We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food and Service at Oasis Sunset”
Review of Oasis Sunset - CLOSED

Oasis Sunset
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Food and Service at Oasis Sunset”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Unfortunately, we visited Oasis Sunset for dinner on Christmas Eve 2012. We were made to wait over an hour for our food. And when the food we ordered came out (three different styles of fish), they were all basically the same style of fried fish with a different sauce on it. For the price we paid, we should have received much better food. And to make things worse, the service was not very good either. We had multiple waiters for our table and somehow half of our order got lost when we initially placed our food order. They also forgot our drinks and when we asked if the juices were fresh, they said yes even though the orange juice clearly had the taste and color of orange drink from a bottle.

The ambiance of the restaurant is nice, and perhaps we just caught then on a night when they were A LOT busier than they are capable of handling, but somehow I don't think that should influence the taste of the food even if it might impact the service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank magnetopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    51
    10
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Got to try the ribs!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed just opposite this restaurant and tried it for lunch one day, I decided to go for the chefs special of hot plate ribs and they were great. Really tasty BBQ sauce and tender meat. We also tried fried rice in pineapple which was tasty too. A good choice if you're looking for a beach front restaurant in Klong Nin.

Helpful?
Thank Laurenmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pretty nice dinner”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went there for dinner because of the reviews we read here and we weren't disappointed. We took shakes for drinks and those are made with fresh fruits, which is nice. We had the papaya with seafood salad which was very nice, with big shrimps and squid. Not the best i ever had, but totally fine. I chose the chicken with cashew nuts and it was very nice, sweet and tasty. My friend took the kao pad saparot (fried rice with vegetables and pineaple, and meat of your choice) which came in a whole pineapple, very good looking. The taste was also fine. We just missed the little "something more" to make the food less common. We were sitting right on the beach, with a nice sunset and the beach is nice too, wide and clean. All in all, a lovely place to have a romantic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titiaBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“disappointing eperience, very slow service, not the quality and value we expected”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The evening we had dinner it seemed hard to believe that this restaurant was rated 2 in Koh Lanta. There might have been problem in the kitchen but service was slow and inefficient, and the food was still not on our table for the first couple of hours;. Food was correct, not great and several dessert options were not available. Many people next to us were upset, some left before their meal was finished. There seem to be much better options next to the restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bribribel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awful service!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I ate here yesterday and were looking forward to a lovely meal after reading some other reviews.
The service was dreadful. We had to wait a long time for our starters, after we had eaten our starter, no one cleared our plates away so our main courses arrived while we still had our starter plates on the table.
We sat in front of our main course plates after we had finished eating for 15 minutes by which time we decided to pay the bill on our way out as we were not sure how much longer would would have to wait for a member of staff to come to our table.
Shame about the service as the food and setting are nice......would not go back though based on our exerience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Sunset also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing