We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood bbq on the beach”
Review of Thai Cat

Thai Cat
Ranked #25 of 293 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is a beach restaurant at the northern end of Long Beach where we ate last night. I was greatly disappointed by the meal and the price in a country where we have been so impressed by the quality and the cost of foodcountrywhere
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood bbq on the beach”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As we left it quite late to book a table for NYE, we were lucky and surprised to get a cabana at Thai Cat. Due to the size and layout of the restaurant, I was expecting this to be a rather hurried and unfriendly experience. However, whilst the servers were literally running back and forth, the food was lovely and very reasonably priced. Overall the service was good.

I normally prefer the smaller beach restaurants but as the seafood BBQs appear to have largely disappeared in Koh Lanta, I'd recommend this for a prawn or lobster fix.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    212
    65
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of thousands of Thai restaurants.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hard to find from the road, but easy if you are on Long a beach. Take a TukTuk. Service is FAST. The servers RUN! Huge menu selection. All 4 of us loved our meals.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grizskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on Long Beach”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent restaurant right on the sand on Long Beach. Great food and very good - and make a note of this - quick service!
Not expensive.
Thai- , indian-, mexican- and western food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank svempaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place. Service & food is excellent.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We are staying at Long beach and visited this place several times. Actually we intend to have dinner here every evening because it's simply the best place near our hotel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on the beach”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

From the very first time we've visited Thai Cat, quality of service has been beyond any expectations. You can see the staff running round to ensure customers' expectations are exceeded. Food is really nice and the menu has a great variety of both Thai and Western dishes. Fresh bbq has a nice selection of seafood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirrre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cat also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Thai Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing