We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, better rooms would encourage a longer stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanta Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lanta Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good location, better rooms would encourage a longer stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The important thing to remember when reviewing beach bungalows is that they will in no way compare to hotel rooms or guest-houses. They are more like sheds than rooms. I've stayed in much worse beach huts than Lanta Palm Beach Resort... but I've stayed in much better ones too, especially for the price. Its just a little too expensive for what you get, but the location is Great. There is a lot to do in and around the area.

I stayed there in January 2013 so I cannot account for any recent refurbishments that have been made to any rooms. I negotiated a price for a longer stay, paying 800 Bhat per night for a few nights in a double room with fan, and then I was given a double air-con room for the last couple nights for 1000 Bhat per night (instead of 1200).

As always beach bungalows in tropical climates have minor bug problems, but some more than others. In the first room there was an amusing ant trail than ran along the bathroom wall; keeping any food of any sort in the room was a big mistake, the ants somehow made their way into a sealed container of crisps! But it isn't as bad as it may sound, they don't cause you any issues other than just been there. To summerise, the bungalows looked better from the outside than inside.

The beach is pretty good with a lot going on very close by; beach restaurant, bar, massage tables, local shop, motorbike rental (300 bhat per day!), diving opportunities etc etc. For these reasons I would probably stay here again to re-experience Koh Lanta island, but only for a few days as there are plenty more similar resorts to discover and experience on the island.

Room Tip: As always, ask to see a bungalow before paying, check every aspect of the room first (the shower pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    36
    12
    12
See reviews for
9
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We looked at their bungalows at their regular location , but they were over our budget, and not ideal, but then the daughter of the owners said she had another bungalow available just a few hundred meters up the main road. She offered to drive us there to have a look. There were 4 new bungalows, set behind a 6 plex of apartments for long term rental. They are only a few months old,very nice size, with a large front porch. Very clean, and everything worked well. The bed and linens were very good, and the sink was outside the shower/toilet room, which is a good design feature. They even had good lighting in the unit, which is rare. When looking at our room prior to check-in, we noticed that a window was missing the lock hardware, the owner fixed it himself within the hour. The units actually have full sized fridges! They are set far enough off the road to be very quiet, with it's own direct beach access, just beside the Nakara Resort. Only a 5 minute walk to the beautiful Long Beach. There are a few good restaurants on the main road within a few hundred meters, especially the very good Tavern Pub and Restaurant, which is a must.(I am currently trying to review it, but don't have the address). On the beach, you are also not far from a good selection of bars and restaurants, including Thai Cat restaurant, which is also a must. The location is very convenient, especially considering the low price. I even negotiated a scooter in the price per day. The room also had a nice big flat screen with english channels. There was no breakfast included, and the wifi was sporadic, those are my only cons.

Room Tip: Ask about these bungalows at The Lanta Palm Beach desk, same owner, different property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Bungalows are in very poor condition. Everything broken, air conditions not functioning well, water leaking, nothing is mantained at all. Staff (sister and brother) is indefferent and couldn't care less. You can not arrange anything with them. Their popular answer is not possible, no, no, not possible. Location is cool, neighborhood in peacefull. Beach is average but very near. There is a restaurant on the main road just 10 minutes of walk which is great, good food, hygiene, kind staff and always full. Considering condition the bungalows are way too much expencive. You can rent a scooter there for 200B. They are not trying to trick you with scratches on return like some others.

Room Tip: Pray to god you'll get good one, those are rare, if at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollidaystraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Currently sat in a beach hut by the bar overlooking the beach feeling very relaxed. Being slightly further South of busier Saladan on Long Beach with easy access to the shore Palm Beach Resort has a nice spot.

First impressions are accurate. It's not as plush as other resorts in the area but is on a quite stretch of the beach with other bars and restaurants in easy reach. Rooms were clean (we paid 1700 for a villa. Two double beds, en suite, AC, TV, bottled water provided each morning). The AC did leak but didn't cause us any issues.

The restaurant was average but okay for drinks and breakfast.

Staff were helpful but didn't always give you the best or accurate deal. (Over charging for stamps being an example).

Overall it's been a good base for 5 nights but we only ate here one time other than breakfast. If it hasn't been full we would have stayed at Castaway further down the road for marginally more money (2200).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d4rkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. The room was clean and reasonably priced (700 baht a night). The restaurant is very average but ok for breakfast. The staff were helpful didn't always offer the cheapest prices for trips. The location of the resort is good; not too far from saladan for restaurants. The beach directly in front of the resort does get a little busy but 5 minutes walk and it's much quieter.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month and were disappointed with the quality of the bungalow for the price we paid. I'm sure you can get much nicer in this price range. You can't fault the location, less than a minutes stroll away is a great stretch of long beach - it's really great for beach accessibility and were felt long beach was one of the best for swimming.

If you do stay here, make sure you try the cafe on the corner on the beach, I think it's called sabai house. Great food and lovely staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Best thing about this place is that it is on the beach and in the middle of a lot of amenities. I would suggest checking out the hotels nearby before checking in here.

The rooms are a bit grubby and dilapidated, and the price reflects the beach front location, while hotels just behind have no less a nice location but are cheaper.

Bathrooms were pretty grim. We stayed first for 4 nights in a fan room and then 2 nights in air-con room. Both were grim. Wardrobes both stank so we didn't use them. Ants all over the place ... yes I know it's a tropical beach, but there are ways to reduce ant trails!

Staff friendly and helpful. Fresh water and toilet paper each day but no clean towels or bedding during 4 days in fan room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantawadee Resort & Spa
Lantawadee Resort & Spa
#70 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nakara Long Beach Resort
Nakara Long Beach Resort
#73 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khum Laanta Resort
Khum Laanta Resort
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Good Days Lanta Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Palm Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Palm Beach Resort
Address: 47 Moo 3 Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Lanta Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing