We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I read all the good reviews of this place and so booked as part of our 3 week travel around Thailand for our honeymoon.

Overall it was fine but I will list cons first then end positive with pros.

Cons
1. Room - the floorboards creak so loudly when you walk it's impossible to tiptoe to the toilet in middle of night without waking your partner! Towels ran out for 2 days so we had to share a beach towel we had brought with us for showers. The bed was changed but didn't seem the floors were cleaned. The aircon is poor also - woke up sweating every night. The bathroom sucked as it was a wet room and wasps kept flying in the open air gap when brushing my teeth. No hot water either. Just didn't feel comfortable or clean in there. They should close the gap with netting. Plus everyone could hear me peeing.

2. Mosquitos - everywhere and savage too. There is a net provided but just being extra strong repellent as the sand flies are bad also.

3. Walk to beach - rocky and full of rubbish/glass. Be careful of your bare feet.

4. Noise - waterfall from pool comes on at 6am so bring earplugs or ask to be moved away from pool. Mosque kicks off at 5am too then every 2 hours going forward. Lanta is predominately Islamic so just bear in mind.

5. Lack of seating in room - I had to drag our balcony chair in to do my hair in the mirror etc. Chairs would be good.

Pros
1. Food - Three Mums restaurant does good food for breakfast and dinner. Tasty and good prices.

2. Service - the brother and sister owners are helpful and informative and friendly. They helped us get a good deal on a speedboat transfer to the next destination.

3. The pool and grounds - pretty and clean. The waterfall and little jacuzzi pool is lovely.

4. Hammock under rooms - really nice to chill out under.

5. The beach - stunning Long Beach with an array of amazing bars and restaurants. Worth exploring as much as possible.

6. Bike rental - cheap and fun if you get a kick out of danger.

7. Bed - comfortable and big.

I wouldn't recommend if you're used to more luxurious places which was our problem and I admit it's my fault for not really checking. If you're on a budget this place is good value for money for sure. Good for younger couples I would say. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Petra Gladbach,

We are grateful to hear both your positive and negative feed back on our resort :) & I am sincerely sorry to hear that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations during your stay with us. I STRONGLY assure you that your feedback has been treated as a perfect case study for our team here at Long Beach Chalet, and we will ENSURE that the mentioned conditions will be directly dealt with.

However, as discussed during your check out before your departure to the next hotel, we would have been able to remedy all of those factors should you have informed us maybe the first or second night of your stay? But you have decided to stay for 5 out of the 10 initially intended before addressing the issues & promptly decided to check out the following day. Since you had chosen to stay on and had not really alert us of your discomfort & displeasure we were unable to cater to your specific needs. Such factors as hot water, air con, & unsatisfactory bathroom/bedroom preferences, is very common and present in every resort/hotel of all sizes & prices. These amenities gets utilized often & so hardly gets time to replenish themselves before the next check in, which is especially true for every hotel during the high and peak season all over the world. If you had let us know we would have been able to come up with some solution or means of meeting your requirements or at least been able to allocate you to a different room if the issues persisted.

Please also understand the 'nature' of the architecture of our bungalows also. Each and every chalet is a high rise complex .ie. as you would term on 'stilts', & has been constructed of purely wood and concrete, the chances of it being 'wobbly' is therefore granted, especially if it has gone through the whole year of the high season period. However, having said that we are grateful and aware of this & it has already been forecast ed that we would renovate each individual chalet during the low seasons to address its 'wobbliness'. Please also understand that the 'gap' in the bathroom is intended like that, due to the very concept of 'outdoor' bathroom. This help with air circulation of the bathroom itself. All of our bathrooms are constructed like that.

As for the towels, we would have been able to issue you with new ones or at least given you explanations as to why there was a temporary shortage of towels, the whole island had to undergo a power cut for the whole day during one of the days of your stay which meant that the whole bungalow's laundry were unable to get washed/dried in time for next day's use. Even so, if you could have informed us that you have been using the same towels 2 days straight, we would have been able to directly address the House Keeping.

Once again, I sincerely thank you both for taking the time to right this very honest & useful feedback on Long Beach Chalet. We will now work TWICE as hard on both our service & overall satisfaction to our customers.

Sincerely,

Long Beach Chalet Mgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 618 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had such a great stay at Long Beach Chalet. The owners are fab and are english speaking (I think they went to school in the uk). We stayed in both the standard and luxury rooms. Luxury are quite a bit bigger and have more light in them due to big windows but really both were lovely, clean and were actually rather luxurious for the price! I loved lounging in the little bed under the room - great for lunchtime snoozes! We stayed at Layana as well during our trip which was lovely but actually if we went back again we would stay here no matter what our budget was, it was just brill (they are literally next door to each other!). Our only quibble was the transport - we booked a 'luxury' car to drive us from the airport and it was rather scuzzie and took a long time while from Layana we got the speedboat which was so quick! I think they seem to have other options now (we went a year ago) so I'm sure thats all sorted out. We were there on honeymoon and it was very romantic, although the warmth and friendliness of the staff make it suitable for families and singles too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We loved our stay at the Long Beach Chalets.

When we arrived by tuk tuk which cost 150bht from the pier (we had taken the ferry from Ao Nang)we were greet at reception and our luggage unloaded for us, whilst we checked in we were served fresh pineapple juice and then shown to our room. The room we were given was room 1 right next to reception and the restaurant, whilst there was nothing wrong with the room we asked to moved as we like to sleep late and thought that it would be noisy.

The management were really helpful and said that although they were full we could change rooms tomorrow.

So, room 1 : king size bed, mozzie net, small wardrobe, dressing table, tv, fridge, aircon, kettle with cups saucers, tea coffee etc. two bottles of water. The balcony was narrow with nothing to sit on.

The bathroom, whilst others have reported this as 'outside' what it actually is, is a separate room ( the stairs divide the two) whose walls finish about 12 inches from the ceiling, in room 1's bathroom this gap was filled with bamboo.

There was a sink, loo and shower, shampoo, shower gel, cotton buds, and shower cap provided.

Two hand towels, two bath towels, two beach towels.

Under the room was the chill our area with a hammock, day bed and table. The hammock looks a bit scary but my god it was so comfortable.

The second room we were allocated, b2, was pretty much the same except much bigger. There was far more room around the bed, the tv was on the wall and there were two bean bags which you could either put at the end of the bed or take out onto the, larger, balcony. It had two sliding doors onto balcony where room 1 had had a small door and a couple of windows.

The bathroom was about the same except the gap at the top of the wall was open.

As far as I know the options when you book are either garden view standard room or a pool view exec room, the pool view rooms were clearly bigger and had double balconies, however, the garden view ones whilst obviously smaller had nice views..... but it appears block b is bigger than block a so ask for block b when booking!

The grounds were well kept, we saw a groundsman out every day, the pool was lovely, really clean and well kept with a smaller jacuzzi type water feature, as others have reported the sun loungers were hideously uncomfortable, some people brought the cushions from their chill out areas, me, I 'borrowed' a seat cushion from My Lyms which I carried about for the whole 4 days and used it at the beach and by the pool. There were some parasols.

The beach: let me clear this up, whilst the complex is not on the beach the only thing between it and the beach is a dirt track and palm trees. It's about 3 mins walk and the most you will encounter is some fallen coconuts.

The beach had some sun beds and day beds, all free.

Shade was available up to about 2pm then it receded completely. No parasols.

The sand was very pale and no litter however the trees lining the beach shed a kind of fir which covered the beach.

The water was very clear, no lurking monsters , and was really warm

The sunset from this beach was amazing and a sunset swim was just perfect.

Back to the comp,ex and the Three Mums restaurant. We only took breakfast, it was all table service, no buffet, there were continental options such as cereal, fruit with yoghurt, breads etc. then cooked options like full English, eggs on toast, eggy bread, then Thai options which were basically rice or noodle dishes. Everything tasted fine.

On an evening the restaurant had options such as BBQ which they held in the garden which, randomly, had a large cinema style screen which appeared to show tv.

Cost of food in 3mums was relevant to the cost of the resort, ie a rice dish was about 180bht but the same dish in the street would have been 60bht.

The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful, we booked our return minivan at reception where you could also book trips.

The area was really quiet, there were some bars about 500m down the road but most evening action took place on the beach where the beach bars were lit up with tables on the sand, food and drinks served but everyone in bed by 11pm

My only negative comment and this not really the resorts fault us that it can be noisy during the night, the traffic, the aircon, the fridge .... Would recommend ear plugs. Also we got eaten alive by mozzie a and sand lies... Need super strength repellant.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Long Beach Chalets, please feel free to contact me with any questions.




Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank zedtwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had 6 nights at LBC. The first night was in a standard room which was very nice and the next 5 in the luxury room which was really great. Fantastic pool and pretty good breakfast included in the price. The rooms are not cheap but are still good value. While the venue itself is great the service and friendly attitude of staff is also a highlight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We loved the bungalows at Long Beach Chalet. They are beautifully appointed and kept incredibly clean. Each one is on stilts with a seating area beneath consisting of a hammock and a bamboo lounge bed, this is great for if it rains at all, nice to chill out with a book and a Chang beer. The 3 mums restaurant will also deliver any food and drinks to your room, which is very handy.

The Rooms have a little shelving and clothes hanging area, and a mosquito net above the bed. There are huge sliding doors if you want to sit out on the balcony on the big bean bags. The air conditioning could be slightly stronger, but worked well all the same. The only thing that was missing from the room was a safe. We had to keep our valuables locked in the main safe in the front office, which although was perfectly safe, we would have preferred one in the room.There was access to the safe between 7am and 10pm everyday.

The bathroom is separate to the rooms accessed across the private stairway. It feels like you are showering outdoors as the roof sits slightly away from the walls, this is wonderful. The shower was great and i didn't have any problems with mosquito bites as I had read in previous reviews.

The staff are fantastic and helped us organise anything we needed, including a scooter (300thb per day) which worked out much cheaper than getting tuk tuks and was a fantastic way to see the island. Also not much traffic (cars) on the road so it was quite safe. They also booked us onto a Thai cookery course, Time for Lime, which was fantastic, and also included return transport to and from the hotel.

The connecting restaurant is The 3 mums, which was great. We really rated the BBQ which served a selection of seafood cooked to order, including the best squid we had on our trip. Breakfast was not a buffet unlike all the other places we had stayed. I liked this as it meant that everything was fresh and cooked to order, and panic not, you can order more than one thing! We loved the dim sum in the morning, also the crepes!

The beach is a five minute walk away, and having stayed directly on the beach in all our other hotels during a trip, we counted this as a slight negative, but only because we had been so spoilt elsewhere. The beach itself is very quiet, but if you walk up to the right when you reach the beach there are more beach bars, a mini mart and beach massages and its slightly busier.

There is a fantastic restaurant called Lym's Rice Bowl as you reach the beach from the hotel. We loved it here at any time of the day, and chose to eat here quite a lot. The bamboo lounge beds are the perfect place to watch the sunset with a beer or cocktail, or you can sit directly on the beach and have a delicious thai meal with your feet in the sand. Highly recommended. The staff are fabulous, making sure you know exactly what you are eating, how it was cooked and the traditional way to eat it. Loved it here!

Long Beach Chalet was my favourite accommodation during my 3 weeks in Thailand and fantastic value for money. I will be recommending it to friends and would definitely stay here again on a trip back to Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moonlondon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Long Beach Chalets is located in a garden, alongside the road, at 5 minutes walking distance from the beach. That beach is the most beautiful beach on Koh Lanta. The sand is clean, the sea is terrific with a sand bottom ( so no sharp corals, stones and/or urchins), the slope is not steep and there is hardly any current (safe for children). All this in December, I don't know how it is in other times of the year. I was there in the peak season and still the beach was not full at all. There are some small clusters of loungers and in between them hardly anybody. In front of Long Beach Chalets there is one such cluster, belonging to Lym's Rice Bowl, the restaurant at the beach that is run by the three mums, serving nice food at a perfect location. The restaurant called The Three Mums is located in Long Beach Chalets and is not run by the three mums anymore. The food there is nothing special and the location is neither, so I can't recommend eating there. The huts at Long Beach Chalets are very comfortable and kept very clean. The platform under the hut is great for relaxing, although you have to realise that you will be hearing some trafficnoise. Not too bad though. I did not make use of the swimmingpool, but it looked clean and nice. The beds surrounding it don't have any pillows on them, though, and are made of wood, so they are very hard to lie on.
Other then some of the travellers who have been writing reviews, I do not think that the staff was special. Some were friendly, one or two were not, most of them do not speak any English, the owners (a brother and sister) do speak English very well and are friendly but are spending almost all of their time in their little office, so are not making a very big contribution towards atmosphere and Poo, the manager, is a very friendly and serviceoriented guy, but not a very outgoing personality. So don't go to Long Beach Chalets expecting an extraordinarely warm and friendly atmosphere. Go there to spend time at lovely Koh Lanta, enjoy the nicest beach of Koh Lanta, be lodged comfortably in the vicinity of enough shops and restaurants (and one or two bars) at a very calm place and you will be happy. And I can heartily recommend to hire a scooter, so shops and restaurants are easier to reach and to explore the islands. The roads are very good and the traffic is really low key.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoCo188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for five nights in January 2013 and couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful and comfortable (in fact, one of the most comfortable beds in all our three weeks in Thailand), and cleaned daily. The rooms look exactly like they do online - modern and very clean. There is a small refrigerator that they stock with two bottles of water daily.
The hotel staff really go out of their way to be helpful and welcoming, with surprising little touches - they left little snacks in our room every afternoon - nice bonus! And one afternoon we were enjoying the pool and they brought us a complimentary small plate of lychee and pineapple, which was wonderfully refreshing.
The bathroom is right outside the bedroom, and it's a bit like camping because it's open air - and we had a frog friend hanging out in there, which was great because it was probably eating all the bugs - but it wasn't a problem for us at all. We also booked a snorkeling tour with the hotel - the four islands tour - and it was fantastic. They also arranged for us to have a scooter for the day for 300baht ($10 USD), which was very convenient.
One of the best part of the rooms are the small lounging area underneath - one day it rained all day and we spent the day on the comfy bed underneath our room reading and relaxing and ordered lunch from Three Mum's - it was perfect.
It's not directly on the beach, but rather a short walk behind, and we spent a few days at Lym's Rice Bowl, which was also fantastic. It's on a great part of the beach - even though we were there during peak season, it never felt crowded.
All in all a great experience, I would recommend it to anyone who wanted to stay on Long Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeannpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
492 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
852 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $27 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing