We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta Residence & Spa
Ranked #74 of 159 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hotel staff very helpful and nice. Room had fridge, air conditiong, safety box and nice bed. The hotel has lovely rooftop swimming pool and free coffee. I have travelled in many hotels in he past few months in Asia and here was my favourite breakfast. All kinds of things where to choose (toast, eggs made how you like them, pancakes, cereal, yoghurt, fruit...) The hotel was great and we only changed to other hotel, because the location is a bit far from the beach. All though you can rent a motorbike or a normal bike to go around the island. We really liked the hotel and came back here our last night as this hotel was closer to the pier and airport, so the airport transfer was cheaper here than in our other hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We loved this place and had a great time here. It has a very good location of the main road of Saladan. There are many different room types to choose between. We could not figure out the different categories so we ended up sending an e-mail to the hotel. The owner Kai was extremly nice and helpful. She was literally always around. The first week we stayed in a apartment with two bedroom (only windows facing into the livingroom), livingroom with sofa, tv and kitchen with hotplates and microwaveoven. There was also a toilet, a bathroom and a Big balcony. The second week we stayed in 2 double rooms (our choise) that were also very nice. The rooms very extremly different in size, style and decor, but all were airconditioned. We enjoyed the large rooftop pool very much. My daughter learned how to swim in it and it was never to crowded. It has a kidsarea. The included breakfast was fantastic. With the Price we were paying and the general level of breakfast in Thailand this was really amazing. Eggs made on order, different kinds of bread and cereal, nutella, jam, bacon, butter, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea etc.
It toke 5 minutes to walk to the shops and restaurants of Saladan and 20 min to the beach. The hotel rents out scooters at resonable prices and Koh Lanta is easy and safe to drive around. The hotel picked us up at the pier at no extra cost and there was a free transfer to the beach

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Bettinaengdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked, paid for and were promised a deluxe room but when we got to the hotel late one evening were told they were all taken. The only room left apparently was a tiny one on the top (fifth) floor. Having had a recent knee replacement, I assumed the elevator worked WHICH IT DIDN'T. I ended up having to walk up and down if I wanted to go anywhere.
Having traveled extensively in Thailand and Cambodia, this place--the town itself as well as the hotel--was the low point of our trip. The minute we got off the boat, it was apparent that we were viewed as wealthy Americans and targets for the many unscrupulous people who move there for the purpose of swindling tourists. I don't know if the other island resorts are the same, but my advice is to skip Saladan and this hotel in particular.

Room Tip: No matter what you choose, you may not get it.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank jeanprius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is perfectly placed if you wanna be close to city but far away from traffic and noise. It´s about 5 minutes walk to town. 10 minutes walk to beach. The hotel staff are friendly and helpfull. The rooms are light and clean. Every room has balcony, fridge and A/C. The pool is on rooftop. It´s not very big but big enough. There is a lounge area where you can have coffee for free. The prices for drinks at the hotel is the same as the supermarket. Pretty good. We had a problem with the safety box and the A/C and the staff were really helpful. We rented scooters (350 for the big ones, 250 for the smaller - you might get discount if you rent for more than one day) through hotel and it was easy. The breakfast buffet is super! You have everything and they make you scrambled eggs/omelet if want that. The hotel is helpfull with booking transport and so on and they have the same prices as in town. It doesn´t seems as if they charge extra. Opposite the hotel are two thai restaurants which are pretty cheap. Just around the corner is a swedish restaurant and some more thai restaurants. These restaurants are way cheaper than in "down town" Saladan.
Every day outside the hotel is a tuc tuc passing by with sticks (crab, chicken, fish etc). And just outside is a bamboo hut from where they sell ice coffee, ice tea and some other cold drinks. They are closed in the evening and night.
I don´t know why they call it spa as they never saw a spa.
We stayed for 2 weeks and had a pleasent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left have sun during day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sispigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We wouldn’t have stayed in their basic rooms, but they advertised at least four large, well appointed, higher priced deluxe rooms on Expedia a couple of nights before we were headed to Ko Lanta, so we booked them. When we arrived - surprise, only basic rooms were available. Of course, in high season, having trudged to their hotel in the evening, we had no choice but to accept them.

While unscrupulous, an apology and an offer to charge us only the basic room rate would have at least been acceptable. After all, even airlines overbook. But this isn’t what they had in mind. Instead of apologizing, they – always with a smile – in turns pretended they didn’t understand us, lied (“oh, you have deluxe room!”), and told us that “we should have told them sooner”. They refused to charge us the advertised basic room rate either. They were determined to take our money; whether they had the product we purchased was irrelevant.

Their sophisticated strategies for extracting money from tourists were again on full display when I caused some cosmetic damage to one of their motor scooters. They waited until they knew I was leaving (I assumed my 2,000 baht deposit would cover the minor damage), then demanded over $500 for repairs. Only when I missed my connection, stayed in Ko Lanta and got the police (who were really helpful) involved did their demands drop by 70%. The LP guide warns of this scam, I just didn’t think it would be perpetrated by my hotel.

Especially in the tourist areas of Southern Thailand, foreigners are sometimes seen as walking piggy banks who can be preyed upon financially without remorse. The owners of this property unfortunately represent the worst of this mindset.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Swedish people, swedish kids, swedish time on watches at the wall, and even books are on swedish language).
Staff is really friendly and helpfull. Great english. Good breakfast. You can find eggs, becon, vegetables, cereal and much more.
Staff can book any trip for you. Room was really big and light. There were microwave, kettle and fridge.

Room Tip: We were living at 4th floor, so waterpool just next to our room. It's great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olesya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Location was good and bad. Close to Saladin, near eating and shopping but noisy at night and early morning with the school. Also, the best beaches in our opinion (more quiet, scenic and not as crowded) were in the South of the island (Bamboo bay, Nui beach and the one near Diamond cliff) so it took us about an hour scooter ride each day.

Room was large, had A/C but cleaning was spotty during our 5 nights stay. Bathroom and shower were outside on the terrace which was a bit odd. The cleaning staff also did not lock the sliding door (which we had locked) when they did come clean the room. We complained to management but the same thing happened again the next day.
Breakfast was good and the swimming pool very nice and clean. Internet worked well overall.
Management and staff was helpful and they had the cutest and most playful kitty on the grounds.

Overall Koh Lanta was OK and laid back, but not that picturesque nor clean. There was trash everywhere near the beaches and side roads, it makes you wonder where the 10 baht cleaning fee charged at the pier goes? Also, every beach we went to had a sea lice problem and we could not stay in the water very long or we would get stung.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#20 of 85 in Ko Lanta
198 reviews
0 mi away
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
Kaw Kwang Beach Resort
#47 of 85 in Ko Lanta
265 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#68 of 85 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lanta Lapaya Resort
Lanta Lapaya Resort
#17 of 159 in Ko Lanta
72 reviews
0 mi away
Lanta Intanin Resort
Lanta Intanin Resort
#27 of 159 in Ko Lanta
74 reviews
0 mi away
Peaceful House
Peaceful House
#26 of 232 in Ko Lanta
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Residence & Spa

Address: 248 Moo.1 Saladan, Ko Lanta 811150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $31 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Residence & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lanta Residence & Spa" The family boutique hotel located in Saladan north of the Lanta island. Our hotel close to shopping, restaurants, beaches and the two Swedish schools also situated between PhiPhi and Krabi town. The Island is still nature and local, like Koh Phi Phi before it got invaded by tourism, as people are very nice and friendly. All rooms are air-conditioned and have wireless internet access. Rooftop pool with panoramic views. Fully-equipped gym with air conditioning. Visit our hotel and share a little piece and enjoyment of our island. Our warm welcome and personal service awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lanta Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing