resort

Property: Lanta Manda Resort
Address: 38/2 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Manda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Manda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing