We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the beach...”
Review of Nik's Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nik's Garden
Ranked #11 of 145 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good location on the beach...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice place on the beach. The standard rooms were a bit too small and very basic. It was very clean and Daniel, the owner was super friendly. The gardens and grounds were lovely and the beachside restaurant and bar were good. The outside "verhandah" was tiny and not private at all. We enjoyed our stay but felt it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    33
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
84
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the beach bungalow looking straight onto the beach and Andaman sea for two nights. The accommodation had been fully modernised to a high standard and our room had a double bed, single bed, tv large fridge, en suite shower room (with his and hers sinks and area for hanging/storing cothes) and separate toilet. After that we stayed in one of the sea view rooms for six nights which contained a double bed, wet room with toilet, fridge and tv and a small terrace which looked onto the garden.
The resort is situated beside the bar which leads to the sandy beach and warm sea. It's close to many restaurants and bars and a short walk from the local shops. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Thanks especially to Michael for arranging everything for us. I would highly recommend Nik's Garden to anyone who wants a relaxing, peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyLiz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place right on klong nin beach. Beach is a tad crowded in by hotels, resorts and restaurants from the side of the street, but not too many people on it at any one time, especially since there is a large vacant lot on one side of Nik's.

The only negative point of any size was the musty smell in our room. Seems the mattress & covers don't get as much fresh air as they ought to, and fluffing them once a day before making the bed just isn't enough. Since our room had one large glass sliding door and no window except the fan in the bathroom, there was no fresh air inside the place unless you were prepared to leave the door open during the daytime (and presumably stuck around while your room was unlocked). What helped was getting a bottle of talcum powder and spreading it liberally under the bedsheets and between the covers. Real drawback was that we couldn't even contemplate sleeping in the windowless corner of the room the mattress was in without aircon recycling the musty air.

Breakfast is ok, loads of restaurants nearby and the cafe monkey bizziness (over the road from Nik's, lovely girl running it) should keep anyone from going hungry.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solothurn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights and in short it was ok but a bit overprized in my opinion. It seems like there is a "suisse charge" to all the prices at this place (the owners are guys from Switzerland). The location is great, at one of the most beautiful beaches of the island (Klong Nin) just right at the doorstep. The room was clean with AC and fridge (plus 2 bottles free water every day) but no mosquito net and no window to open - just a glas door (there was no "normal" door" either) to the terrace which led to the garden, so we had to sleep with the AC on. Breakfast was not included and to be honest you get that kind of breakfast way cheaper at different locations nearby, the same goes with other food that is brought over from the restaurant next to the place. Staff however is friendly. So overall there is nothing to worry about if you stay there but I am pretty sure you can have the same quality and location way cheaper on the island.

Room Tip: "Seaview" might mean you actually will have a garden view and have to step out the room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Niks back in 2005 and January 2013. The bungalows have undergone a full renovation and are in much better shape than before. We stayed in a regular bungalow which was good. No bug issues. Cocktails were great and all food comes from next door at Otto's which is an awesome spot for dinner. Make sure you go across the road to Shanti's for coffee (best on the island) they also do great food and it's a little boutique too!

Room Tip: Try for a beach front room but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilde2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived on Koh Lanta and didn't book anything , as we arrived and informed about accomadation we met Mark, who kindly tookus a side and offered Niks garden as a great accomadation to stay.
As we know the island, we where so pleased what he had to offer , great rooms right on the best beach on the island.
We agreed on a good price and booked for 3 nights, what ended up to be 5 nights.
Because it is a small resort we soon met the rest of team and felt so looked after, Daniel who took all the time for anything we asked, scooter, trips , cooking classes ferries just anything, he arranged.
Such a personal service.
And the star behind the bar is miauw(excuse spelling) he is the man for a good chat and the best cocktails, thanks we had such a laugh.
Overall I can' t fault anything, we had such a good and relaxed stay, that we will book for next year.
Just to sum up:
Great rooms for a reasonable price.
Best beach on the island(Klong Nin Beach)
Good food what is delivered by Otto's bar next door.
Lovely bar area right on the beach , great sunsets.
Small resort very personal.
Great team of people.
Thank you so much , Mark ,Daniel , Miauw , lovely cleaning lady.
Can't wait to see you all back next year!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are amazing, but all the rooms are perfectly fine. A/C very clean and bedding i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sohair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the ever friendly Thai-Staff to the two Swiss owners, Daniel and Mike, to the nicely appointed, clean rooms, to the excellent and tasty food (brought over from two nearby restaurants -thanks for that great service) there is nothing we missed during our 10 days stay at Nik's Garden.

Daniel and Mike are amiable, cheerful guys, fun to be with and professional in running their resort. Wether it's a trip to organise or an excellent White Russian, name it and you got it! Meaw - the ever-present and always funny Thai guy - he even speaks and understands a few words of Swiss-German - serves you breakfast with a smile or brings you a tea to your porch early morning to help you to wake up.

The resort is situated ideally on Khlong Nin beach. Small restaurants and bars are just a minute away and the beach in front of the resort is perfect for swimming. Sunloungers and umbrellas are provided sufficiently.

We enjoyed our time at the resort immensely. Thank you guys and keep up the good work and spirit!

Room Tip: Go for the beachfront bungalows. They're worth the extra-money and the sunset from your own porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
5.2 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
4.7 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
7.4 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nik's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nik's Garden

Property: Nik's Garden
Address: 131 Moo 6 Khlong Nin, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nik's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nik's Garden is a small beachfront resort in the middle of the beautiful Klong Nin beach on Ko Lanta. Ideally located between the main road and the beach, we offer some cozy rooms and bungalows set among a tropical lush garden. Relax at a Sala in our garden, enjoy a massage with sea view, sunbath on our white sandy beach or round up your days at our chilled little Beachbar.You can choose your breakfast à la carte on a daily base and enjoy the beautiful view of the Andaman Sea in the morning.It’s a place where your most difficult decision of the day will be, if you have a snack at the bar before the massage or just a freshly squeezed juice: Why spoil the day with work, if it works to be spoilt by the day.The timeless magic that makes this place and this island so special cannot be broken by a few modern conveniences.Nik’s Garden and Team wishes you an excellent stay and an unforgettable holiday with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nik's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing