We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“to kalýtero!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Taverna

Greek Taverna
Ranked #25 of 288 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome at the Greek Taverna "El Greco" at Klong Dao beach.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“to kalýtero!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Tha eímai píso̱ Maria and Spiros made me feel home away from home. I am a Greek American, and was living in Thailand for over a year. Maria's and Spiros's food and hospitality was a unexpected surprise that I went back for many times while on Koh Lanta. The food is delicious and a wonderful break from SEA cuisine. Plus REAL feta and ouzo imported from Greece! To have a real salad, and a Greek one at that, was amazing if you are familiar with the Thai's limited idea of what salads consist of. The spanakopita, hummus, tzatziki, potato balls, souvlaki, frappe, salad and atmosphere was on point and delicious. Couldn't ask for more. I will definitely be going back there when I am on Koh Lanta again. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. The chocolate desert was amazing, and is a special recipe of Maria's. I highly recommend this place, and Renita(Irene) says 'hi'. :) Efharisto poli!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renita_american
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    203
    56
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had to go back a forth time while in koh lanta for a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I had been travelling around SEA for close to 4 months so a change from the Asian flavours was welcomed. An hour after we ate the flavours were still lingering in our mouths and the next night we didn't even really have to think about it, we knew we wanted to go back for more! We also went one morning for breakfast, and once again we left stuffed and overly satisfied. Also as others have mentioned the owner is the nicest lady, who is great to have a chat with and you can tell how much she loves what she does. It was so nice to feel your business was valued and that your not just another customer. The setting is also lovely and great music playing. My boyfriend said this was his favourite meal so far on our trip and I told him we can't go back home after this long in asia and say a Greek meal was the most memorable but it was that good!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Ideal if you fancy a change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located on the main road, west of the island, we stopped for lunch, a really warm, friendly welcome from the Greek owner was a good start.

Menu is pretty varied, a good selection for children as well. As mentioned in other reviews the portions are big, more than enough for two in some cases. Try the meatballs, wraps (wish I could remember the Greek name) or the Veg Meze, again enough for two. Only down side was the flies, particularly aggressive little things when we visited, but cant really blame the restaurant for that.

Great value, friendly staff and well worth a visit...especially if you're hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Exiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great tasting authentic Greek food, which was reasonably priced. Massive portions as well which was a nice change from the usually starter sized portions in Thailand. Very friendly owner staff and definately the best restaurant in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food, even better portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Authentic greek restaurant. We wanted a change from thai food and read that the portions here were more appropriate for a westerner. We were not dissapointed. This is the first time i was full after eating and it didnt cost me an arm. Came here for lunch and dinner. Great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcohen1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing