We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best we found in Lanta but a bit noisy from being close to the main road”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best we found in Lanta but a bit noisy from being close to the main road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Lanta and we were both impressed by the service and quality of the room. I decided to wait a week and write this review so I could see what the standard is for this price range of rooms. We wanted to stay longer but it was fully booked. We have seen over 15 other resorts in the same price range and this is the best. The only reason we gave it 4 out of 5 is because our chalet was the one closest to the road so we were woken very early by loud motorcycles passing by. Also, the curtains don't block out the light so expect the room to be very bright early in the morning. If you can, get a chalet closer towards the beach and your holiday will be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csinnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    115
    40
    18
    3
See reviews for
64
326
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at the Long Beach Chalet for 8 nights. We booked after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disppointed.

We were picked up from the ferry by one of the owners - he was on time and a really nice guy who spoke good English (not that we minded but it was a bonus!).

Long Beach Chalet is a mix of accommodation and a resturant. The accommodation is made up a number of bungalows on stilts. Some are quite near to the road but to be honest its hardly the M62 and a few tuk tuks hardly constitute noise. That said we has a chalet furthest away and so our judgement may have been different if we were nearer to the road.

The bungalow was great. If you have difficulties climbing steep stairs you may want to think twice because there is a short flight of steps where at the top the accommodation splits into the bedroom and the bathroom.The bedroom is clean stylish with a comfotable bed. The bathroom is outside and you have to go out of your bedroom to get to it. It has a shower, toilet and wash basin. Its all a bit basic and if we had any criticism it is because the hot water wasn't working properly. This wasn't a major problem at the time because it was so hot anyway. The only other thing to note is that it is worth buying some insect repellent because the bathroom is outdoor and the bugs get about.... although its mainly mosquitos rather than anything nasty....Also the air conditioning in the bedroom was quite noisy. These are minor gripes and haven't affected our judgement of the place.

The restuarant is called 3 mums and this is where you get breakfast which is very nice. Cooked breakfast, cereal, toast loads of fresh fruit. It is also a restuarant at night and the food is top quality. It is home cooked and one of the 3 mums is the main person behind it. She is very friendly and provides a real home from home atmosphere.

The beach is just a few minutes walk from the accommodation and is very quiet, white sand and great sea. There are places to eat on the beach, not too many though and there are massage places which are great and not too in your face with the hard sell you get in some other places.

The main town in Ko Lanta is about 10 minutes tuk tuk away. This will cost you about 150 bahts. There are markets and restuarants there too and it is a small but lively place.

We hired a scooter from Long Beach Chalet for about £5 a day plus petrol at next to nothing. This is worth doing as the island is beautiful and we went to the eco elephant place where we negotiated to have one hour trip through the jungle on the elephant without doing the naff tourist bit with juggling balls and monkeys playing the piano.... or whatever.

All in all Ko Lanta was the best place we stayed at in the 3 weeks in Thailand (Bangkok was a close second). This was made possible with the great stay at Long Beach Chalet and we would definantly stay there again. A great place to escape and capture real Thailand at a reasonable price too.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room furthest away from the road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ennalairla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Can't rave about this place enough. Absolutely loved it here. We stayed in one of the newer, larger bungalows which were only built 10 months or so ago and you can tell that they have made the investment in quality materials and workmanship which is refreshing to see in Thailand. Our room was spotless, chic, yet still homely and had the most comfortable bed with mozzie net.

All bungalows are on stilts with a lovely outdoor living area underneath and they all overlook the pool which also looks brand new and is spotlessly clean. Other reviewers have remarked that the resort was close to the road but I didn't find this to be an issue at all and in my opinion it shouldn't deter anyone from going.

The resort is a short walk from one of the nicest beaches on the island. I felt that it was a lot more low key and chilled out than other beaches and I really loved the atmosphere here.

The adjoining restaurant, The Three Mums serves excellent, high quality yet reasonably priced thai food and we ate here on about 6 occasions, even when we were staying at other bungalows on the island.

What I liked best about Long Beach Chalet is that it's a friendly, family owned and run business and they really care about making improvements and making your stay as comfortable as possible. On 2 separate occasions we were approached by the younger members of the family who asked how we were enjoying our stay and whether they could make any improvements. Even though we couldn't fault the resort at all they were keen to hear about what we had seen elsewhere and how they could step up their game. I love this attitude and have no doubt that they will continue to be one of the nicest and most successful resorts on the island.

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer, larger bungalows if possible. I'm sure they're all lovely though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed there three month after the opening.

The rooms: perfect! You can take your breakfast under your rooms :)))

You only go 2 minutes to the NICE beach.

The only negative aspect was the mainstreet - sometimes loud.

Very nice stuff!!! The owner speaks perfect english. Thank you for this nice days!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _sabrina_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

After arriving in Koh Lanta with no accommodation we were lucky enough to have a last minute room open up for us at Long Beach Chalet. My wife and I had actually booked into another chalet along long beach after looking for ages for a room and eventually settling for what was the best of a bad lot. By pure luck a room had opened up at Long Beach Chalet and we pounced as what you got was 5 star facilities for a fraction of the price.

The rooms were all modern and amazing. The staff friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty. I would recommend any traveler to stay here in Koh Lanta. We honestly had some of best and most relaxing times of our holiday here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuno X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

On arrival at Long Beach Chalets I was a little bit put off by its proximity to the road. I was expecting the chalets to be set back amongst the trees but some of the chalets and the restaurant are right next to the main road from the ferry pier. I crossed my fingers that we would be allocated one of the chalets nearer to the beach and luckily I was right! The noise from the road was unnoticeable where we were, but I imagine that the chalets closer to it may have some problem with noise.

The staff were all very friendly, and they were pretty relaxed about check-out times etc. Tam checked us out and was keen to know if there was anything they could improve on etc.
The setting of the bungalows is really nice, the pool looks very inviting. I imagine it will look even nicer when all the plants and trees have started to grow a bit more - it does all still look quite new and slightly bare at the moment.

The chalet itself (a standard one) was lovely - the room was spotless and the bed was super comfortable - it made it hard to get out of bed in the morning! The bathroom is not attached to the room itself, so you do have to remember to cover up if you're scampering across before/after a shower! The bathroom is slightly open to the elements (i.e. bugs) and we did find the mosquito net was necessary at night - so make sure to keep the doors closed and bring mozzie spray with you! It's a short walk from the end of the chalets down the little track to the beach. And what a lovely beach! It stretches for miles and there are endless little beach-side shacks serving food and drinks. We did eat at Long Beach Chalets one night, where the food was very tasty, but I definitely preferred eating at the restaurants on the beach and listening to the waves rather than the road. However, the breakfast at the chalets was lovely and there are lots of choices.

I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Ko Lanta who wants a quieter, more relaxed break. It was nice to be away from the crowds, and the beach never felt busy as it was so big. The chalets were perfect and they definitely made our other hotels on the trip seem drab and shabby! Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper or more worried about noise from the road - ask for a chalet closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ic060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I could write a long review praising the lovely chalets, the nice garden, the tasty food in the restaurant, the beach, the sea, the sunset and the staff who did everything to make our stay perfect but instead let me thank Tam, Tai, Lin, Lee, Mum and the rest of the family and crew to make us feel like being at home and especially thank Lin who even made us feel part of the family. An incredible time we spent at Long Beach Chalet, will definitely go back! :)
Tip for fellow travellers: ask Lin for the Thai breakfast: it's soooo tasty like nowhere else and makes you full until the evening. :)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.3 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Property: Long Beach Chalet
Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing