We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great service to the island”

Lanta Animal Welfare
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Lanta Animal Welfare (LAW) is a non-profit organization based on Ko Lanta. LAW's objective is to rehabilitate suffering and sick animals on the island through sterilisation and care. We are open to visitors everyday from 9am to 5pm and our volunteer staff will happily provide a guided tour of the centre every hour, between 10am and 4pm. If a rescue dog needs exercising, visitors with appropriate experience may take them on one of our three walking routes. The best time to exercise a rescue dog is from 8.30am - 11am or 15:00-17:00. We do not walk our dogs in the heat of the day. The dogs spend their days in grassy outdoor pens, so like everywhere in Thailand, it's best to wear insect/mosquito repellant when visiting. Our major sponsor is Time For Lime bar, restaurant and cooking school, without their valuable support we would not be here. NOW OPEN: Kitty City and Kitty Cafe! Enjoy a bite to eat or a refreshing iced tea while hanging out with our rescued cats.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This well-run shelter provides a great service to the island, where many dogs run free, and where many dogs are mistreated. Visitors can take shelter dogs for walks and to the beach, and the shelter can faciliate adoption even for tourists.

Thank PaigeAllOvertheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cats and dogs"
in 256 reviews
"love animals"
in 72 reviews
"every hour"
in 56 reviews
"dog walking"
in 44 reviews
"free tour"
in 43 reviews
"an animal lover"
in 47 reviews
"heart warming"
in 30 reviews
"forever home"
in 20 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 18 reviews
"donation box"
in 17 reviews
"informative tour"
in 17 reviews
"an amazing job"
in 54 reviews
"non profit"
in 22 reviews
"worthy cause"
in 20 reviews
"animal shelter"
in 43 reviews
"happy place"
in 17 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 28 reviews
Filter

1,748 - 1,752 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Junie Kovacs the owner for Time for Lime initiated this fantastic setup.The centre has been designed specifically to cater for animals in need. All the proceeds from the restaurant/cooking school/bungalows go back into supporting this facility, with no assistance from local authorities. So if you don’t make it to Time For Lime, but do get to the Welfare Shelter, give generously to this worthwhile cause or but a t-shirt of T bag. Well worth a visit.

Thank Matahari1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

at january 2013 we stay one week at koh lanta and spend al lot of time at animal welfare for go fo a walk with the dogs there and spend time with a very cute dog!
if you are at koh lanta, you have to go there!! it´s a very great place with very lovely people!!and the dogs are happy when they can go for a walk maybe to the beach:-)!

1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LantaAnimalWelfare, General Manager at Lanta Animal Welfare, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, we're so pleased you had a great time visiting Lanta Animal Welfare and spending time with our lovely cats and dogs. We would love to see you again the next time you visit Koh Lanta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent a morning at the animal welfare centre, all in all as per the title we found this place genuinely inspiring.

We was given an all access areas tour by two gents from Somerset in England, who had paid out of their own money to volunteer for a month. Everything was very much an eye opening experience, from the condition that some of the animals had arrived in, through to the treatment process through to where the pets are homed for a much better life & then potentially adopted & rehomed around the world.

We had the pleasure of taking two of the dogs for nice walk on to the beach giving them a change from their normal surroundings, which was fun & very much unexpected - Most importantly the dogs seemed to love the experience!

Given that the welfare centre has limited budgets for what they are doing, the effort & detail that is put in is nothing short of amazing. The centre was founded by Julie who is the proprietor for the "Time for Lime" cookery school & restaurant, so if you do consider taking cooking classes or eating at Time for Lime, then any profits are going to the Animal Welfare - So try & make a stop there if you can!

I do feel for anyone visiting Koh Lanta, that they should check the centre out - everything is being done for a great cause & most importantly the animals are being provided a better life - Plus you get some free exercise courtesy of the dog walking!

Keep up the great work to all involved & for any visitors - Make this a must on your visit to Koh Lanta.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LantaAnimalWelfare, General Manager at Lanta Animal Welfare, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive review, it's great to hear that you had such a good time visiting Lanta Animal Welfare and taking a pair of our lovely dogs for a walk on the beach - they love being walked by tourists, so it's always very much appreciated. Please visit us again the next time you're in Thailand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We walked dogs in the jungle and down to the beach, played with them in their 'yards' and pet the cats. For any animal lover this will be a great addition to your time spent on Ko Lanta.

Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanta Animal Welfare also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lanta Animal Welfare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing