We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!!”

Lanta Animal Welfare
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lanta Animal Welfare (LAW) is a non-profit organization based on Ko Lanta. LAW's objective is to rehabilitate suffering and sick animals on the island through sterilisation and care. We are open to visitors everyday from 9am to 5pm and our volunteer staff will happily provide a guided tour of the center every hour, on the hour, between 10am and 4pm. We have lots of friendly dogs who would love a long walk and cats who would like a cuddle! (Please note there is generally no dogwalking between 11-3 as it gets too hot for them!). The dogs spend their days in grassy outdoor pens, so like everywhere in Thailand, it's best to wear insect/mosquito repellant when visiting. Our major sponsor is Time For Lime bar, restaurant and cooking school, without their valuable support we would not be here.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice place!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from this place.
It is a realy nice there. They rescue doggs and mostly cats. There is a monkey with only one hand, the poor thing got bitten by a dogg. (Before he god rescued)
There's also a poor dogg with only his two front feet.
They take very good care of the pets there. You get a tour around for free! And after they show you a short video with their work of the past years.
Donations are welcome, but you can deside yourself.
Defenitly a good place to go when you're on Koh Lanta!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,807
    185
    40
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“put this on your MUST DO list!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been living next door on Koh Phi Phi which is well known for its crazy cat population. Koh Lanta Animal Welfare have been amazing!! in 2012 they were raising money to send some of their vets over from Koh Lanta to sterilze as many Phi Phi cats as they could afford, they managed to help us out so much, and not only sterilize the cats but give them much needed medication too. At the time we didnt have a vet or anyone who knew much or anything about caring for cats or animals so it was great to know that someone acknowledged our problem and cared enough to do something about it. Researching on the net and buying baby human antibiotics was the only way!! My friends and I had been to vets in the Krabi province and Phuket to sterilize 'our' cats and to buy medicine but were always ripped off so bad, paying riduculous amounts that we couldn't spare more cash to help any more. LUCKILY I had been told and had heard about the Koh Lanta Animal Welfare so i sent a quick email explaining that i had 8 (yes, 8!!!... of my own) cats to get fixed and asked for a price for sterilization. They were UNBELIEVABLE!! not only was it dirt cheap, even for someone living on Thai wages, but when i visited you can instantly see what an amazing job they are doing and speaking to one of the founders of the organisation, she has such passion, its inspiring. You helped me and the insane cat population on Koh Phi Phi so much that i don't think that any local can thank you enough for the work you have done and continue to do on a daily basis for less than peanuts!!! If you do not have the time to volunteer, pop in and have a chat, get some exersize, they are always looking for people to take the dogs for a walk!! they have a small donation box or if your hungry they have a restaurant called 'Time For Lime', all proceeds go to the animal center. Seriously cannot stress enough how amazing these guys are and how many sick kitties they have saved. Even If you are not a cat, dog or animal person these guys deserve your attention or even though it might sound like alot but just one days worth of you beer money budget, you'd be so suprised how far that money would go. I am def not one to write reviews but this place doesn't just deserve a review but a medal!!! thanks again! Jade

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jadielee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Animal welfare”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I met some dog walkers on the beach and chatted with them. I learned that they were walking dogs from the Lanta Animal Welfare. They rescue dogs and cats (and one monkey!) on the island and fix them up if they're sick. They try to get them adopted to better homes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKA_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Only found out about this place after having dinner at a restaurant which is owned by the owner for the welfare center. Decided to pop down the next day to see if we could help out for the day. Got a little tour of their facilities and ended up talking two of their rescue dogs out for the afternoon. The center is really doing a very hard and worthwhile job on a minimal budget. If you're on Kho Lanta and want to help out go down and see them. Walking the dogs along the beach for the day was great fun! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henning H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing, definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I volunteered at LAW for nearly a month. While it was a wonderful experience to know the center as a volunteer (something that everyone can do) there is always people coming to visit who are just in holidays in the island and that end up staying the whole day and even walk some dogs. The feedback I got is that every single visitor is very impressed with the amazing and tough but extremely important work the center does for the community. It is very well organised, clean and you will see the animals so happy. You can also help with donations, adoptions, as a flight volunteer or just by spreading the word!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ToscaGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanta Animal Welfare also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lanta Animal Welfare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing