We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty beachfront location”
Review of Round House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round House
Ranked #19 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in the upstairs of the Round House itself- a spacious room with a high thatched ceiling, shared bath, private veranda w/ hammock, and a slim view of the sea. It was a great space that kept pretty cool in the heat. The cottages looked simple and good, I'd opt for one with private bath, and there's a sweet beach-front house that's worth trying to get into.

The gardens were lovely and the shared bathroom was very clean. As other folks have stated, the food was delicious! And Paul makes excellent cocktails, especially the Lanta Longtail- I wish I had one right now :)

There is a bit of road noise if you stay in the Round House or the back bungalows, but I slept right through it. If you're a light sleeper, the front bungalows or beach house would be better.

I loved Klong Nin beach! Round House is located in a pretty perfect spot, quiet but close to everything.

Across the street, Shanti Shanti is excellent- fresh croissants in the morning, chai tea, fruit salad. Also the massage place across the street- the best thai massage I've had.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Lisa,

we hope you had a good trip home and thank you for your great review, you were lucky to get into our favorite room and we're happy you enjoyed it so much. You can try out the Beach House on your next visit, which we hope is soon:)

Keep in touch.
Nadia and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We came through here in November and had a great stay. These are, for the most part, budget bungalows, but without the grungy backpacker aspects. The owners Paul and Nadia were sweet, accommodating and earth minded. Clean facilities, delicious cocktails concocted by Paul, and great Thai food. Paul and Nadia are building community on the islands and asked us more than once to go out to local gatherings while we were there. If you want a fun, laid back, island vibe minus the rowdy young kids, at a good price right on the beach, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi there Lowesa,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
More cocktail concoctions are being made and due to the 1000's of garden bananas we now have the 'Banana Karma Drama' ready for you to try on your next stay.
Hope to see you again.

Nadia and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Round House, located directly on Klong Nin Beach, offers a relaxed atmosphere. We had a bungalow with a small bathroom. It was very simple but clean. The owners Nadia and Paul helped us with good advices, delicious cocktails and even live music by Paul. It was great time lying in the hammock, listening to the ocean or renting a board for stand-up-padelling. And if you are staying here, don't forget having a homemade ice cream or croissant by Shanti Shanti vis-à-vis to Round House.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martincordsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so happy to have had you as our guests and look forward to greeting you again here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

OMG where to start?!
I spent 3 weeks traveling through thailand and the food at Roundhouse was by far the best. NOK cooks amazing meals. our bungalow was gorgeous and really gave us the feeling of being in thailand. the beach is beautiful since the NEW owners Nadia and Paul spend an hour every morning collecting the trash that has been washed in. I really recommend you to try the pineapple-coconut shake- its great.
The place is SUPER cheap and you really get a lot out of it.

Room Tip: if you want a perfect view- choose the beach house. its amazing. for all other rooms it does not mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, yes we are very proud of our fantastic staff and the great food they are spoiling us all with every day. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you here with us again.
Paul and Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Positives:
Great value for money (400 bt a night, low season)
Fantastic position, right on the beach.
Beach is extremely quiet, amazing sunsets.
Cute bungalow. Got character, basic with ensuite.
Great chill out area with bean bags etc overlooking the beach.
Couple who owns it welcomed us with smiles, enthusiastic about the area, were open to chat and created a relaxed atmosphere.
Lovely breakfast (museli, fruit and yoghurt)
Good restaurants along the beach close by.
Rented a scooter next door.

Not so good things:
Got bitten A LOT, so mosquito repellant is much needed.
It was low season and very wet, so was extremely quiet. We left earlier than we would have liked due to the storm. So not much to do when it's wet and the atmosphere in the nearby restaurants was lacking as we didn't really see anyone else except the staff.
Drinks slightly over priced compared to other places nearby.
Creepy crawlys in the bungalow and noisy at night with rain, wind and sound of waves. But to be expected as you are on the beachfront.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words, Yes, low season is a very quiet time to travel to Koh Lanta and many of the places here are closed but Paul and I love this season and the quiet time it brings...look forward to seeing you again (don't forget the mosquito repellant:))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So, this is actually the first review i write even though i have stayed in hostels and resorts all over. My girlfriend and i were browsing through tripadvisor to find a nice, cheap room in koh lanta. we loved the place right after walking through the entrance. the first thing to see is the bar/ restaurant with lovely furniture and eye for detail right at the beach. the round house only has 3 bungalows, a beach house and the big round house where the owners live during low season. the atmosphere was stunning. the owners mixed and mingled with the guests, sat together with us in the evenings playing cards until dawn. the cook was incredibly good. she would sit with us for a few minutes before every meal to ask what we fancy and if we wanted to try this or that. the food seriously was bombastic each and every time. we arrived with a friend who had not booked before and was just going to try his luck. sadly there was no room left for him but the owner Nadia just asked him for his budget and walked next door to ask if they had a room. he was offered to stay there and come over any time he wanted. the beach is great; we even saw the owners walk around with trash bags to collect waste which had been brought in by the sea. the rooms absolutely have flair, each with a small veranda.
having traveled through north and south Thailand for 3 weeks and ending up here it was unbelievable what you can get for small money

Room Tip: beach house is closest to the beach and thus has the best opportunity to watch the sunset. however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savvy2406, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your kind words, we loved having you here and hope very much that you will return to us.

Paul and I have made some changes and now have 2 new Bamboo Bungalows, in all now we have 5 Bamboo bungalows, the Beach House and the fantastic spacious Round House, we have used our low season to renovate and make changes in staff, and are now very proud of our new cook who loves to go to the market and see what he can get fresh and offers us daily specials that blow us all away:)
Return to us soon and try it out, we are sure you will love it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Roundhouse in February 2013. This place was the highlight of our 3 week trip around Thailand. The new owners Nadia and Paul were so welcoming and made us feel like the place was our home. We stayed in the actual roundhouse which was huge and had plenty of space to put all our things and had a hammock out on our own private balcony. The room had exposed vaulted ceiling which as beautiful and very romantic. The place is right on the beach and is in the centre of all the other resorts so you can easily walk to other restaurants and bars along the beach. However, the food that Nok cooks is the best that we ate in Thailand and hence we ate many a meal here. You don't have all the creature comforts that you do in some of the other hotels in Thailand but who cares when you are on the beach with such lovely people and great food. We absolutely loved this place and will be back for another round of buckets :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
4.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#19 of 85 in Ko Lanta
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#39 of 85 in Ko Lanta
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
2 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#3 of 170 in Ko Lanta
48 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#5 of 240 in Ko Lanta
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House

Address: 112 Moo 6, Ko Lanta 81152, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $10 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocome to our nice beachfront resort on the beautifull beach Klong nin. If you like a total relaxed place with superb food direct on the beach, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing