We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and nice owner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Taverna

Greek Taverna
Ranked #24 of 288 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome at the Greek Taverna "El Greco" at Klong Dao beach.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and nice owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ate gril mix for 2 peaple , the cheese was good and fresh the meet was good but a bit oily but over all it was a very tasty dinner ;)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deltonzub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    203
    56
    40
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ate here after reading several good reviews however were disappointed with the food. There were 4 of us eating, 3 of the starters we asked for were unavailable leaving a choice of pitta and tzatziki or Greek salad, the tzatziki was delicious however the salad was far too salty. We then shared the meat mezze, unfortunately was unlike any meat mezze I have ever had in Greece and included satay chicken, hotdog sausages and meat balls with potatoes, pitta and dip. I wouldn't go again, purely for the lack of selection available and the fact that everything was far too salty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JosieTorsney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place was basically across the road from where I stayed. I thought "Greek in Thailand??" but it was raining so I went.
The place is run by Greek couple and they were really friendly. Stopped by the table for a chat during the evening few times. I bought the Greek variety - what else ??. It was exactly what I needed and delivered quite quickly. On the side for sale there was their new product - Ouzo imported from Greece. Yes for sure don't give this place a miss. Small place so be assured of personal service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msjvanrooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little cozy piece of Greece in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's very nice to have Mediterranean food in Thailand. Maria and Pyros are very kind and beautiful people who are keeping the standards of cleaning and service very high. The food is very tasty and from time to time to have a bit of Mediterranean heaven is one of the best things ever. The eggplant balls, zatziki, hummus and chocolate dessert are wonderful. If you are for a couple of weeks in the island is worth to give it a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaN305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good change from Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident on the roadside but thought we'd give it a try. We had the meat sharing platter which had meatballs, satay chicken, some ham type meat and a sausage (frankfurter style). It also had some pitta, tzatsiki and a garlic mayo dip, a small salad and some feta.
The meatballs were good, the satay chicken was ok but not a patch on the Thai satay chicken (it was on a cocktail stick and dry, no sauce and just like what you can get at home at the supermarket deli counter!). The other meat I wouldn't recommend. The tzatsiki was very good and the bread also. Personally I felt it was missing houmous and falafel and needed a lot more feta, but then we probably should have ordered the vegetarian platter!
If I went again I would give the moussaka a go. Also- skip the white wine it's boxed and vinegary though I guess reasonably priced at 150 baht if you aren't fussy. Not bad food just didn't wow us. Also the seats were really uncomfortable although looked cute.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SGCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing