We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely chalets in a beautiful garden setting close to a great beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely chalets in a beautiful garden setting close to a great beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great hotel, absolutely fantastic service and really lovely, helpful people running the hotel. The rooms are great - we stayed in the larger room by the pool one night and a smaller room a second time through - its worth the extra money to get the larger room in my opinion.

The location is great - easy rise to/from the pier and night market and you can't beat long beach for swimming and walking. As a bonus you also get to wander down to the beach (2minute walk) and lounge on the bamboo beach huts/chairs of Lym's Rice bowl restaurant & bar (food is more expensive by Thai standards but AWESOME and well worth it for a nice dinner out).

For most of our lunches we ate at a GREAT roadside restaurant right across the main road called "sunrise restaurant" - the owner/chef is a very sweet lady and she cooks up a huge variety of delicious dishes for very reasonable prices and they have THE best mango shakes I've had so far....they taste like puréed frozen mango, no filler, absolutely awesome on a hot day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    112
    39
    18
    3
See reviews for
62
317
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent-UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Long Beach Chalets _ good value, clean chalets a 5 minute walk through natural plants and fauna.
Cannot recommend enough, staff courteous and welcoming. Rooms / bathroom / linens etc. kept spotlessly clean. Chill out area below chalet wonderful, pool and gardens very well maintained.
3 mums restaurant - again nice staff, complimentary a la carte breakfast (not European standard) but there was always a nice crepe, eggs, toast, fresh fruit etc., so a more than adequate start to the day.
Ignore any previous 'bad' reports regarding bathrooms (problems with mosquitos, bugs etc.), you are in Thailand / a tropical destination..... These things are to be expected, just ensure you use repellent from dusk onwards! Ditto, squeaky floorboards..... Not annoying, funny if anything & we are aware that owners are trying to address this particular issue.
Pros: clean, spacious chalets, semi-open bathrooms with hot showers, nice balcony furnished with huge beanbags (albeit small), lovely chill out areas below chalets, well kept gardens and clean pool.
Moving on to Lym's Ricebowl owned by same family which is positioned on the beach 5 minutes from the chalets walking through private grounds. EXCELLENT! I will provide a further review - see restaurants.
Bamboo beds & beach beds with cushions provided free of charge to both chalet guests & the public, adjacent is a great massage venue run by a mother & daughter.... Again recommended, do give them a try. For approx £7 you can have a wonderful 1 - 1.5 hour massage, sheer bliss and if you need your feet sorted, just go for the foot scrub.
Probably the best position on Long Beach, clean facilities, clear blue sea and safe to swim.
Many other restaurants & bars within easy reach, but why go anywhere else as the food and staff were wonderful. So kind, welcoming, funny and the food cannot be faulted.
To sum up - we booked for next year 2014 before we left!

Room Tip: Pool facing deluxe rooms are larger, but we found standard chalets fine..... B block seem newer. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

the location is perfect, the setting too as well as the lodging and the welcome. Good help for excursions. very pleasant swimming pool aftera nice swim in the sea nearby.
Excellent restautrant on the beach hed by the manager's mother Lym.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow as far as possible from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall this is a nice family run Hotel with very helpful and friendly staff in a pretty good location on the beach (just south of a lot of the big resorts so a bit quieter).

However, I would just pre warn people before booking that there can be a lot of road noise through out the night and on our third and final night we could hear the bass from a nearby club until the early hours! We stayed in Room 1 and were warned on check in of the potential noise but as there was no alternative room we decided to go ahead. We were offered a move to room 2 on the second night but this was next door to room 1 so the noise levels would have not have been much better- tip - go for a pool room or one of the rooms further from the road.

One other point to note if you book via booking.com. We had originally booked our 1st night in one of the superior rooms but were informed on check in that there was a system error and the room was not available. This was no big issue but it would have been nice to have been informed prior to our arrival. Again check directly before you arrive if this is going to be a problem though I suspect this was a bit of a one off.

I'm quite picky and therefore do not be put off staying here from the above, the issues can be simply avoided if you contact them in advance.

The rooms are a good size with all you need, fridge, AC, clean bedding and towels and even a TV. There are hammocks and a lounger under the rooms which are great for chilling out on in the evening. For the price this is a great place but just beware of the room location and check before you arrive.

Another great plus for this place is the Three Mums Restaurant on the beach. The food was by far the best we had on the beach and definitely the best spring rolls we had all Holiday :-). If you like your food also check out Time for Lime.

Finally, the sunsets all the way along this coastline are amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1 and 2 as they are close by the noisy road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I read all the good reviews of this place and so booked as part of our 3 week travel around Thailand for our honeymoon.

Overall it was fine but I will list cons first then end positive with pros.

Cons
1. Room - the floorboards creak so loudly when you walk it's impossible to tiptoe to the toilet in middle of night without waking your partner! Towels ran out for 2 days so we had to share a beach towel we had brought with us for showers. The bed was changed but didn't seem the floors were cleaned. The aircon is poor also - woke up sweating every night. The bathroom sucked as it was a wet room and wasps kept flying in the open air gap when brushing my teeth. No hot water either. Just didn't feel comfortable or clean in there. They should close the gap with netting. Plus everyone could hear me peeing.

2. Mosquitos - everywhere and savage too. There is a net provided but just being extra strong repellent as the sand flies are bad also.

3. Walk to beach - rocky and full of rubbish/glass. Be careful of your bare feet.

4. Noise - waterfall from pool comes on at 6am so bring earplugs or ask to be moved away from pool. Mosque kicks off at 5am too then every 2 hours going forward. Lanta is predominately Islamic so just bear in mind.

5. Lack of seating in room - I had to drag our balcony chair in to do my hair in the mirror etc. Chairs would be good.

Pros
1. Food - Three Mums restaurant does good food for breakfast and dinner. Tasty and good prices.

2. Service - the brother and sister owners are helpful and informative and friendly. They helped us get a good deal on a speedboat transfer to the next destination.

3. The pool and grounds - pretty and clean. The waterfall and little jacuzzi pool is lovely.

4. Hammock under rooms - really nice to chill out under.

5. The beach - stunning Long Beach with an array of amazing bars and restaurants. Worth exploring as much as possible.

6. Bike rental - cheap and fun if you get a kick out of danger.

7. Bed - comfortable and big.

I wouldn't recommend if you're used to more luxurious places which was our problem and I admit it's my fault for not really checking. If you're on a budget this place is good value for money for sure. Good for younger couples I would say. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Petra Gladbach,

We are grateful to hear both your positive and negative feed back on our resort :) & I am sincerely sorry to hear that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations during your stay with us. I STRONGLY assure you that your feedback has been treated as a perfect case study for our team here at Long Beach Chalet, and we will ENSURE that the mentioned conditions will be directly dealt with.

However, as discussed during your check out before your departure to the next hotel, we would have been able to remedy all of those factors should you have informed us maybe the first or second night of your stay? But you have decided to stay for 5 out of the 10 initially intended before addressing the issues & promptly decided to check out the following day. Since you had chosen to stay on and had not really alert us of your discomfort & displeasure we were unable to cater to your specific needs. Such factors as hot water, air con, & unsatisfactory bathroom/bedroom preferences, is very common and present in every resort/hotel of all sizes & prices. These amenities gets utilized often & so hardly gets time to replenish themselves before the next check in, which is especially true for every hotel during the high and peak season all over the world. If you had let us know we would have been able to come up with some solution or means of meeting your requirements or at least been able to allocate you to a different room if the issues persisted.

Please also understand the 'nature' of the architecture of our bungalows also. Each and every chalet is a high rise complex .ie. as you would term on 'stilts', & has been constructed of purely wood and concrete, the chances of it being 'wobbly' is therefore granted, especially if it has gone through the whole year of the high season period. However, having said that we are grateful and aware of this & it has already been forecast ed that we would renovate each individual chalet during the low seasons to address its 'wobbliness'. Please also understand that the 'gap' in the bathroom is intended like that, due to the very concept of 'outdoor' bathroom. This help with air circulation of the bathroom itself. All of our bathrooms are constructed like that.

As for the towels, we would have been able to issue you with new ones or at least given you explanations as to why there was a temporary shortage of towels, the whole island had to undergo a power cut for the whole day during one of the days of your stay which meant that the whole bungalow's laundry were unable to get washed/dried in time for next day's use. Even so, if you could have informed us that you have been using the same towels 2 days straight, we would have been able to directly address the House Keeping.

Once again, I sincerely thank you both for taking the time to right this very honest & useful feedback on Long Beach Chalet. We will now work TWICE as hard on both our service & overall satisfaction to our customers.

Sincerely,

Long Beach Chalet Mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had such a great stay at Long Beach Chalet. The owners are fab and are english speaking (I think they went to school in the uk). We stayed in both the standard and luxury rooms. Luxury are quite a bit bigger and have more light in them due to big windows but really both were lovely, clean and were actually rather luxurious for the price! I loved lounging in the little bed under the room - great for lunchtime snoozes! We stayed at Layana as well during our trip which was lovely but actually if we went back again we would stay here no matter what our budget was, it was just brill (they are literally next door to each other!). Our only quibble was the transport - we booked a 'luxury' car to drive us from the airport and it was rather scuzzie and took a long time while from Layana we got the speedboat which was so quick! I think they seem to have other options now (we went a year ago) so I'm sure thats all sorted out. We were there on honeymoon and it was very romantic, although the warmth and friendliness of the staff make it suitable for families and singles too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Long Beach Chalets.

When we arrived by tuk tuk which cost 150bht from the pier (we had taken the ferry from Ao Nang)we were greet at reception and our luggage unloaded for us, whilst we checked in we were served fresh pineapple juice and then shown to our room. The room we were given was room 1 right next to reception and the restaurant, whilst there was nothing wrong with the room we asked to moved as we like to sleep late and thought that it would be noisy.

The management were really helpful and said that although they were full we could change rooms tomorrow.

So, room 1 : king size bed, mozzie net, small wardrobe, dressing table, tv, fridge, aircon, kettle with cups saucers, tea coffee etc. two bottles of water. The balcony was narrow with nothing to sit on.

The bathroom, whilst others have reported this as 'outside' what it actually is, is a separate room ( the stairs divide the two) whose walls finish about 12 inches from the ceiling, in room 1's bathroom this gap was filled with bamboo.

There was a sink, loo and shower, shampoo, shower gel, cotton buds, and shower cap provided.

Two hand towels, two bath towels, two beach towels.

Under the room was the chill our area with a hammock, day bed and table. The hammock looks a bit scary but my god it was so comfortable.

The second room we were allocated, b2, was pretty much the same except much bigger. There was far more room around the bed, the tv was on the wall and there were two bean bags which you could either put at the end of the bed or take out onto the, larger, balcony. It had two sliding doors onto balcony where room 1 had had a small door and a couple of windows.

The bathroom was about the same except the gap at the top of the wall was open.

As far as I know the options when you book are either garden view standard room or a pool view exec room, the pool view rooms were clearly bigger and had double balconies, however, the garden view ones whilst obviously smaller had nice views..... but it appears block b is bigger than block a so ask for block b when booking!

The grounds were well kept, we saw a groundsman out every day, the pool was lovely, really clean and well kept with a smaller jacuzzi type water feature, as others have reported the sun loungers were hideously uncomfortable, some people brought the cushions from their chill out areas, me, I 'borrowed' a seat cushion from My Lyms which I carried about for the whole 4 days and used it at the beach and by the pool. There were some parasols.

The beach: let me clear this up, whilst the complex is not on the beach the only thing between it and the beach is a dirt track and palm trees. It's about 3 mins walk and the most you will encounter is some fallen coconuts.

The beach had some sun beds and day beds, all free.

Shade was available up to about 2pm then it receded completely. No parasols.

The sand was very pale and no litter however the trees lining the beach shed a kind of fir which covered the beach.

The water was very clear, no lurking monsters , and was really warm

The sunset from this beach was amazing and a sunset swim was just perfect.

Back to the comp,ex and the Three Mums restaurant. We only took breakfast, it was all table service, no buffet, there were continental options such as cereal, fruit with yoghurt, breads etc. then cooked options like full English, eggs on toast, eggy bread, then Thai options which were basically rice or noodle dishes. Everything tasted fine.

On an evening the restaurant had options such as BBQ which they held in the garden which, randomly, had a large cinema style screen which appeared to show tv.

Cost of food in 3mums was relevant to the cost of the resort, ie a rice dish was about 180bht but the same dish in the street would have been 60bht.

The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful, we booked our return minivan at reception where you could also book trips.

The area was really quiet, there were some bars about 500m down the road but most evening action took place on the beach where the beach bars were lit up with tables on the sand, food and drinks served but everyone in bed by 11pm

My only negative comment and this not really the resorts fault us that it can be noisy during the night, the traffic, the aircon, the fridge .... Would recommend ear plugs. Also we got eaten alive by mozzie a and sand lies... Need super strength repellant.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Long Beach Chalets, please feel free to contact me with any questions.




Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BamMargera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Property: Long Beach Chalet
Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing