We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Oasis Sunset - CLOSED

Oasis Sunset
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I visited this place and loved it, food is great, service is good people i see say its slow, for christ sake yer in Thailand get a grip and yer on holiday whats the rush??

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, go and get some good food and live music.

That is all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottieboyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    10
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Looked up trip advisor before going here ... And was very disappointed ... The food is average .. Seating on the beach is strange ...you sit near the stilts and can see the undercarriage of the restaurant ..not the most pleasant.
We ordered the hot pans .. Over seasoned and very sweet.... Lot of show with the flames but then nothing .. Avoid the hot pans.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 007travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Food and Service at Oasis Sunset”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unfortunately, we visited Oasis Sunset for dinner on Christmas Eve 2012. We were made to wait over an hour for our food. And when the food we ordered came out (three different styles of fish), they were all basically the same style of fried fish with a different sauce on it. For the price we paid, we should have received much better food. And to make things worse, the service was not very good either. We had multiple waiters for our table and somehow half of our order got lost when we initially placed our food order. They also forgot our drinks and when we asked if the juices were fresh, they said yes even though the orange juice clearly had the taste and color of orange drink from a bottle.

The ambiance of the restaurant is nice, and perhaps we just caught then on a night when they were A LOT busier than they are capable of handling, but somehow I don't think that should influence the taste of the food even if it might impact the service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank magnetopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Got to try the ribs!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just opposite this restaurant and tried it for lunch one day, I decided to go for the chefs special of hot plate ribs and they were great. Really tasty BBQ sauce and tender meat. We also tried fried rice in pineapple which was tasty too. A good choice if you're looking for a beach front restaurant in Klong Nin.

Helpful?
Thank Laurenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pretty nice dinner”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went there for dinner because of the reviews we read here and we weren't disappointed. We took shakes for drinks and those are made with fresh fruits, which is nice. We had the papaya with seafood salad which was very nice, with big shrimps and squid. Not the best i ever had, but totally fine. I chose the chicken with cashew nuts and it was very nice, sweet and tasty. My friend took the kao pad saparot (fried rice with vegetables and pineaple, and meat of your choice) which came in a whole pineapple, very good looking. The taste was also fine. We just missed the little "something more" to make the food less common. We were sitting right on the beach, with a nice sunset and the beach is nice too, wide and clean. All in all, a lovely place to have a romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titiaBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Sunset also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing