We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise - Nice for a Change on a Thai Island”
Review of Greek Taverna

Greek Taverna
Ranked #20 of 297 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome at the Greek Taverna "El Greco" at Klong Dao beach.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise - Nice for a Change on a Thai Island”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife, infant and I had driven past this the day before and thought it looked like a place worth trying. We love Thai food but when you're eating it every day, every meal, it's nice to change things up a bit so the next day, we decided to try it for lunch.

Neither of us was overly hungry so we decided to share the vegetarian meze platter. Good thing we decide to share as this plate probably could have fed three or four people easily. Given how far Koh Lanta is from Greece, the food was surprisingly excellent, using authentic ingredients for most of the food that we tried. The owners (who relocated here after the Greek crisis) were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twowaystairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    218
    58
    41
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek resteraunt”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

It was a very nice change to find a Greek resteraunt after being sick of Thai food, the owners are actually Greek and were lovely and welcoming, the food was very nice, a large portion and we ordered some extra to take away with us, overall a good experience and would definitely recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday Party with great atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We reserved a table to celebrate a friend's birthday and we couldn't have had a better time. There happened to be another birthday being celebrated on the next table to us and between the two parties, the Ouzo, wine, cake, moussaka and Greek dancing were positively flowing!

It was a truly fun evening with great food, wonderful hosts and a surprisingly lively atmosphere.

Our only complaint... we ate too much!!

Our only tip - take giant doggy bags - the portions are HUGE!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SCUBAFISH-Lanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A must visit”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

A great surprise to find this, the food was excellent and made a welcome change from Thai food. Lovely atmosphere, even in low season!

Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little paradise in paradise”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had the "mixed meat for two" which was lovely. The meat was nicely spiced and very well baked. We are staying here for a few more days and will definitely come back for more goodness.
The host and his wife are also very nice and are happy to give you tips on where to go on the island. I would recommend this place to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Birgitvhees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing