We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ko Lanta
Post
Inbox
Search

“Highly recommended”

Ling Uan (Fat Monkey)
Ranked #50 of 520 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A spacious bar and restaurant set by the road midway down the Klong Dao. Serving Classical Thai cuisine as well as half pound homemade burgers, Italian pizza and fresh pasta & salads. The dining area and bar are set amongst tropical plants and fish ponds. The perfect place to enjoy a great meal or relax with a delicious cocktail. Space for large groups and child friendly.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an absolutely amazing meal here. We loved it so much we came back the following eve. Best food and cocktails. Lovely welcoming and friendly staff. Also went to the fat turtle which was just as perfect and topped it off with the beautiful beach setting.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank laurentD4579RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place does 'fusion' Thai food, and it does it very well. If you are getting a little bit tired of the standard Thai food that everybody else around here does, give the Monkey a try.

We were greeted by the manager when we arrived, a really nice guy (Australian accent), and got a table at the back. It did take a while to place our order and there was a bit of confusion about that, but we weren't in a rush.

The food was really good, and the portions were MASSIVE. Very good and it made a nice change from the usual style of cooking that all the other restaurants do.

After our meal, we sat at the bar chatting to the restaurant manager and another couple. Very nice friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GenghisandOtherOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We were recommended this restaurant because of the lovely setting - lovely at the front, very industrial at the back where we were. We'd been sat at our table for about 30 minutes when we were asked if we'd like to order - we said we'd like to see the menu first! We had already been served drinks at the bar though so not a problem really. One main course came out before the starter, not unusual in Thailand but we were asked about starters/mains and when we'd like it. The food was good though I'm not sure it was worth the higher prices - and for those prices they could afford to have more staff on!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 676Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Nice place, serves a really good burger.
Staff is friendly and they have a very well equipped bar.
Recommended.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 569linusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019

We walked a ways to get here and it was well worth it. Everything about the experience was terrific; food, ambiance and service. You can’t go wrong here.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CydMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ling Uan (Fat Monkey) also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ling Uan (Fat Monkey)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing