We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket.”
Review of Baan Rim Lay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Rim Lay
Ranked #12 of 151 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located on a really nice beach, few rocks at low water, but nothing to worry about. The owner and his family are very friendly. Mr Pong loves fishing from the beach and if you fish with him will probably get some cooked fish for you in the afternoon. Very quite location but with plenty of bar/restuarants to chose from. To get there from Krabi we got Mr Pong to do the transer both ways, he charged us 5000 baht about £120 but it did make things much easier. We used agoda to book and were a bit misled by the photos as they are from the three bigger rooms. Our room stood on its own at the front and was much smaller than the photos, but it was ok. The two rooms behind were much smaller and I would not have chosen them.

Room Tip: The three larger rooms, delux, are very nice. Our room superior was fine but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petejude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice spot in Koh lanta at klong nin beach. Airconditioned large rooms with large balcony overlooking the beach. Supper clean and very attentive owners. Quiet but close to lots of restaurants. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dru82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This "hotel" is runed by a friendly thai couple. There are 3 big (new) end 3 small bungalows. The small ones are older, we stayed at B1 a big one next to restaurant Oasis Sunset which I can recommend for diner. For the bungalow you have a porch with chairs an 2 meters before that you have 2 beachchairs which are made ready everyday by mr Pong. The bathroom is very big an de cubbards too.TV, Wifi, hairdryer and a good size bed. We didnt had a thing to remark and enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this resort. Mr Pong can also puck you up at he ferrie.For booking email them: rim-laylanta2516@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JNT_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hosts were so nice and the location was great, right on the beach. Lots of nice restaurants on the same beach. Easy to book tours and activities. Only thing was that the internet wasn't strong at all... so we had to go to coffeeshops to get internet but oh well.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Baan Rim Lay offers an excellent relation price/quality. The bungalows have comfortable beds, hot water shower, water cooker an fridge, and are situated right at Klong Nin Beach, which is fine for swimming. It´s probably the cleanest hotel we ever stayed in. Breakfast is served in a restaurant just a few meters away. But we preferred to book without breakfast, and rent a scooter. The owners are very friendly, and we felt very comfortable. We´d love to come back!
Restaurants and shops are in the neighbourhood, and one can rent a scooter and book tickets right in the resort.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalows are more expensive, but worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubiecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Baan Rim Lay is one of those really exceptional places around the world that I feel lucky to have found. It is not a hotel, as it has no facilities and most definitely not a 'resort'. So, if that's your thing, there are loads of lovely hotels and resorts on Koh Lanta.

What Baan Rim Lay has to offer is beautifully designed and maintained rooms (particularly the 3 'Deluxe' seafront rooms) at relatively low prices which are directly on the beach. You take 5 steps from your front door and you have sand between your toes. Your front porch looks out over the Andaman Sea, with a palm tree at the side. You have private beach loungers outside your deck. You can hear the waves softly turning all day and night. It is heaven!

Mr Pong and his wife work hard to make sure that the rooms are clean and everything is tidy. You have an option of breakfast either buffet style, at a hotel restuarant or cafe style in the restaurant next door.

Klong nin beach is one of the least developed on Koh Lanta and has a quiet chilled vibe, with mellow music bars and people sat out in loungers on the beach ... lots of families here, not a party beach. There are great restaurants and you can walk to them down the beach - we hardly wore shoes while we were here - everything is on the beachfront. Because it is not yet 'developed' things are still quite 'Thai style' with roadside stalls selling bottles of Gasoline for motorbikes and pancakes and tours and piles of rubbish here and there. The entrance to the rooms is down a bit of an alley at the back of Mr Pong's 'reception' stall on the road and this can look a bit dodgy, at first, but it's just not yet 'westernised' ... and all the better for it, in my opinion.

Comfy beds, aircon, fridge, beachfront ... what's not to like?

Room Tip: One of the 3 'deluxe' rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank genista082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for only 2 nights - wish it had been more - the beach fronted rooms were incredible, brand new decor, stylish, clean, spacious with a very large bathroom and extremely comfy bed! To top that off we were literally a few steps from the beach. The thing that makes this place so special are the owners, Pong and his wife who were so friendly and accommodating, always willing to help always with a smile.
It definitely isn't a luxurious 5 star resort and I can't believe some of the reviews on here. It is, what it is; a family business but run extremely well, and has a real personal feel about it. If you want 5-star luxury and service then pay the price but for value for money, you can't go wrong staying here.
Overall Khlong Nin is the best beach on the island and on its doorstep is Baan Rim Lay!

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the three beach front rooms!!! The rest are clean, small and a lot cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mali_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
4.7 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,486 reviews
0.8 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.5 mi away
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
Rawi Warin Resort & Spa
#14 of 84 in Ko Lanta
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Lanta Miami Bungalows
#22 of 218 in Ko Lanta
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rim Lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rim Lay

Address: 344 Moo 6 Lanta, Ko Lanta, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $17 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Baan Rim Lay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Baan Rim Lay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing