We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar to watch sport and drink beer”

The Irish Embassy Pub
Ranked #15 of 291 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open from 2pm daily(kitchen closes at 11pm). Serving all your pub favourites,such as - Fish & Chips,Bangers & Mash,Pie & Chips..Try our Jameson Burger! Sometimes rice just won't do!...and we guarantee that we have what you need!Also serving a Thai'Rish menu...a few Thai favourites,served with chips,mash,baked potato (or rice even!) Pool Table,Dartboard and 5 large screens,with 4 different satellite systems,make us the home of sports on Lanta. Children welcome,but remember we are a pub, which means the only high chairs we have are bar stools,and it does get lively. Monday- Quiz Night,Tuesday- Free Beer with any Burger! Wednesday- Name the Tune win Free Booze & Food!Fridays-Killer Pool. Weekends-All about Sport. Best music in Thailand daily! Slainte!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great bar to watch sport and drink beer”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We went here last night to watch the Germany vs Brazil game which started at 3am. Me and my girlfriend expected the place to be empty, however it was the complete opposite. There were loads of people in there watching the football and the owner and his staff were really accommodating. I would highly recommend this place if you're looking to have a few beers and watch some sport.

Helpful?
1 Thank Certifiedlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes the times for the World Cup matches were not too good for us out here...but we got through every game! See you in 2018 for the next one maybe! Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    109
    39
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Irish gem in Lanta”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

As a personal rule, I typically avoid Irish bars at all costs. I learned years ago that they are usually the most expensive and least interesting places in any city that everybody rushes to. I've been on Ko Lanta now for about four evenings and have found myself here at the Irish Embassy each evening. It is a great atmosphere - typically full of interesting and friendly folks. It's on par with every other bar on the island in terms of price and has a savvy Thai staff who are typically on the ball. It is one of the few places on the island screening the late evening, early morning World Cup slate but even those are on too late for me don the green and go Irish. The food is also exceptionably reasonable in terms of price, and those that know a pie better than the next guy tend to say it's lovely. I lucked out in finding this spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonypappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thanks for your review! We also know what you mean about some Irish bars not being up to scratch..or not having anything Irish! We can assure you our founder and co-owner is 100% Irish.
Thanks for appreciating what we do..hope to see you again! Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bar, friendly and perfect place to watch sport!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling around Thailand solo and stumbled upon the Embassy towards the end of my trip. It was a great place to spend a few nights, especially if you've been away a while and want to catch the end of the premier league season! Really friendly guys and a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thanks for your review! Travelling alone?....The Embassy is the perfect place to come and watch your team! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bar On Koh Lanta”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great food, great staff, great atmosphere, and a great place to watch sport or join in the quizzes...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoProInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thanks for your review! Best Bar on Lanta certainly is high praise..we work hard,so we really appreciate to hear that!! See you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and top food and drink”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

While in Koh Lanta for a week myself and the wife visited many times, either just for a drink, to watch sports (especially football) or to have a meal.

The drinks are great and reasonably priced. the food was amazing, both the Thai menu and the British/Irish menu, especially the Sunday lunch, sometimes you just need a meal just like home.

The owners and staff are very friendly and attentive with good advice on what to do on Lanta, creating a great friendly atmosphere.

Looking to get back to Lanta and The Embassy ASAP.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Thanks for your review! Yes,football nights in the Irish always have a great atmosphere..especially if your team won!! We hope you do make it back ASAP! Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing