We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Fruit Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fruit Tree Lodge
Ranked #43 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4-5 nights in February and found the place quite average (I would like to point out that my other half would rate this is as a 4 star).

Yes, the setting and owners were nice but the provision of only one fan was not enough for 2 people staying in the one room, a room which could get very hot. Furthermore there were a couple of holes in the mosquito nets which made it difficult to leave the window open when we slept at night.

My partner would like to add here that she thought the room was lovely.

One day the electricity on the whole island was to be switched off. It was only when we heard a customer complaining to the management that we found out that this would be happening. It would have been good for us to be told this information earlier than the night before so that we could make plans accordingly.

The bathroom was clean enough but nothing special.

No breakfast included, but the wi-fi was a great addition to these little stilted bungalows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Absy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    14
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place whilst looking on tripadvisor for somewhere for myself and girlfriend and my parents to stay. Very promising reviews, we were not disappointed! The rooms are lovely and clean, nice and large, decent bathroom, balcony, large bed with mosquito net and a fridge. Set in a well groomed garden these bungalows really are great. Owners are lovely and gave us great advice on the island. We've just returned from a day of diving with the company they work for, lanta divers and this was also an all round top notch experience. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcusmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Fruit Tree Lodge for 1 week with my boyfriend. There are only 8 bunglows which makes everything really personal. The 2 owners live in the first bungalow and are really friendly and helpful. There is no reception so you have to email or call first. All the bungalows are on stilts so you feel you are further away from the bugs and lizards. The bungalows are fan only but they are definitely cool enough at night. They are pretty spacious too and nicely decorated, you get a little welcome back too which is a lovely touch. The location is also great, at the end of Long Beach near many restaurants and some nice bars. Also only 3 min walk to the beach. I thought they were good value for money too at 800 baht a night when you stay at least 7 nights. You can find slightly cheaper places nearby but not in quite as good location and also not nice spacious bungalows set in a lovely little jungle with lots of birds and fruit trees!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DollyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratov, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rested on Koh Lanta for the second time. In our first visit we stayed at another beach, this time we decided to stay on Long beach. For accommodation we chose Fruit Tree Lodge and did not spare! During our stay we were only the best memories of this place! I would especially like to mention the friendly Caroline and Bamon and their wonderful cats. Highly recommend these bungalows!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trubec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pros: Stayed for 12 days. Super clean. Friendly cleaner comes by every day. Great modern Thai decor. Large floor to ceiling windows on the front. Bathroom is pristine white. Very spacious with lots of room to put your bags. Good strong WIFI in rooms. Large balcony to do exercises or to sit and read on. Good mattress and mosquito net. Fridge in room. Wonderful English speaking hosts. Location is great, right on the main road near 7-11 but it doesn't feel like you're on the road. Very close to all the restaurants and bars. The elevated nature of the bungalows makes the whole place feel very lofty and gives you a sense of privacy. The gardens on the property are very well kept. The bungalow is super sturdy and has actual dry walled walls instead of bamboo walls. High ceiling. Right next to Red Snapper restaurant.

Cons: It's not on the beach, but it's like a two minute walk from the beach. No AC. Only a stand up fan which was a bit weak, a stronger ceiling fan might be better. No screens on the windows. No in-room safe.

We stayed here for 12 nights. We've stayed at another place on the beach before and we preferred Fruit Tree Lodge. Don't let the fact that it's not right on the beach deter you. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We absolutely loved this place!
Recommended by LantaDivers, these bungalows were exactly what we were looking for. I felt tike I was on a honeymoon!
Clean and comfortable and just a short walk to the beach. Great location on Lanta Beach, just a short tuktuk ride to the top of the island. You may have to keep an eye out though because not a lot of drives knew where this was, it's sort of hidden.

Room Tip: No front desk so make sure to call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This little lovely place with just a few bungalows at the end of long beach in Prah-Ae village is a little gem. You have the feeling of living in a lush garden or small jungle, but with hot-water, everyday cleaning and wifi. Just 100m away from the best beach and walking distance to some of the best restaurangs and coffee shops on the island, like Red Snapper and Faim de Laup. Superb simply.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
0.0 mi away
Lom La Lanta
Lom La Lanta
#13 of 145 in Ko Lanta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NT Lanta Resort
NT Lanta Resort
#113 of 145 in Ko Lanta
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Andaman Sunflower Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort
Nautilus Resort
#14 of 212 in Ko Lanta
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fruit Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fruit Tree Lodge

Property: Fruit Tree Lodge
Address: Pra-Ae Village, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fruit Tree Lodge & Coffee Shop started off 7 years ago as a small collection of Thai style bungalows located in a local village called Pra-Ae on the beautiful island of Koh Lanta, South West Thailand. Recently we have the developed the property to include a brand new, modern, air conditioned coffee shop on site, offering breakfast, brunch, snacks and drinks. The bungalows are up on stilts and have a balcony overlooking the garden. Fruit Tree Lodge & Coffee Shop is located in the village and therefore close walking distance to restaurants and other local amenities, and it is approximately 5 minute walk to the stunning Long Beach, one of Koh Lanta's most popular beaches. Each bungalow has a double bed, hot water shower, fridge, fan and free wifi. The rooms are cleaned 6 days a week, and linen and towels changed on a regular basis. The bungalows are stylish, comfortable and are excellent value for money. Fruit Tree Coffee Shop is open between 07:30 and 17:00. Another addition to our property is Lanta Yoga, located approximately 200m away from Fruit Tree Lodge and Coffee Shop. We have designed and developed a brand new yoga sala at a private setting up amongst the trees and close to nature. The yoga sala was specifically designed to create a peaceful atmosphere perfect for practicing yoga. Vinyasa Flow yoga classes are available for all levels. Everyone welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fruit Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing