We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Diving Day Trip”

Lanta Diving Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our crew is very experienced and receives constant praise from our guests. Our dive crew have logged thousands of dives in these waters and have retained their enthusiasm and sense of wonderment. They excelin finding small and rare marine life specimens that are hidden to the untrained eye and are happy to show you how to photograph these creatures without destroying the coral. Add to this our Thai boat crew's ever-smiling helpfulness and the mouthwatering on-board cuisine and you have all the ingredients for a great trip.Come with us and enjoy a fascinating journey of discovery, doing some of the best dives you'll ever do. Our combination of boats, the way we run them, our staff, and don't forget the exceptional diving, is what makes our customers come back year after year.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Diving Day Trip”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I was so relieved when I called Manta Divers late yesterday, asking 'Do you go by any chance to Hin Daeng / Hin Muang tomorrow?' and Peter answered - 'I can'.

We managed to get a small group of divers together and were picked up from our resort the next morning 08:00 am. Thereafter everything went perfect: Efficient equipment selection and completion of paperwork, before we got on the nice speedboat (Flying Manta), which 'flew' us safely to one of the best dive sites in Thailand. We had two relaxed and amazing dives with an experienced guide.

Though we did not see the mantas, it was a perfect diving experience. Thank you!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank tetikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    4
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool boat. Cool trip”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 2 days on the Flying Seahorse - the only real liveaboard option from Koh Lanta, run by Austrian and Swiss guys. Very friendly and experienced staff, very clean boat, good food and clean and comfortable boat. Definately a recommendation.

The dive spots are ok as well, although I didnt see big fishes. Big plus: The dives start early, good chances to be alone on the spots.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Holger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best deal for high certified divers”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I spent with my wife some wonderful days in Lanta,but diving with this company was the best option we could choose for our holidays. We already checked in other dive centers and we felt in some ways dissapointed with the people that we talk to(some just treat us as money and others as numbers). But in Lanta Safari Divers everything was different!!!! Im a divemaster and they already treat us as proffesionals and they gave us very good prices. The speed boat(with the local crew)was one of the best i ever seen in all my diving trips. The people working there actually gave us real and important advices about how,when and where to dive in this area,so we appreciate that a lot!!
Special mention to Nadja the DM that took us to the blue to enjoy diving even on rainy and wavy days!!
I highly recomend this dive center to any kind of divers(even rookies!) the experience will be unforgeatable for sure.
Thanks to all the team that made our holidays better. Muchas gracias amigos!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank xabiersickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Liveaboard From Lanta”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went on Flying Seahorse over New Year on their 7 day liveaboard taking in the Similans, Phi Phi sites, Phuket sites and Hin Daeng / Hin Muang.
It really is a great way to see some of the best diving in Thailand.

The Hin Daeng / Munag trip can be booked separately and is an excellent way of diving these sites as well as Ko Ha, without the long day trip from Lanta and also without crowds. The 12 divers on the boat had both Hin Daeng and Hin Muang to themselves as we were there early in the morning.

The crew were excellent - particularly the boat boys getting us out the water and the cook. I've been on 6 previous Similans liveaboards and this was the best food of all the trips. The Thai food and soups were superb with plenty of choice and were not too hot for "western" tastes ...and when we wanted hotter food, then we got to try some of the crews food which was also excellent.

The boat, is not the most luxurious and I wondered if there would be long waits for showers after night dives. However, the dive staff, wherever possible gave us an option of a night dive or sunset dive so splitting the rush for the showers.

We will certainly be going back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - an unforgettable experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day diving tour on the Flying Seahorse leaving Koh Lanta, Thailand, and travelling to Richelieu Rock, which is one of the best dive sites in the world. Along the way we stopped at Phi Phi and the Similan islands. The owner of the company is Austrian and has plenty of old fashioned Austrian charm and friendliness. However he is also an astute judge of character and has hand picked a first rate crew to work on the Flying Seahorse. He is highly involved with the running of the tours and I found all the small details to be carefully thought out. When repairs are needed on the boat, the repairs are made right away with German efficiency. Everything works the way it ought to.The ship is neat and tidy and well looked after. Importantly, the hygienic standards were high. The Thai crew were always smiling and laughing, the food was good - as it was plentiful, and the instructors were highly professional. I would recommend this tour to anyone thinking about taking a diving trip on a live aboard, and I would say you would be a fortunate person to go on this amazing trip. My last comment concerns the Thai captain of the Flying Seahorse. He is an expert captain and displays a great sense of responsibility for the safety of his passengers. After watching him carefully I concluded he is a master of his profession. Highly recommended. Robert J, Copenhagen, Denmark

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanta Diving Safaris also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lanta Diving Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing