We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid option but not on the best part of the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta Marina Resort
Ranked #35 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here towards the end of the season. Overall i liked the place, the staff were great, the bungalows are basic but quite cool. We were lucky enough the get one of the last bungalows before the sea so ot was great swinging on the hammock looking out at the sea. The place as a whole could do with a bit of a spruce up especially the beach front bar area it really wouldn't take much to do it. The beach here is quite rocky so you have to walk up a little for a swim. At high tide you are cut off from the rest of long beach but you can walk up the road a bit then drop down onto the main drag. The nightlife here is chillaxed to say the least!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneQF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

After reading the reviews of Lanta Marina I arrived not expecting a lot - I was very pleasantly surprised when after check in I was led to a bungalow right by the sea when I had booked the standard bungalow. The views were lovely and the resort is in a good quiet location (apart from Saturdays when the bar next door has a party). Ae, the woman at the front desk was lovely and extremely friendly. She helped us with all our questions and in booking our bus for our next destination.

I would not recommend staying here if you don't like creepy crawlies. We had spiders the size of tarantulas in our bungalow each night and had to get the man from reception in to. get rid of them. The safety of the mosquito was great each night because of this.

The food at the resort was excellent - the cheapest in the area and really tasty. I highly recommend you try it. The Thai and the Western are both great. It seemed that this resort was a mixture of travellers and families which was nice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We aimed to stay here for all of our 3 nights on Ko Lanta, but we had not booked prior to arriving and so were put up the first night in an adjacent set of bungalows. The next night we moved accross to the Lanta Marina. Their bungalows are clean and comfortable, but fairly basic. Staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating. The area that the bungalows are located is fairly low-key and quiet, but it is within easy walking distances of more lively stretches of beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACWalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked our stay here after reading all the good reviews. We booked only 1 night out of our 3 to make sure we liked it first. Very glad we didn't book 3 nights online. We booked a seaview room (it was more expensive to choose this option online). When we arrived we were taken to a different hotel next door that was concrete blocks with an outdoor bathroom. The interior felt like a jail. This was nothing like the cute bungalows we saw online and we went back to reception. We were told that all of their seaview rooms were taken, so they put us in that one. I guess they aren't organized enough to maintain their inventory of what rooms are available. We said that room wasn't acceptable as it was nothing like what we had booked. We were told they had some other bungalows in the back as the only other option. This wasn't really okay with us since we payed more for a seaview. They refused to refund our money, so we had no other option than to stay a bungalow in the back (the first one was completely unacceptable). 1300 bhat is way to much for a bungalow with a holes big enough a monkey could climb inside, a floor that has 1/2 inch gaps between every board with views down to the pile of garbage (big) under the bungalow and with hammocks under the bungalow for the small area next door where their staff live. If you got a seaview bungalow they looked much better, however I would never book there again knowing where they put us even though we had booked a seaview. We immediately booked different accommodations after walking down the beach a bit and enjoyed our following nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caymantiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent four nights here extending our original stay. The bungalows are clean and simple yet comfortable. We really enjoyed the grounds. It's a quiet place but you can easily walk to other places on the beach for activity. The staff is very helpful and really nice, they helped us plan some trips on the island. Would go back in a heartbeat. You can also rent motorbikes from the hotel, they offer competitive rates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We moved here having previously made reservations with Relax Bay, which is only a short wall away. The difference could not be greater. Lanta Marina has the feel of a real Thai location, not often found on Lanta, with very clean, simple beach huts, built around a pleasant garden and each with balcony and hammock. We had one towards the front of the location, with a tremendous view of the sea and sunsets.
The hut had a good layout of shelving units, big enough to provide space for luggage and to get all the 'bits' out with plenty of spare space to move around. Hanging space was also available - unusual in a beach hut, and the bathroom was pretty clean and tidy, although only the traditional tropical cold water in the shower, yet this was a welcome temperature after a hot and humid day.
The site also has a really good restaurant, open early until late (don't miss the Kahlua and Bailey's shake) offering excellent Thai and western foods.
Ae the manager is every helpful and can arrange specific trips for you, not just the normal offer. When one trip was not quite as planned, she ensured our money was immediately refunded from the provider without question.
It's a place I'd happily return to.

Room Tip: All huts apart from the large family hut are the same, so choose to suit your own needs - close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Loved this place. Spent three nights here and could have spent many more. This was our third time staying in beach bungalows in Thailand and these were by far the best. The bungalow was large and very spacious, very clean with a mosquito net covering the very comfortable double bed. Our bungalow was one near the front so there was no AC, you didn't really need it at the time of year we were there because there was a really nice sea breeze but we did have a very good fan.

The bathroom was also large and clean with hot showers which was nice, though there was only a curtain separating the bathroom from the room. We didn't have any problem with noise at night though it was quiet season and there were only 4 other bungalows occupied. The location was fantastic right at the end of long beach. It's true you can walk up long beach from the resort and it is better to sunbathe/swim up here but it's a lovely walk. Because it was off season our bungalow cost us 400 bhat but we were told that this generally costs 1800 bhat during high season!! There are a range of bungalows though so the prices may vary.

For people worried about insects, we didn't have any problem. It can be quite loud at night with insects and you can feel that you're almost outside but other than that we didn't have any trouble. There are parts of the bungalow where insects would be able to get in. Apart from a few ants in the bathroom, we didn't have any trouble.

The staff were very helpful and friendly for the duration of our stay. We tried the restaurant one afternoon and we were very disappointed. Not sure if it's because of low season but the restaurant wasn't really set up and the food was really bad. The only other thing is that we booked our onward trip to langkawi through the reception and the company that we were booked with was a complete sham so I would definitely recommend booking with someone else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.7 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort - Koh Lanta
1.0 mi away
Peaceful House
Peaceful House
#19 of 228 in Ko Lanta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eco Lanta Hideaway Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 228 in Ko Lanta
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lanta Long Beach Hostel
Lanta Long Beach Hostel
#90 of 228 in Ko Lanta
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Marina Resort

Address: 147 Moo 2 T. Saladan, Phra Ae Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $26 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Marina Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lanta Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing