We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere, excellent noodle soup”
Review of Drunken Sailors

Drunken Sailors
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened five years ago by three Bangkok girls with dreams of an island life creating delicious new dishes of Thai/Western food and serving fresh-ground espresso drinks the Drunken Sailors has become one of the most popular restaurants on Koh Lanta and a cornerstone to the social scene of Kantiang Bay. Blending a coffeeshop chic of jazzy music, beanbags and hammocks this hip cafe offers a rich variety of dishes, featuring everything from traditional thai and delicious breakfasts to flavorful pastas and savory western burgers.Daily Kitchen Hours: 8:30am - 4:00pm & 6:30pm - 9:00pm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed atmosphere, excellent noodle soup”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

A really nice place, a broad variety of dishes, we tried a noodle soup and a Jumbo Burger, the soup was excellent, the burger very good. A great place to have dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Barnabas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    211
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Samosas”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Try the samosas, you won't regret it. In fact, I regret not going again to eat more! I loved their casual sitting area, the bean bags were comfortable and it was fun sitting in the hammocks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annalisamarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another amazing burger review!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We found this place intimidating on first look but we braved it and so glad we did!

We needed a thai food break and had seen the reviews of the burgers on here so ventured in for them! We had spring rolls and garlic bread too!! We both went for the jumbo burgers and they were lovely!!!

This is no American burger joint and so you can't compare to burgers from there but for a little village in the middle of nowhere they are amazing!

Our only complaint is the portion size of the fries does not fit the jumbo burger label! More fries pleaseeeee!

We wish we had more time to try more of the menu! A lady we met on a day trip said the samosas are great too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddevalla, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Finaly I tried it”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Well, for a couple of years staying on Koh Lanta it was time to try Drunken Sailor at Kantiang bay. I tried the cheese burger and it was totally OK. I think I need to try something else on the menu to be able to give them a higher ranking or not. But the hamburger was just average.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Do you like hammocks and bean bags?”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I don't and they take up a lot of space in a very small business. Even so, we still kept going back for the coffee, the ice cold beer, the samosas and the curries. It was the right place to get back into the swing of things during the afternoon before another evening started.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drunken Sailors also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Drunken Sailors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing