We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Familiy bungalow is NOT for children !”
Review of Round House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Lanta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Round House
Ranked #16 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Lille, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beachfront Familiy bungalow is NOT for children !”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This place looks firstly nice and very cool... But we change our mind when we discovered the Beachfront "family" bungalow : dangerous stairs, very very poor beds, strong mold smelling, situated just next to the bar (you live quite inside the bar in fact...), very poor bathroom, too close to the road... Definitely not for family with young children ! The owner should have warned us when we booked.
So we didn't stay more than 30 minutes in that place (and the owner charged us one night for cancellation)
For a lower price, we found another bungalow which was a dream in comparison.

This bungalow should be OK for backpackers, the place is very nice and cool, but the price is actually too high.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaurentGaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnus M, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
First i think its not any ide to make a response for a coupple that stayed 30 minutes in my resort and made a review like this, but anyway.
Definitely not for family with young children ! The owner should have warned us when we booked.
We have smaler childen then the guests and we have no problem to take care of our children and work att the same time? The bed is a spiral model and i have sleept there a coupple of times and had no problem whit this. Mold smell? Yes the bungalow is a few meters from the bar. But we have people that actualy sleept in our bungalow and they havent had any problem whit loud sound from the bar. Overpriced? This bungalow is perfect situated on the beach. Other places like this. Same standard on a nother beach on Lanta. Will charge 30-50% more.
Best regards, Magnus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    33
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
14
93
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We just finished our stay of 6 nights at Round House. We are extremely satisfied with our stay here. The only bad review they had to date is very undeserved!!!

This is why:
- Great food! Even if you don't stay here but are near you have to try Nok's creations ranging from classic Thai dishes to Western Food including real Swedish meat balls
- Great hangout. Their bar/restaurant is right on the beach. Great for watching the sea and people with a drink. Try the lassies!
- Friendly relaxed people. The new owners and his experienced team are very helpful (just ask and they will help you any way they can)
- Waking up with the sounds of the sea
- You can be as active as you want to be without having to travel anywhere. They have paddle boards for rent, you can keep in shape by running along the beach, you can play volleyball with the team or your own friends, or just go for a swim.
- Great location. The Klong Nin beach is clean and big enough not to feel crowded
- A very reasonable price for this part of Koh Lanta. Anyone that says they are too expensive does not make a fair comparison. Thailand can be much cheaper, especially the North but NOT the South. Koh Lanta is not too bad, especially compared to Europe, North America and Australia. Basically if you are on a thight budget go to a different region!
- Great mentality by the owners. We booked boat tickets from Ao Nang to Koh Lanta and they offered to pick us up (for a small fee). They were very understanding when we were not at the pier because the agent in Ao Nang scammed us by transferring us to a minivan service without telling us and we had no phone to let them know. They even waived the pickup fee despite having put in the effort.
- Last but not least: Free WIFI!
- If you are Swedish: the staff can speak Swedish (next to good English & Thai). :-)

Please note: they have different types of accommodation, look at their website. 4 are bamboo bungalows, 2 are brick. Most accomodation on this beach will have a bit of noise from the road because the road to the south is relative close to the beach. We had no issue at all with the noise during the day or at night, but if you are a (very) light sleeper you may want stay as close to the beach as you can. This applies for all accommodation in this part.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubord, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Doesn't deserve to be #2!
Arrived here without reservations so got the last room available, and maybe that's why we didn't have a great experience here... It was a bungalow only, you used a shared bathroom/shower which were very clean, however the bed in the bungalow was cement, it was horrible. The bungalow was in the corner closest to the road, so we listened to ppl in the little bar across the street all night, plus the traffic also the water pump was right outside the bungalow so needless to say we got searching for a new place to stay asap and left the next morning.
Also if you want great customer service, don't hold your breath... Please keep in mind that my husband and I aren't ppl who stay in 5 star hotels, we aren't picky ppl. but the staff here just kinda seemed like they didn't care... maybe everyone was having a bad day or all of them had a bad hangover, or i donno, hey we all have those days, it was very laid back, but almost too laid back...

Maybe if we had made a reservation in advance we would have gotten a bungalow with the bathrooms and maybe those have better beds in them, they are away from the road more and the water pump thing.

Note: The massage place just across the street from Round House was the best Thai massage I got in Thailand, and I had quiet a few!

Room Tip: Make a reservation! Didn't see inside the bungalows with the bathrooms but the bungalow in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnus M, Owner at Round House, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello Kat W.
I am really sorry for this. I wisch you had a better experience here at Round house. But its not easy to set things right if we dont hear any complaines. And its not always easy to read what a guest wants for service. Its seamed to us that you wanted to have some private time with your friend, but we was wrong. We should immediately buy a better bed of course. We should also provide earpluggs to our customer if they needs it. Its not easy to controll the sound level on traffic, the bar on the other side of the road, or waterpump. I am still glad i got this review because this is a reminder for us to get better. Its not always easy to be number 2 on Tripadvisor, Its come with high expectation. We should snap upp a bit i promise.
Best regards, Magnus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We are currently staying in the actual Round House (using the free wifi!). We originally booked for 2 nights and since arriving have extended to six (to finish off our 2 week holiday in Thailand).
The location is fantastic - right on the sandy Khlong Nin beach and next to a selection of friendly and relaxed bars/restaurants. There are also plenty of places close by to hire motorbikes or organise diving trips etc.
The hosts and other staff are very welcoming and our room in the top of the round house is spacious with a bamboo roof, balcony, hammock, fan and mosquito net over the bed. There are also electrical sockets in case you need to charge your gadgets.
There is no hot water in the clean bathrooms, but in this heat you really don't miss it.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed place to stay on Koh Lanta, the Round House is highly recommended and great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraalice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Going back 2012 would stay here again really liked the place. Right on a nice beach with friendly staff. I stayed in the top of the Round House I felt like Rapunzal it was like sleeping in a Fairy tale loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Amazing place to stay, its nice and rustic, exactly what you imagin when you think of thailand.
really friendly staff and creatures with beautiful bamboo bungalows, simple but have electricity and are well ventilated.
would love to go back, if ever in koh lanta again Round House would be our first choice of accomodation.
Thank you for such a lovely and relaxing stay.
ps and for free use of your bodyboards.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The people here are very friendly, and relax. The location is on the middle of the island from where everything by scooter is easy reachable. Tom and Nok were very very helpful when we had an emergency and provided all assistance needed although it was late in the evening. The atmosphere is laid back and the houses are basic but specially bungalow number 1 had a nice view on the sea. We didn't have much of their food but the food we tasted was good. If you like animals (kitties & doggies) you will love the place as many are walking around and are not shy! The new owners who just arrived are friendly and care taking. There are body boards available for all guests. Even in low season the place still is reasonable occupied.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinPfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.8 mi away
Amantra Resort & Spa
Amantra Resort & Spa
#32 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
0.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#13 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Miami Bungalows
Lanta Miami Bungalows
#22 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Bungalows
Sunset Bungalows
#43 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House

Property: Round House
Address: 112 Moo 6, Ko Lanta 81152, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welocome to our nice beachfront resort on the beautifull beach Klong nin. If you like a total relaxed place with superb food direct on the beach, this is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Round House Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing